No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Boundary Hotel

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
The Butlers Hotel 40-42 Cardigan Road, LEEDS, LS6 3AG
* A budget hotel * Next to Headingley Cricket and Rugby Stadiums * A full English breakfast for just £2.50 * Happy hour buy 1 get 1 free daily * All restaurant meals prepared daily by our very own chef and cost under £10 * Free Internet use * Free Wi-fi in all rooms * Walking distance to pubs and restaurants * Close to the University * 5 min taxi to the city
Picture of Boundary Hotel, LEEDS at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
62% recommended this accommodation to a friend 67% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

MB
The single bed in the room had a less than satisfactory mattress- some of the springs were projecting out even though the covering material had not been breached.From what I saw of the staff they were quite friendly and helpful.I cannot form a firm opinion of the rooms generally but I suspect I was in one of the poorer ones.

Reviewed by
M Barron

From Llandudno, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Medium sleeper
I have seen other reviews that complain about the standard of rooms, my room was fine. I wouldnt say it was amazing but it was clean and I had everything I needed. The bathroom could have done with a slight refurb but everything worked.
The location is good in the sense that you are out of town but easy to get in with many bus routes in the area. You may not have to go in town as there is quite a lot going on in Headingley so you could make the most of what you have in the area.
I didnt have breakfast because I have stayed in other hotels of a similar price with breakfast included.
I would say the downside is the hotel being on a main road, if you are a heavy sleeper you will be fine but if you are a light sleeper forget it!
I was able to sleep during the night as the traffic had calmed down but once it was after 8am I was awake. It probably wont make that much difference if you had to get up for work the next morning but I didnt have to be up so would have liked to sleep more.

Reviewed by
M Conliffe

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my stay at the boundry was ok not worth £34 00 but other than that ok breakfast ok

Reviewed by
steven m

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel just outside the centre of town, in a good area for public transportation. Very easy to get to the city centre and back again.

Reviewed by
S Fleming

From Tecumseh, Canada
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK if you are desperate. There is much better out there.
The Boundary Hotel & The Butlers Hotel are the same place, well two knocked through into one. Check-in area reminded me of a backpackers hostel.
I stayed here as I was working at the cricket ground.
Very basic room, clean and modern.
Shared bathroom however was not so nice.
I had front facing room. was very noisy with smokers gathering outside just under window at all hours shrieking and guffawing with abandon.

Reviewed by
Steve S

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Boundary review
I was looking for one night's budget accommodation with parking to attend a friend's party. I certainly got that. The room was very basic but functional although being located in the basement was a little claustrophobic. The room's soundproofing was poor so not a place to stay if you're looking for a quiet night's sleep (at least on a Saturday night). Breakfast isn't served until 8am on Sundays which was disappointing as I had to leave early. But all in all decent value for money.

Reviewed by
Neil S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful manager - comfortable room
Hotel close to train station and to the social club I attended in the evening.
Manager very helpful. When I arrived he changed my room because I wasn't sure I could manage to go upstairs to the room I had booked. That was very helpful. I didn't have a meal in the hotel as I didn't require one. I was able to get a taxi to the Social Club and one at the end of the evening, to return to the hotel. So the hotel was very well situated for my needs. This was my first visit to Leeds and I would certainly stay at the Boundary Hotel again on my next visit to Leeds. I left too early the next morning to thank the manager personally for a very comfortable night.

Reviewed by
moira H

From Hyde, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not amazing but value for money
A lot of reviews on here complaining about the standards of this hotel are really quite unfair, yes its not the ritz, and yes it is basic, but you get what you pay for, it isnt dirty and it wasnt falling to pieces. I have paid twice that price for far worse places across Europe. If you want Egyptian cotton sheets, oak furniture and a 50inch plasma tv in your hotel room, pay more than £55 a night!

Reviewed by
daniel h

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Give it a miss
I booked this hotel at the last minute for an appointment at the university with my daughter. Only a few choices available and as this was three star and looked good value for one night I booked. Didn't realise that it was self certified as three star! In fact it is one star accommodation. Very old rooms with dodgy handles and a musty smell. Sheets not clean and rooms dirty. The breakfast was quite good though.

Reviewed by
Philip L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean the bathroom
The accommodation is just what you expect of a B + B basic, but in a very good location. What I didn't expect was a filthy sink plug, why have a white plug and then not clean it??? And as for the shower tiles, clean them, I rubbed my fingers across them and the dirt came off, so it would have taken a few minutes to spray them and clean them so that they were gleaming white. Not acceptable, it may be cheap and cheerful, but what I don't expect is cheap and dirty. No! No! No!

Reviewed by
Dave A

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next