No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Swan Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
16 Chichester Road , Arundel, BN18 0AD
The White Swan is a traditional and charming 4 star inn that sits just outside Arundel, in the beautiful countryside of the South Downs. A welcoming and friendly pub with great food, 20 lovely bedrooms and special rooms for weddings, celebrations, meetings and informal conferences, The White Swan is a real find.

The original building features stone flagged floors and low ceilings held up with dark oak beams. There’s a wood-burning stove in the inglenook and all plenty of space to stretch out and enjoy a few hours with us. Our menu is fairly short and simple: we use good, generally local, ingredients then concentrate on making sure everything tastes really good. We are open for breakfast right through to supper and make a big thing of our Sunday lunches here. (It’s best to book.)

At the bar we serve a good range of real ales and continental lagers, wines and spirits. Our coffee machine is on the go from 8am.

Historic Arundel with its12th century castle and pretty streets by the river is a few minutes away. Chichester, Littlehampton and Bognor Regis are about 20 minutes by car; Brighton, Portsmouth and Gatwick about 40. We’re also very well situated for guests visiting events and meetings at Goodwood and Fontwell racecourses. The White Swan’s perfectly placed for walking on the Downs, lazing (or marching depending on the weather) on the beautiful Witterings beaches nearby.

Our friendly and helpful team will look after you during your stay with us whether you’re dropping in for a quick bite to eat, spending a few days holidaying in the area or passing through on a business trip.
We look forward to welcoming you.

ROOMS
Work desk, hairdryer, free WiFi, iron and board on request, kettle and tray. Room service for snacks, meals and drinks. Late bar for residents.
Picture of The White Swan Inn, Arundel at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a weekend away
Attended with some friends, stayed overnight on the Saturday. Rooms very clean and modern, very polite staff and a great breakfast.

Reviewed by
A Punter

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Atmosphere
What makes the difference at this hotel is that the staff go the extra mile for you without you even asking. They seem genuinely happy to be working there which results in a great atmosphere and brilliant customer service which really is priceless.
The only drawback for me at the time was no wifi in the room - I chose a hotel that would have this, but they had internet problems in the rooms which made things very difficult for me to work, which I could only do in the bar / restaurant area.
Some of the food was amazing but the dessert menu needs serious rethinking: far too many flavours in each thing, for example (from the menu): Chocolate and blueberry gingerbread tart, Blackberry and cinnamon cheesecake.
Didn't detract from a lovely stay though. Thank you!

Reviewed by
S Crosby

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay let down by lack of hot water
Comfortable room, excellent food and good value for money.

Reviewed by
Rob M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal venue for a weekend break
We stayed here for 2 nights (Friday/Saturday) for an anniversary celebration - we wanted somewhere close to Arundel which was hosting its annual Christmas market and 'candlelight' event. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely use it again. The staff were courteous and welcoming, the room was fine - warm, nice decor, very clean, comfortable bed, good shower, and free Wi-Fi (though the reception was sporadic). The breakfast, which was included in the £75 per night deal was excellent. We also dined both nights in the restaurant and was again very satisfied. I was very impressed with the hard working staff.
Please note the hotel and restaurant are very popular for functions so expect a few large and occasionally boisterous groups if you stay there in December! We were woken up on Saturday night, sometime after midnight by a loud, obviously drunk guest and his mates in the room above us! This doesn't reflect on the hotel itself, just par for the course.

Reviewed by
Phil V

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel
Good Food, Good service, good beer, good room only downside is its just out of walking distance to the Town but 5 minutes in a taxi

Reviewed by
stuart m

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay - will definitely come again
Well presented clean and comfortable room - hotel in a good location. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
linda H

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay. We wished it had been for longer! Lovely room, clean modern and comfortable.As Inn was away from town,we decided to stay in for evening meal and we were pleased we did. Good service and tasty food.
Only slight negatives were cooked breakfast could have been warmer(but very nice anyway) and corridor doors to rooms could look better with new coat of paint.as they have suffered some damage from cases knocking against them.

Reviewed by
Lorna H

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our relaxing 3 day break
We were very surprised with the customer care and the welcome we received, the bar staff were excellent, Richard was fantastic.
A lovely experience would like to return in the summer
The only slightly negative was that the bed was a little harder than what we are normally used to.

Reviewed by
Roy Crew

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good comfortable stay
Good food, clean room and pleasant staff

Reviewed by
clare b

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
The staff could not have been any nicer- they we all very friendly and helpful.
The food was first class, and the service was excellent.
A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
margaret geddes

From Chatham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next