No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Swan Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
16 Chichester Road , Arundel, BN18 0AD
The White Swan is a traditional and charming 4 star inn that sits just outside Arundel, in the beautiful countryside of the South Downs. A welcoming and friendly pub with great food, 20 lovely bedrooms and special rooms for weddings, celebrations, meetings and informal conferences, The White Swan is a real find.

The original building features stone flagged floors and low ceilings held up with dark oak beams. There’s a wood-burning stove in the inglenook and all plenty of space to stretch out and enjoy a few hours with us. Our menu is fairly short and simple: we use good, generally local, ingredients then concentrate on making sure everything tastes really good. We are open for breakfast right through to supper and make a big thing of our Sunday lunches here. (It’s best to book.)

At the bar we serve a good range of real ales and continental lagers, wines and spirits. Our coffee machine is on the go from 8am.

Historic Arundel with its12th century castle and pretty streets by the river is a few minutes away. Chichester, Littlehampton and Bognor Regis are about 20 minutes by car; Brighton, Portsmouth and Gatwick about 40. We’re also very well situated for guests visiting events and meetings at Goodwood and Fontwell racecourses. The White Swan’s perfectly placed for walking on the Downs, lazing (or marching depending on the weather) on the beautiful Witterings beaches nearby.

Our friendly and helpful team will look after you during your stay with us whether you’re dropping in for a quick bite to eat, spending a few days holidaying in the area or passing through on a business trip.
We look forward to welcoming you.

ROOMS
Work desk, hairdryer, free WiFi, iron and board on request, kettle and tray. Room service for snacks, meals and drinks. Late bar for residents.
Picture of The White Swan Inn, Arundel at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay. We wished it had been for longer! Lovely room, clean modern and comfortable.As Inn was away from town,we decided to stay in for evening meal and we were pleased we did. Good service and tasty food.
Only slight negatives were cooked breakfast could have been warmer(but very nice anyway) and corridor doors to rooms could look better with new coat of paint.as they have suffered some damage from cases knocking against them.

Reviewed by
Lorna H

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our relaxing 3 day break
We were very surprised with the customer care and the welcome we received, the bar staff were excellent, Richard was fantastic.
A lovely experience would like to return in the summer
The only slightly negative was that the bed was a little harder than what we are normally used to.

Reviewed by
Roy Crew

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good comfortable stay
Good food, clean room and pleasant staff

Reviewed by
clare b

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
The staff could not have been any nicer- they we all very friendly and helpful.
The food was first class, and the service was excellent.
A thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
margaret geddes

From Chatham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Golfing break
Ideal location for our purpose, unusually and tastefully decorated, very friendly and helpful staff, excellent service at both dinner and breakfast, the latter being exceptional. We would stay again if in this area.

Reviewed by
Robin Lloyd

From Bexhill on Sea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A clean comfortable room in a friendly hotel/Pub. The food was excellent and reasonably priced. Friendly helpful staff. Location is good for both the coast and the South Downs National Park. All round a good choice for a short relaxing stay.
It is on a busy road but the rooms are at the back so there is no noise at night.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth B

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The White Swan Inn, Arundel
My partner and I stayed here for two nights over a weekend. The hotel is a little out of town but I can highly recommend it in terms of service and quality of accommodation. The staff were polite and extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The rooms were clean and well appointed and the food was excellent and reasonably-priced. We would definitely come back.

Reviewed by
Ian B

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Had a very enjoyable night's stay, excellent food, room - all you could want

Reviewed by
MELANIE J

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick break
We only booked for one night and enjoyed our stay. Our room was at the back and was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and service was good. No parking problems. The dinner menu was OK and breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of items.

Reviewed by
C Farmiloe

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The White Swan is on a busy road but accommodation is to the rear, fine if there is no function on. If there is a function suggest the rooms facing the car park. Easy access to Arundel and Chichester. Rooms very clean and contemporary, although need housekeeping need to check things like lamps, switches on hairdryers etc both broken in our room. Bar staff were very helpful and friendly. Food was what you would expect from a pub £12.95 for large chicken pie and mash and small amount of broccoli, could have done with more veg but was an extra £2.95. Thought the food was a bit pricey.
Breakfast was lovely with a good choice of fry up, eggs benedict, kippers etc. Nicely presented and there were cheeses, croissants and cereals.

Reviewed by
Dawn W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next