No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Blue Lagoon Bar and B&B

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
330 KINGSWAY , HOVE, BN3 4LW
The Blue Lagoon is a great place to eat, drink and stay in Brighton and Hove, with everything you need under one roof. Benefiting from FREE PARKING in the surrounding roads, it is the hassle free choice! The B&B offers a nice standard of accommodation at great value. There are 15 newly decorated rooms, some of which are sea facing, each room has tea and coffee making facilities, radio alarm clock and plasma T.V with freeview. Rooms range from twins/ family rooms right up to group rooms that can take up to six guests. The Sea view Bar has a great wine list and delicious food menu, our guests can enjoy 15% off of the food menu (T&C's apply). Here you can enjoy live entertainment, cocktail nights, karaoke nights or just the sea view. The recently redecorated Patio Bar has views of the lagoon from the raised seating area, plasma screens in certain areas for sports, a pool table and Juke box. This bar leads out to an enclosed patio area, when the weather is fine, it's a lovely place to sit for over 60 people. Please note Sundays are bookable on Room Only basis only and Group bookings (6 people +) need to be dealt with direct by the B&B's Specialist sales department.
Picture of Blue Lagoon Bar and B&B, HOVE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Always be prepared - late rooms should have advised
The accommodation looked lovely as a b&b/pub, though personally I wouldn't bring my young family here for more than a night. 5 beds in one room, as expected, we just needed a room for the night & that was perfect.
Late rooms had advised that breakfast was included, we were told that the £30 late rooms discount meant no breakfast (as first for me!) & regardless they didn't do breakfast on a Monday anyway. This should have beensspecified on booking. We'd travelled a long way to attend a family funeral, it was a disappointment.
A thunderstorm started at 5.45am,at 6am the fire alarm went off a series of times due to leaking through the roof, lower ceilings & through the electrics. Although the buckets weretaken away, the floor was sodden down
Check out is not 11am as advised by late rooms, it is 10am. The blue lagoon did kindly let us stay until after midday due to the early morning disruption.
both sets of stairs. The adjoining bar was closed from anything until midday(including hot drinks) , would have helped if they'd put up a sign, many people were told on trying to be served & a hen party was asked to talk quietly as staff training was in process. In the end they just locked the doors. I had to walk around the back to get out of the bar area.
ceilings still wet, in other guests rooms to. Apparently we were struck by lightenin, but I was

Reviewed by
sara g

From Wigston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was ok
Nothing to fancy but had a bar live music and a parrot

Reviewed by
danny g

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place to Stay
The big plus here is the free on street parking, compared to the £20 plus per day in Brighton.
You can even park right outside the hotel on the main road for up to 4 hours between 8am & 4pm, and anytime thereafter; which we found perfect. That meant we could park up on the afternoon when we arrived back and not have to move the car until well after breakfast when we then went out for the day. If for any reason you're not using the car at all simply park in side roads over the road. Great.
The hotel is also a pub, but no problems there at all. Room we had had been recently refurbished and was all that we needed with a view of the sea & lagoon.
If you book Sunday night there is no breakfast on Monday, chef has his day off. There are two cafe's right over the road so no prob's there.
If you fancy a walk along the prom/sea front it's 3 miles to the pier & town; a steady 1 hours stroll. For those who cannot walk that distance, there are a couple of buses from just up the road or taxi.
Stay here with confidence.

Reviewed by
Neil Summers

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
not happy NO breakfast on Mondays although it would not have stopped me from booking i should have been informed of the fact

ManagementResponse

Hi, Thank you for your review and I'm glad you would happily stay again. I'm sorry that you missed the fact that Sunday is room only, we put it on the description for each room but will see where else we could list.

Reviewed by
Paul Molloy

From Sidcup, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely good value for money
I only stayed the one night on business and despite travelling alone, was made very welcome by the staff. The room was very comfortable and clean - especially the shower which was spotless.
Would recommend to anyone. Easy access into Brighton. An added bonus of parking in adjoining residential areas meant no extra fees incurred in parking.

Reviewed by
Joan J

From Welling, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great atmosphere, value for money. Excellent hosts, very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
s swaisland

From Welling, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay at blu lagoon
we stayed for one night what can i say the rooms need updated they need new windows as the draft that comes in is terrible the room was very cold even with the heating on , on the plus side the room was clean and tidy but they need to look at the electrics the socket in our room was broken with wires bare very dangerous , when we went down for breakfast it was burnt and did not taste good at all

Reviewed by
m french

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were made to feel most welcome on our arrival & departure. Our room was of a good size and was located at the back of the hotel overlooking a lake so there was no road noise. On the Saturday that we stayed there was a karioki on until 1am which we enjoyed & was great fun (not bad singing either) The hotel is well situated just on the edge of Hove so no parking fees or restricted hrs which is a bonus.

Reviewed by
Tinia Bartlett

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money. Clean room, friendly staff, basic but adequate breakfast. About 40 minute walk to centre of Brighton, and is on a bus route if you don't won't to walk. Easy on street parking, the only drawback is that some rooms are on a busy main road so recommend taking ear plugs, but would definitely go back.

Reviewed by
M Bartlett

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel experience
We could not find any fault with the hotel, accomodation, service or staff who were very friendly. Unfortunately the guests in the rooms above made so much noise that it sounded like the New Zealand Rugby team were performing the Hakka!!!!!. This started at 10.30pm and continued for most of the night. Consequently we had very little sleep and as our party included a 9 year old child it totally spoilt our stay in Hove. Needless to say the 200 mile drive home was very tiring indeed. We did inform the management the following morning. Being able to park the car in the road opposite with no restrictions was an added bonus.

Reviewed by
L Clements

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next