Reviews - Langfords Hotel


8-16 Third Avenue, Brighton Hove, BN3 2PX

Price From 160.44 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (90)

73% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • D Roderick

  • May 2014

Very Basic

Room stank of cigarette smoke Hardly slept all night due to noise from other guests and a constant banging door.

All in all, a bit tired.

  • S Poole

  • May 2014

Hotel in general

The room was in poor condition and when i tried to report this to reception i was disgusted by there attitude towards me the room had damp the walls where so thin you heard everything that went on and i had to scrub the shower out before i used it and there was blood on one of the towels

  • r beesley

  • May 2014

Excellent value

I've stayed at a few of the cheaper hotels in Brighton and this one just about edges it for me.

It's on a quiet road in the centre of Hove, 2 minutes walk to the seafront. Room was clean and of a decent size, as was the bathroom, They also let us check out an hour later than we should have for no extra charge.

  • Robert Tirkey

  • May 2014


We as a couple got a large room with four seperate beds which took us by surprise as that is not what we had expected.

As previously mentioned by other travellers the hotel is indeed tired and looks over worked. The hotel is appropriate for a group of friends who do not mind the aesthetics.

  • Paul H

  • May 2014

Hotel very clean.

Room comfortable. Very quiet. Staff great. Food excellant. Very good value for the price. Will certainly go again. No need for an alarm clock the seagulls will give you your early call.

  • Amy T

  • May 2014

Great Service

Had a great 1 night stay at this hotel and were really looked after by all the staff.

From the moment we walked in to check in someone noticed we had been waiting a queue at the reception desk (literally just a couple of mins) came and asked are name and checked us in straight away very swift and easy. The room was just the right size for two of us and a one night stay and was clean and bright. The shower was also surprisingly powerful. We paid for inclusive breakfast which was great value for money and had everything you could ask for... we actually didn't have another meal all day after filling up on cooked breakfast, toast, fruit juice and pastries fresh from the oven. It was great and not greasy at all.

All the staff were really friendly, the hotel is an great location and it was great value for money.

  • M Rattray

  • May 2014

Great hotel

Staff were really friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable

  • Julia B

  • May 2014

So many good points that was slightly marred by a grumpy reception

I was attending a fundraiser at Hove Town Hall - so this was a perfect location.

Of course, I could - like many of the people on Tripadvisor - find fault. The hotel needs updating but I understand this is being done over time. There is no lift which was a little challenging - but good for the lungs. However, there were plenty of good points. The location is great and easy to find. My room was clean, functional and I slept extremely well. Breakfast was lovely and the blonde girl who served my daughter and I (sorry - didn't ask her name) was extremely sweet and helpful, as were the rest of the catering staff. A credit to good training and customer service. Loved the cute little croissants and the generous cooked breakfast. Lots of choice too, including many juices and fresh fruit - all fully appreciated. Something for everyone. My teen is fussy but she was extremely happy. Nothing worse than a grumpy adolescent. But the staff on reception are perhaps a little more surly and it might benefit the atmosphere of the hotel and mood of the guests to encourage them to be a more pleasant. I appreciate that people work hard but a smile is invaluable. Also, after going out for a walk and coming back to pick up my bags today, I did not appreciate a reminder that it was time to check out. I think think this is rude, considering I was walking up the stairs to do just that. We had also asked for an alarm call at 8am but it had not arrived at 8.15 - when we went down for breakfast. Not a huge thing but if we had overslept, we would have missed breakfast - which would have been inconvenient. In general, I think warmer reception would help the hotel so much.

But I would in general like to thank you for my stay. I think over time, if the rooms are made a little more cheerful and with a level of personality that they currently lack, it will be a great little place that I would love to recommend to others.

  • Thomas C

  • April 2014

The bathroom was tiny as was the sink, although the room itself was quite spacious.

A new carpet had been fitted recently I think but all the paintwork was in need of refurbishment. There was only one chair so an extra one plus a writing table is needed. The area is quiet and there was no parking problem.

  • Gareth C

  • April 2014


Great hotel for the price, would definitely recommend.

Very friendly staff.