No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Langfords Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
8-16 Third Avenue , Brighton Hove, BN3 2PX
The Langfords Hotel in Hove is situated on a tree lined avenue a short stroll from the shingle beach of Brighton and Hove’s historical seafront;only a fifteen minute walk from the bustling centre of the South Coast’s famous seaside resort of ‘kiss-me-quick’ Brighton.

Although Brighton retains its cheeky reputation, it has grown up considerably since it merged with its immediate neighbour, Hove – when it became a new British city for the Millennium; a gift from HM The Queen! The combined treat of ‘Brighton & Hove’ officially merging, is that the City has become one of Britain’s most savvy twenty-first century Media Hubs – and The Langfords keeps pace happily, with free Wi-Fi, conference packages to suit corporate delegates or for ‘start-ups’ in need of some space when meeting with clients

The Langfords is a lovely, red-brick Victorian building echoing with old charm and brimming with character. The hotel has 58 very well proportioned bedrooms (all with en- suite facilities), and the spacious lounge bar has direct access to our lawned gardens – perfect for relaxing in on those sunny summer days and warm evenings.

We also have 8 function suites and a reputation for excellent conference and wedding facilities


Picture of Langfords Hotel, Brighton Hove at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 122 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable / Value for money
This is my second visit to the Langfords hotel and once again I have had a good stay. The pro's for this hotel are:
1: The cost is very reasonable.
2: The staff are extremely accommodating.
3: Although I did not have a breakfast others in my group had said that it was very good.
4: I like the location as it is still just off the seafront, but just far enough away from the city center.
5: Rooms nice and clean with comfortable beds.
The cons:
1: Although the hotel is clean it is slightly tired (minor gripe as the the value for money is very good).
2: Parking was slightly confusing as there is different parking zones immediately outside the hotel.
All in all I would definitely stay at this hotel again and so would all the others in my group.

Reviewed by
james Wild

From Portland, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Curtain tops were very dirty but apart from that the room was fine. Very spacious and comfortable

Reviewed by
Claire G

From Watford, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money!
The Langfords is clean and comfortable and great value for money. Our son is in student accommodation two streets away so we will certainly be using The Langfords again.

Reviewed by
Joanna M

From Trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend the Langfords!
Apart from slightly grumpy seeming staff, absolutely love the Langfords Hotel! Exceptional value for money! Very pleased!

Reviewed by
Trish Booth

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic room accommodation but clean, staff friendly and helpful,
Short walk into Brighton, about 15 mins but pleasant along seafront...
Would stay again if a tad cheaper as feel slightly overpriced .

Reviewed by
J Osborne

From Surbiton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great customer service
I had trouble with my booking and the customer service was just excellent and found best solution to my problem, I really enjoyed the stay :)

Reviewed by
magdalena n

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the accommodation was great, not far to walk into town although it rained all the time so works out a few quid for taxi, will definitely be staying here again, perfect for a large group of people or just a romantic seaside break

Reviewed by
Aaron K

From Gravesend, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very under staffed.
Very under par.
Room wasn't ready on agreed checking time of 2:00pm.
Hot water tap literally comes off in your hand and doesn't work.
The mattress was so uncomfortable you could feel the springs coming through and it offered less support than sleeping on the floor, as a result I suffered from a very bad back the next day.
I don't blame the staff as when approached they did try but it was clear they weren't supported and had no remit or standards they needed to adhere to but just to turn up and continue fudgin through things in the same way they most likely started out at that hotel.
Its a very disappointing review because the hotel has bundles of potential but I suspect the last time that property or business saw any amount of love would have been a long time ago (at least more than 20 years)
The only way i would return would be if it was at least 50/60% cheaper so at least i know what im paying for.
My partner forgot her mobile phone charger and was told when she called that if they did find it that it would cost £12.50 to have anything sent back by post.....not exactly service!
The main question that underpins all this disappointment is who is actually managing the place???

Reviewed by
R Taylor

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good base camp for a weekend in Brighton
I stayed with a friend for one night late summer as we were visiting for another friend's 30th birthday celebrations. We were looking for a pleasant enough spot to accommodate us for one night, knowing we wouldn't be spending much time in the hotel - which Langford's provided. Not much in the way of atmosphere, a very functional hotel, but the room was very spacious, with a sofa and large airy windows looking out onto the street. The twin beds were comfortable and we had a TV to entertain us getting ready, and tea to greet us at the end of the night! Be prepared for a teeny tiny bathroom you can just about turn around in (but the shower had good pressure and did the job) and just one small pillow each, so maybe ask for another on arrival. For £100 a night, pretty bog standard but no major complaints.

Reviewed by
Lucie B

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was comfortable, but spoiled by several hours of shouting & swearing by other hotel guests in the early hours of Sunday (our room was directly over the entrance)
The restaurant staff were very helpful, cheerful & polite. However, some reception staff should learn to look at guests when talking with them, rather than keep their eyes glued to their computer screen!

Reviewed by
Duncan Burwood

From Wadebridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next