No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Langfords Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
8-16 Third Avenue , Brighton Hove, BN3 2PX
The Langfords Hotel in Hove is situated on a tree lined avenue a short stroll from the shingle beach of Brighton and Hove’s historical seafront;only a fifteen minute walk from the bustling centre of the South Coast’s famous seaside resort of ‘kiss-me-quick’ Brighton.

Although Brighton retains its cheeky reputation, it has grown up considerably since it merged with its immediate neighbour, Hove – when it became a new British city for the Millennium; a gift from HM The Queen! The combined treat of ‘Brighton & Hove’ officially merging, is that the City has become one of Britain’s most savvy twenty-first century Media Hubs – and The Langfords keeps pace happily, with free Wi-Fi, conference packages to suit corporate delegates or for ‘start-ups’ in need of some space when meeting with clients

The Langfords is a lovely, red-brick Victorian building echoing with old charm and brimming with character. The hotel has 58 very well proportioned bedrooms (all with en- suite facilities), and the spacious lounge bar has direct access to our lawned gardens – perfect for relaxing in on those sunny summer days and warm evenings.

We also have 8 function suites and a reputation for excellent conference and wedding facilities


Picture of Langfords Hotel, Brighton Hove at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 121 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Service
Had a great 1 night stay at this hotel and were really looked after by all the staff. From the moment we walked in to check in someone noticed we had been waiting a queue at the reception desk (literally just a couple of mins) came and asked are name and checked us in straight away very swift and easy.
The room was just the right size for two of us and a one night stay and was clean and bright. The shower was also surprisingly powerful.
We paid for inclusive breakfast which was great value for money and had everything you could ask for... we actually didn't have another meal all day after filling up on cooked breakfast, toast, fruit juice and pastries fresh from the oven. It was great and not greasy at all!
All the staff were really friendly, the hotel is an great location and it was great value for money.

Reviewed by
Amy T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel very clean. Room comfortable. Very quiet. Staff great. Food excellant. Very good value for the price. Will certainly go again. No need for an alarm clock the seagulls will give you your early call.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So many good points that was slightly marred by a grumpy reception
I was attending a fundraiser at Hove Town Hall - so this was a perfect location. Of course, I could - like many of the people on Tripadvisor - find fault. The hotel needs updating but I understand this is being done over time. There is no lift which was a little challenging - but good for the lungs. However, there were plenty of good points. The location is great and easy to find. My room was clean, functional and I slept extremely well. Breakfast was lovely and the blonde girl who served my daughter and I (sorry - didn't ask her name) was extremely sweet and helpful, as were the rest of the catering staff. A credit to good training and customer service. Loved the cute little croissants and the generous cooked breakfast. Lots of choice too, including many juices and fresh fruit - all fully appreciated. Something for everyone. My teen is fussy but she was extremely happy. Nothing worse than a grumpy adolescent!
But the staff on reception are perhaps a little more surly and it might benefit the atmosphere of the hotel and mood of the guests to encourage them to be a more pleasant. I appreciate that people work hard but a smile is invaluable. Also, after going out for a walk and coming back to pick up my bags today, I did not appreciate a reminder that it was time to check out. I think think this is rude, considering I was walking up the stairs to do just that. We had also asked for an alarm call at 8am but it had not arrived at 8.15 - when we went down for breakfast. Not a huge thing but if we had overslept, we would have missed breakfast - which would have been inconvenient. In general, I think warmer reception would help the hotel so much.
But I would in general like to thank you for my stay. I think over time, if the rooms are made a little more cheerful and with a level of personality that they currently lack, it will be a great little place that I would love to recommend to others.

Reviewed by
Julia B

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel
Staff were really friendly and helpful, room was clean and comfortable

Reviewed by
M Rattray

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The bathroom was tiny as was the sink, although the room itself was quite spacious. A new carpet had been fitted recently I think but all the paintwork was in need of refurbishment. There was only one chair so an extra one plus a writing table is needed. The area is quiet and there was no parking problem.

Reviewed by
Thomas C

From Kings Lynn, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Langfords
Great hotel for the price, would definitely recommend. Very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Gareth C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would use this hotel again took my son to see the university as he is thinking of going there in September.Hotel was clean comfortable and i wud recommend it its a little way out from the centre but there is a bus stop at the end of the street and they run every eight minutes until the early hours.

Reviewed by
D Rees

From Port Talbot, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Langfords Hotel
A little gem of a hotel!!
Centrally located, very clean, exceptional customer service. Overall our party of four adults were very satisfied with our choice of hotel which represented good value for money. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Debra Greenway

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not best pleased
when we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by foreign people and not 1 english speaking person. the room was ok. the bathroom was very dated and shabby. wallpaper ??? hanging of the ceiling and bath panel in very much need of a lick of paint. side window in bathroom opened to a view od a drain pipe literally covered in bird mess the full length of the pipe. energy saving bulbs in bedroom seemed to take for ever to get bright. sat around in the dark for 5 mins. i will certainly think twice before booking at this hotel again

Reviewed by
mark s

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

worth the money
Clean and tidy,noise from other rooms annoying but bearable. Light coming in from under the door constantly going on and off not good. The room was light and airy and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was fine and all in all the stay wasworth the money.

Reviewed by
Glen D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next