No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Langfords Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
8-16 Third Avenue , Brighton Hove, BN3 2PX
The Langfords Hotel in Hove is situated on a tree lined avenue a short stroll from the shingle beach of Brighton and Hove’s historical seafront;only a fifteen minute walk from the bustling centre of the South Coast’s famous seaside resort of ‘kiss-me-quick’ Brighton.

Although Brighton retains its cheeky reputation, it has grown up considerably since it merged with its immediate neighbour, Hove – when it became a new British city for the Millennium; a gift from HM The Queen! The combined treat of ‘Brighton & Hove’ officially merging, is that the City has become one of Britain’s most savvy twenty-first century Media Hubs – and The Langfords keeps pace happily, with free Wi-Fi, conference packages to suit corporate delegates or for ‘start-ups’ in need of some space when meeting with clients

The Langfords is a lovely, red-brick Victorian building echoing with old charm and brimming with character. The hotel has 58 very well proportioned bedrooms (all with en- suite facilities), and the spacious lounge bar has direct access to our lawned gardens – perfect for relaxing in on those sunny summer days and warm evenings.

We also have 8 function suites and a reputation for excellent conference and wedding facilities


Picture of Langfords Hotel, Brighton Hove at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 129 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
75% recommended this accommodation to a friend 79% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed here with my partner for two nights. We were extremely disappointed with the room. It was a good size but it was shabby, the wallpaper was peeling, the carpet old and the furniture partially broken. I don’t think the photos give a very good representation of the room I stayed in.
We found the 24hr reception helpful and friendly. Although popular with hen’s and stag’s we had a completely peaceful and quiet nights’ sleep.

Reviewed by
H Merrion

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great, highly recommended

Reviewed by
Chantal F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room at a reasonable rate
We were very pleasantly surprised by our room. Pretty period furnishings and high ceilings gave it a very luxe feel, and the bathroom was all slick, white, modern tiling. The bed was firm, but comfortable. The pillows synthetic (thankfully, as I'm allergic to feathers), the room spacious, and the shower nice and powerful. The only potential hazards were the very flimsy tissues/toilet tissue and the single glazed windows. If you need your room to be silent to sleep, you'll want a more modern hotel. You can hear the seagulls and what street noise there is (not much by London standards, but enough to be disruptive if you're from a more rural area), so if you're sensitive to noise, this won't be for you. Personally, I rather enjoyed hearing the gulls :). Oh, and the beach is a stone's throw from the front door- a ten minute walk if you stroll - and there were loads of little restaurants and cafes around the corner. The front desk staff were also very friendly and excellent with faces (you have to drop your key at the desk when you come and go for security reasons).
All in all, we loved our time at Langfords and would happily recommend it to other couples looking for a comfortable hotel near the sea that doesn't cost the earth.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth I

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid like the plague!!!
Tired shabby room, no lift, bed rock hard, very noisy. We were woken at 1.30 and kept awake till 4am by a group of very noisy, drunken yobs, swearing, hammering on doors and running around our corridor. Reception staff did nothing. We were so exhausted we missed the breakfast we paid for but were offered no refund. No manager present to complain to. Email not responded to. Don't believe the photos - they were taken years ago!!! Stained stair carpets. Very over priced drinks. Inadequate facilities. A long walk from Brighton centre. Late Rooms should be ashamed to have this one on their books and yet again I feel should check how the hotels they advertise are classifying themselves. This says self assessed three star. It wasn't worth one star. What is the point in a hotel where you cannot sleep???

Reviewed by
Fiona W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two nights at Langfords in July 2013.
An excellent hotel just off Hove seafront. A pleasant walk along the promenade into Brighton and within walking distance of Hove station. We had a good sized double room overlooking the garden. A good selection was on offer for breakfast. Interesting shops and a pub with Real Ale nearby! Lots of rooms so would be ideal for a larger family or party.

Reviewed by
JOHN V

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very satisfactory accommodation. Nothing fancy but everything you would want for a short stay.
Clean tidy room and friendly reception.

Reviewed by
Bernard B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good basic standard hotel
Good basic room, clean no frills. Stair carpet stained. Didn't try the food. 24 hr concierge. Close to Hove sea front but quite a long way from centre of Brighton which is probably an advantage - away from the crowds. Parked easily in street opposite.

Reviewed by
Eryl L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was in a convenient location and great parking deal
The hotel was in between Brighton and Hove in residential street where you could park buy buying permits at the hotel for £6.00 for time required.Excellent location and withion walking distnace of Brighton. Bed a bit lumpy lock on door could have been better. Very enjoyable weekend.

Reviewed by
C DEDMAN

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful reception staff & nice spacious room with sea view & good shower

Reviewed by
Fiona Palmer

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay was spoiled by there being no evening meal service. A major failing since I'm unable to walk far!

Reviewed by
Robyn Day

From England
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 Next