No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Regency Hotel Brighton

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
28 REGENCY SQUARE, BRIGHTON, BN1 2FH
Directly opposite the West Pier, the Regency is a city centre hotel in Brighton. We're a two hundred year old Regency town house, converted into a small guest house hotel in 1976. We work hard to give our guests a clean and friendly place to stay in the heart of Brighton, followed by a traditional home cooked breakfast.
Picture of Regency Hotel Brighton, BRIGHTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is perfect for the Brighton centre with a nice view over the lawns and sea

Reviewed by
Trish Hill

From Rushden, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good basic accommodation
Friendly staff and good service with an excllent breakfast. Room comfortable and clean although decoration in danger of getting a little tired. Did appreciate the provision of an alarm clock

Reviewed by
Andrew P

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Very conveniently situated for access to promenade and popular restaurant and nearby parking. Great sea view from room. Comfortable bed and imaginative decor.

Reviewed by
Jackie H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Before exam madness starts
We decided to go away for a couple of days before the exam madness started. We had a lovely time. We were greeted with a warm welcome. The rooms were lovely and clean with everything we needed for an overnight stay. We will definitely be going back.

Reviewed by
T Baker

From Potters Bar, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bright room with sea view
The room was nice and bright, with attractive decor and a decent sea view. With it being on the 4th floor it was a good high view as well; I don't mind climbing stairs so it was perfect for me.
The only downside with the room was with the shower, which was a pathetic trickle and had a tendency to go cold mid-shower. Overall though, I thought the room was excellent and I enjoyed staying there.
There was some confusion with the breakfasts. I wrongly assumed that it was breakfast included, but the proprietor said that a help-yourself breakfast is included, but not the cooked one. Fine by me, as I don't really like enormous cooked breakfasts anyway. But then on the last day, he was nowhere to be seen and hadn't left the milk and butter out. So unenthusiastic about a breakfast of dry toast and black coffee, I found solace elsewhere in town that morning.
Overall a pleasant stay. It was nice and quiet in the midweek when I was there, and being able to stay somewhere so close to the sea is a pleasure for someone like me who lives a long way inland.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. The self serve cold breakfast wasn't included with your booking, I chose to allow you to enjoy the service as a gesture of good will. The milk, juice, cheeses, yogurts and butter are still kept in the small refrigerator in the dinning room, which is why we use the deceptively cunning title "self service" breakfast.

Reviewed by
Mark E

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant, personable staff, extremely welcoming, would definitely come back!

Reviewed by
C Johnson

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend in Brighton
well situated with a sea view, near bars and restaurants, lovely clean room, good value for money

Reviewed by
S Ward

From Hitchin, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well Located Good Value Accommodation in Brighton
This exceeded my expectations for a very reasonably priced room in such a good location. I found the soundproofing between rooms exceptional, especially for an older, character property. All items for my breakfast were perfectly cooked and portions were generous. The owner was pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
Valerie W

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but noisy
I booked this hotel purely on the rave reviews. The room was smaller than I expected but it was OK just for the two nights. Breakfast was good. The location is superb to get straight into Brighton with lots of independent restaurants and shops just a few metres away. The downside was the unexpected price to park - £22 per 24 hours, however it is an excellent secure carpark so should be factored into the budget. The other was the noise, mainly from outside. The windows are single glazed and picked up every conversation and fight that went off throughout the WHOLE of the night. Just when I finally dropped off, the group of young men in the room above came tramping up the stairs with no thought for the rest of us at 6.15am after a night on the drink. I can recommend Muffles earplugs from Boots which did the trick on the Saturday night. Finally, if you are not used to stairs, there are lots of them and they certainly get your blood pumping.

Reviewed by
Zoe H

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location, friendly service, great value for money
We stayed for a night in the family suite and we were really pleased with the hotel. The owner was very pleasant and helpful. The room is quite a climb up the extensive stairs, which was exhausting, but for us the room was worth the climb, having the second room to put our son to bed in meant better sleeps all round. It would have been nice to have a bath tub as the shower lacked pressure. Room was well stocked with toiletries, tea, coffee and biscuits which is a nice touch often overlooked by some of the bigger chain hotels. The rooms were plenty big enough and the hotel very conveniently located for visiting the city centre. We would definitely stay again. We didn't have breakfast, but it smelt very pleasant whilst we were leaving.

Reviewed by
Richard W

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next