Reviews - The Brickwall Hotel


The Green Sedlescombe, Battle, TN33 0QA

Price From 209.19 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

96% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • David G

  • November 2015

Charming old building. Excellent food.

The hotel looks and feels traditionally old fashioned.

Our spacious room was in a modern annex, with reasonably fast free WiFi.There was only one double power socket, which is not enough for a kettle, a TV and chargers for smart phones, iPad, Kindle and camera . Breakfasts were good. The dinners were excellent, and good value at £25 for starter and main course.

  • Brigitte W

  • June 2015

very friendly and helpful staff but hotel is dated and rather expensive for what it is.

  • Jeremy N

  • April 2015

Nice place for a few days.

Hotel is great.

Nice place, but would need a car as there is nothing to do locally.

Dining/restaurant staff speak in their own language (Italian) which is a bit off-putting.

Need to be down at breakfast early to ensure you get a croissant. Lots to eat overall though.

  • G Cowlin

  • March 2015

Excellent food

Good stay at this hotel, great breakfasts and I had a wonderful dinner the Romney lamb to be recommended.

Waiters excellent, and attentive to all requirements. Room okay and lots of hot water. Only grievance was that I had to ask twice to get the TV sorted out, everything else was good, Reception organised me a taxi and even printed out train times for me great service

  • Christopher T

  • November 2014

It's all in the staff!

A superb friendly team make this little hotel a real surprise gem.

While the rooms are much like a great many others the polite attitude and friendly demeanor of the team and the breakfasts mean you should really give this place a try if you are in the area.

  • John H

  • October 2014

Nice country hotel but restaurant a bit stuffy

pleasant place, nice location, but restaurant a bit stuffy, service a bit cloying & slow, not relaxing if on your own.

very good breakfast. Room was fine, but suffered from noise from other rooms/corridor - needs better soundproofing,


  • October 2014

Most enjoyable three night stay

In our experience Everything about this hotel we found to be first class.

We look forward to returning.

  • David B

  • October 2014


Hotel was centrally placed for visiting my clients in the Hastings area and meant that I could travel home in daylight the following day.

  • Frank N

  • October 2014

Above average country hotel

Very good value at LR price.

Room fairly standard hotel fare, but comfortable. Restaurant really excellent with proper waiter service, £25 for 2 courses but really well above average. Breakfast also V good in morning - plenty of everything.

  • Michelle P

  • September 2014

Weekend Break Away

Have just spent a weekend at The Brickwall Hotel, a lovely quiet hotel, with staff who,without exception,were courteous, friendly and helpful.

The hotel had a heated outside pool, a bar and a lovely restaurant serving food that was absolutely excellent.