No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Brickwall Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Green Sedlescombe, Battle, TN33 0QA
This stunning Tudor mansion not 15 minutes from Hastings overlooks the ancient village of Sedlescombe and offers exceptional cuisine, free WI-FI and parking and friendly staff. Originally built in 1599 the property is infused with a rich history and a classic Old World charm. Having been lovingly maintained, its period features blend sympathetically with a thoroughly modern standard of comfort and convenience. The Hotel is privately owned and run by a friendly team of experienced staff who are dedicated to providing a welcoming home-from-home atmosphere.

With a large beautifully maintained garden and some truly inspiring surroundings it is the perfect place to unwind and indulge in some traditional country living. The hotel has garnered an impressive reputation for the quality of its food. Specialising in traditional British cuisine with a contemporary twist, everything is cooked fresh on the premises, using locally sourced seasonal produce. The delightful dining room is brimming with character, including period features such as beautiful beamed ceilings. The hotel also has a spacious residents' lounge with French windows opening onto the garden, perfect for pre-dinner drinks and parties. The oak-panelled bar offers a wide selection of drinks, an extensive wine list and features a roaring log fire during the Winter months. The Hotel's Garden Room conservatory is an ideal venue for functions and small parties or conferences in a private environment. There is also a residents only out-door heated swimming pool, situated in the hotel garden it is perfect for unwinding and relaxing during the warm Summer months.
Picture of The Brickwall Hotel, Battle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Suitabilty
Hotel was centrally placed for visiting my clients in the Hastings area and meant that I could travel home in daylight the following day.

Reviewed by
David B

From Herne Bay, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice country hotel but restaurant a bit stuffy
pleasant place, nice location, but restaurant a bit stuffy, service a bit cloying & slow, not relaxing if on your own.
very good breakfast.
Room was fine, but suffered from noise from other rooms/corridor - needs better soundproofing,

Reviewed by
John H

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Above average country hotel
Very good value at LR price. Room fairly standard hotel fare, but comfortable. Restaurant really excellent with proper waiter service, £25 for 2 courses but really well above average. Breakfast also V good in morning - plenty of everything!

Reviewed by
Frank N

From Sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Most enjoyable three night stay
In our experience Everything about this hotel we found to be first class. We look forward to returning.

Reviewed by
GEOFF B

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break Away
Have just spent a weekend at The Brickwall Hotel, a lovely quiet hotel, with staff who,without exception,were courteous, friendly and helpful. The hotel had a heated outside pool, a bar and a lovely restaurant serving food that was absolutely excellent.

Reviewed by
Michelle P

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly service and welcome , Food was first class and even though there was a wedding going on we where still made to feel important and didnt have to wait for our food which was out of this world as far as taste and appearance is concerned. very polite and friendly staff couldnt have wished for any better service would recommend the Brickwall to all our friends and family as a must stay or even pop in for meal if passing.

Reviewed by
Brynley Rees

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Most enjoyable two night stay, friendly and attentive staff, excellent food would like to stay again sometime.

Reviewed by
Christine S

From Bexleyheath, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent break
We stayed for 2 days with my aunt. We were made to feel very welcome and throughout the stay, the staff were most helpful. food in the restaurant was excellent - can't be faulted.

Reviewed by
Yvonne T

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Nice easy to relax at staff amazing and very helpful 100% stay again
I stayed here for business in Eastbourne just a quick 20 minute drive down in the morning, very clean, staff great and very polite the manager was amazing and VERY honest, nice selection for breakfast in the morning, freshly cooked alway hot, No noise at all so easy to sleep, wake up with birds singing and sun shining into my room every morning. The receptionist was very happy every time we met and met me with a genuine smile

Reviewed by
Steven Wickenden

From Deal, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent little place
This has to be one of the nicest little hotels I've ever stayed in. The staff were excellent ambassadors and were extremely polite and courteous. The room was very clean and the food was exceptional. I shall definitely be making a return visit.

Reviewed by
John Hudson

From Market Harborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next