No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Preston Park Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
216 Preston Road, Brighton, BN1 6UU

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Preston Park Hotel is a small quaint hotel situated on the main Brighton Road, ten minutes from the seafront and all city centre shopping. With ample free car parking on site, excellent popular restaurant and bar, we are your best choice.
Picture of Preston Park Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 151 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tired looking hotel.
Staff friendly, but the rooms are in desparate need of some tlc.

Reviewed by
C Saunders

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed in a double room that stank of mould the whole corridor smelt of it as you walked up and was really overpowering, the cleanliness of the room was very poor but a lot of this was due to old fixtures and fittings such as old windows and tatty wallpaper. The hot water tap was scorchingly hot and the shower was just a drizzle no power to it at all. Overall it wasn't worth the price very disappointing I explained my concerns before I left but I just got a shrug of the shoulders and an ok from the staff as if this was the norm. We will not be using this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Gemma L

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed
Pros...ample parking, bus stop right outside, decent breakfast
Cons...too hot in room but had to keep windows closed due to traffic noise, bed too soft had to sleep with mattress on floor, tired bathroom, disinterested and not too helpful reception staff

Reviewed by
J N

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing
On arrival we had to request a different room as the TV did not work and there was something we wanted to watch. We were reluctantly provided with a different room. Here again the tv appeared not to work until we found an unmarked master switch on the other side of the room. The room was not particularly clean with a fair amount of dust on surfaces. The continental breakfast was acceptable but the English breakfast was not. The bacon in particular was so salty it was inedible. A friend ode red the haddock but was provided with kippers which were apparently OK. The blouse worn by the waitress was partly covered in spilt food. The window blinds in the restaurant were exceedingly dirty.

Reviewed by
Alex m

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
Out of date, needs decoration and over priced

Reviewed by
Neil H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired
Tired hotel externally and internally. Despite the main road a very quiet hotel, tidy and relatively clean rooms but some very wobbly floorboards (rotten at a guess) and awful water pressure in the double room brought cause for complaint. That was greeted well and the immediate offer of another room without argument. Accepted this and much of an improvement but again tired decor and some mould spots in the bathroom left us a little dissatisfied while it served our purpose for a single night.

Reviewed by
P Allen

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get what you pay for
as budget hotels go this one is still stuck in the 90's with award certificates on the wall from early to mid 90's it may be a while before this hotel wins many more awards. The accomadation is what you expect for the price £59 per night per couple. Although it would have been nice to have been able to stand under the shower which was either too hot or too cold with no in between and when turned on full would only run as a trickle making washing your hair a longer chore than drying it with the supplied hairdrier When brought the attention of the "concierge" she at first didn't understand my english and then shrugged her shoulders but did try to offer another room which we declined as it seemed too much hassle for both us and the hotel. Breakfast was basic at £6 per head and would recommend going 5 mins by car to the Withdene Satdium where breakfast is £3.50 per head for an all you can eat buffet breakfast from 9 am

Reviewed by
Paul Napier-Morgan

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get what you pay for
as budget hotels go this one is still stuck in the 90's with award certificates on the wall from early to mid 90's it may be a while before this hotel wins many more awards. The accomadation is what you expect for the price £59 per night per couple. Although it would have been nice to have been able to stand under the shower which was either too hot or too cold with no in between and when turned on full would only run as a trickle making washing your hair a longer chore than drying it with the supplied hairdrier When brought the attention of the "concierge" she at first didn't understand my english and then shrugged her shoulders but did try to offer another room which we declined as it seemed too much hassle for both us and the hotel. Breakfast was basic at £6 per head and would recommend going 5 mins by car to the Withdene Satdium where breakfast is £3.50 per head for an all you can eat buffet breakfast from 9 am

Reviewed by
Paul Napier-Morgan

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay break
The Hotel staff from arrival to departure were extremely friendly, polite, helpful and communicative.
The food was fresh, hot, and delicious.
The room was cleaned daily and to a high standard.
I would highly recommend Preston Park Hotel to my friends and family.
Thank You
Mary Pratt

Reviewed by
mary pratt

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have never stayed in a hotel so hot even hotels in Spain are cooler. Half of the room room is broken ie lights, window is hanging off, radiator is connected to the wall by wire, the bathroom floor needs flattening down and the shower doesn't work properly.

Reviewed by
R Scott

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next