No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Preston Park Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
216 Preston Road, Brighton, BN1 6UU

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Preston Park Hotel is a small quaint hotel situated on the main Brighton Road, ten minutes from the seafront and all city centre shopping. With ample free car parking on site, excellent popular restaurant and bar, we are your best choice.
Picture of Preston Park Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 153 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
57% recommended this accommodation to a friend 63% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get what you pay for
as budget hotels go this one is still stuck in the 90's with award certificates on the wall from early to mid 90's it may be a while before this hotel wins many more awards. The accomadation is what you expect for the price £59 per night per couple. Although it would have been nice to have been able to stand under the shower which was either too hot or too cold with no in between and when turned on full would only run as a trickle making washing your hair a longer chore than drying it with the supplied hairdrier When brought the attention of the "concierge" she at first didn't understand my english and then shrugged her shoulders but did try to offer another room which we declined as it seemed too much hassle for both us and the hotel. Breakfast was basic at £6 per head and would recommend going 5 mins by car to the Withdene Satdium where breakfast is £3.50 per head for an all you can eat buffet breakfast from 9 am

Reviewed by
Paul Napier-Morgan

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get what you pay for
as budget hotels go this one is still stuck in the 90's with award certificates on the wall from early to mid 90's it may be a while before this hotel wins many more awards. The accomadation is what you expect for the price £59 per night per couple. Although it would have been nice to have been able to stand under the shower which was either too hot or too cold with no in between and when turned on full would only run as a trickle making washing your hair a longer chore than drying it with the supplied hairdrier When brought the attention of the "concierge" she at first didn't understand my english and then shrugged her shoulders but did try to offer another room which we declined as it seemed too much hassle for both us and the hotel. Breakfast was basic at £6 per head and would recommend going 5 mins by car to the Withdene Satdium where breakfast is £3.50 per head for an all you can eat buffet breakfast from 9 am

Reviewed by
Paul Napier-Morgan

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short stay break
The Hotel staff from arrival to departure were extremely friendly, polite, helpful and communicative.
The food was fresh, hot, and delicious.
The room was cleaned daily and to a high standard.
I would highly recommend Preston Park Hotel to my friends and family.
Thank You
Mary Pratt

Reviewed by
mary pratt

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I have never stayed in a hotel so hot even hotels in Spain are cooler. Half of the room room is broken ie lights, window is hanging off, radiator is connected to the wall by wire, the bathroom floor needs flattening down and the shower doesn't work properly.

Reviewed by
R Scott

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not great
Ok for access to brighton but not worth it. It felt like the heating was on all the time and there werent enough fans to go around and they wouldn't give me the one from the front desk even though it was much cooler in the reception area. She did try and accomodate me in other rooms but it was just as hot in all of them. Didn't sleep for 2 out of the 3 nights i stayed there. Bed not that comfy either. Heard another couple complaining about the attitude of the staff....would not stay here again.

Reviewed by
K Patel

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
There were a lot of things wrong with the room, from dripping taps, damaged light fittings, towel rail permanently on, which in the heat wave was not welcome, to a mattress which needed replacing. We had the impression that this room had not been used or inspected for some time. All the faults were reported to reception and were noted down, so hopefully they will be addressed. The staff were pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
Christopher H

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff were helpful but overall the building was shabby run and down.
The carpets, furnishings and bedding very tired with ingrained grubbiness. There were hairs and a hair grip left on the carpet. Shower was weak and uncontrollable. Poor layout in the room which was too small even with the small double bed. Pillows not enough to sit up in bed without banging headboard. Very busy road at front. Not at all 'small and quaint' as claimed in their web site.

Reviewed by
John Parsons

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grubby
Hairs on the floor in the bathroom (not ours). Shabby and run down. In the morning we could see rubbish at the back of the building through an open door.

Reviewed by
SHARON P

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay
Good for accessing the city with buses every 10 mins. Not a new hotel but kept clean in my room, parking available. An ok stay and covered all my needs.

Reviewed by
Nicola E

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is an absolute disgrace for the money we paid! The room was dingy and smelt of damp. There was mould on the walls and bathroom celing and wall paper hanging off ! No air conditioning which meant we had to have the winsow open which is not nice on a busy main road. Also discovered some nasty looking stains on the bed base yuck!

Reviewed by
A Parffett

From Lymington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next