Reviews - Preston Park Hotel

2

216 Preston Road, Brighton, BN1 6UU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (94)

53% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • M Grahame

  • December 2014

Fine hotel, but no heating in my room. Should not have happened

The hotel was generally fine and the room comfortable, but there was no heating in my room, which meant my stay was uncomfortable.

This should have been dealt with by routine maintenance or I should have been given an alternative room. The hotel needs to ensure that such basic facilities are working prior to the arrival of any guest and not try to deal with them after the fact.

  • C Lewis

  • November 2014

Nice on the outside

I arrived at the Hotel and thought it looked quite impressive.

Was disappointed when I arrived at my room, because I was next to the main road and the windows were so thin I could hear all the traffic. Also the room was cold and there was no heating that worked. The staff were really nice and brought me up a portable heater but there was no place to dry my towel.

I like a good power shower - unfortunately this was sooo weak, again it was another disappointment. Good looking room though.

  • Neil H

  • October 2014

.

Out of date, needs decoration and over priced

  • Gemma L

  • September 2014

We stayed in a double room that stank of mould the whole corridor smelt of it as you walked up and was really overpowering, the cleanliness of the room was very poor but a lot of this was due to old fixtures and fittings such as old windows and tatty wallpaper.

The hot water tap was scorchingly hot and the shower was just a drizzle no power to it at all. Overall it wasn't worth the price very disappointing I explained my concerns before I left but I just got a shrug of the shoulders and an ok from the staff as if this was the norm. We will not be using this hotel again.

  • J N

  • September 2014

Mixed

Pros...ample parking, bus stop right outside, decent breakfast

Cons...too hot in room but had to keep windows closed due to traffic noise, bed too soft had to sleep with mattress on floor, tired bathroom, disinterested and not too helpful reception staff

  • C Saunders

  • September 2014

Very tired looking hotel.

Staff friendly, but the rooms are in desparate need of some tlc.

  • Alex m

  • September 2014

Disappointing

On arrival we had to request a different room as the TV did not work and there was something we wanted to watch.

We were reluctantly provided with a different room. Here again the tv appeared not to work until we found an unmarked master switch on the other side of the room. The room was not particularly clean with a fair amount of dust on surfaces. The continental breakfast was acceptable but the English breakfast was not. The bacon in particular was so salty it was inedible. A friend ode red the haddock but was provided with kippers which were apparently OK. The blouse worn by the waitress was partly covered in spilt food. The window blinds in the restaurant were exceedingly dirty.

  • P Allen

  • August 2014

Tired

Tired hotel externally and internally.

Despite the main road a very quiet hotel, tidy and relatively clean rooms but some very wobbly floorboards (rotten at a guess) and awful water pressure in the double room brought cause for complaint. That was greeted well and the immediate offer of another room without argument. Accepted this and much of an improvement but again tired decor and some mould spots in the bathroom left us a little dissatisfied while it served our purpose for a single night.

  • Paul Napier-Morgan

  • August 2014

Get what you pay for

as budget hotels go this one is still stuck in the 90's with award certificates on the wall from early to mid 90's it may be a while before this hotel wins many more awards.

The accomadation is what you expect for the price £59 per night per couple. Although it would have been nice to have been able to stand under the shower which was either too hot or too cold with no in between and when turned on full would only run as a trickle making washing your hair a longer chore than drying it with the supplied hairdrier When brought the attention of the "concierge" she at first didn't understand my english and then shrugged her shoulders but did try to offer another room which we declined as it seemed too much hassle for both us and the hotel. Breakfast was basic at £6 per head and would recommend going 5 mins by car to the Withdene Satdium where breakfast is £3.50 per head for an all you can eat buffet breakfast from 9 am

  • Paul Napier-Morgan

  • August 2014

Get what you pay for

as budget hotels go this one is still stuck in the 90's with award certificates on the wall from early to mid 90's it may be a while before this hotel wins many more awards.

The accomadation is what you expect for the price £59 per night per couple. Although it would have been nice to have been able to stand under the shower which was either too hot or too cold with no in between and when turned on full would only run as a trickle making washing your hair a longer chore than drying it with the supplied hairdrier When brought the attention of the "concierge" she at first didn't understand my english and then shrugged her shoulders but did try to offer another room which we declined as it seemed too much hassle for both us and the hotel. Breakfast was basic at £6 per head and would recommend going 5 mins by car to the Withdene Satdium where breakfast is £3.50 per head for an all you can eat buffet breakfast from 9 am