No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Preston Park Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
216 Preston Road, Brighton, BN1 6UU

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Preston Park Hotel is a small quaint hotel situated on the main Brighton Road, ten minutes from the seafront and all city centre shopping. With ample free car parking on site, excellent popular restaurant and bar, we are your best choice.
Picture of Preston Park Hotel, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 149 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok if not a little tired
Room clean and tidy plenty of tea and coffee the Hotel in general a little tired but not unpleasant, rooms could do with double glazing as they have old sash windows that do nothing to keep the noise from the busy road out and if you are a light sleeper like me then this could be a problem, for what i used it for a one night stopover it was reasonably priced and perfect for what i wanted

Reviewed by
M DIXON

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Drab and rather poky
Stayed here to visit relatives nearby, but prices no cheaper than on seafront, and £100 per night for a minimum 2 night stay, I expected more. Badly in need of a makeover - decor drab and dated. Curtain hanging off rail. Net curtain grey. Very slow service at breakfast - more staff needed - and not enough choice on the continental breakfast bar. Cooked option rather greasy. However, parking is easy and the reception staff reasonably friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good budget hotel - fair value at 59GBP per room per night but would not pay more
Very clean, very friendly, great breakfast. Nice deep bath and clean sheets - with exception of one very rude receptionist lovely friendly and helpful staff :)

Reviewed by
clare p

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Practical, functional, fit-for-purpose
Functional and comfortable room - practical for business or leisure traveler visiting Preston, Brighton and/or the surrounding areas. Hotel located on main road is conveniently near bus stop (or around an hour's walk to Brighton) although there is traffic noise. Good parking space available. Daily servicing/refreshing of room was fine. Laterooms rate was good value-for-money given this generally-overpriced location (Brighton).

Reviewed by
Belinda H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shabby accomodation manned by people with little knowledge of the hotel or area
room was ok 0nly
phone not plugged in
grubby blankets on bed
shower and taps either scalding or cold
no info re taxis local facilities or even hotel facilities.When I asked abou the super bowl,recptionist had no idea what I was talking about
breakfast was really good

Reviewed by
john Miller

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Difficult to get to room up and down stairs
Breakfast was awful

Reviewed by
jennifer m

From Australia
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dingy and drab
Well after having stayed at so many other great hotels around the Uk we found the Preston Park Hotel somewhat dingy and drab and just very tired. Our original room was like a cell and very small but on checking we found the window lock hanging off and the window unable to be closed. To her credit the Polish girl on the desk did find us another room and it was fine. Location is good, and Brighton does appear to be an expensive place to stay so overall it wasn't bad, It did the job for one night

Reviewed by
peter m

From Australia
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simple but acceptable.
I only stayed one night so must keep that in mind, but the room was clean and presentable, though the bed a little hard for me. Tea and coffee facilities provided in the room. TV also but took a while to find the channel numbers as they were not as you would find at home. The reception was efficient and polite but could have been more forthcoming in the services available and in whether I needed any further help. Overall though an acceptable stay.

Reviewed by
Nicholas P

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
If your'e looking for a hotel with free parking in Brighton then here it is. On the outskirts a tab with the sea front a good 30 minute walk or there is a bus stop outside.Clean rooms and a nice breakfast. It suited us fine for 2 nights as a base for the shops and pubs Brighton has to offer.

Reviewed by
Dean M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not worth the money
This is an old and tired rabbit-warren of a hotel that is overpriced @ £99.00 for a weekend night double room. It was relatively clean apart from the net curtains which were not. It was too hot which forced you to either open the windows onto a noisy road or slowly cook. The double-bed didn't sag in the middle which was a plus but had blankets rather than a duvet which was not (especially when combined with the heating). I believe I could have got much better quality, service & value at a B&B. The floor of our top floor room felt like the carpet was laid over cobble stones which was just odd. The breakfast was acceptable however the staff we met were merely functional rather than welcoming, never allowing a smile to break through.

Reviewed by
Paul C

From Stevenage, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next