No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Legends Hotel

3Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
31 MARINE PARADE , BRIGHTON, BN2 1TR

Stylish GAY friendly hotel, right on the seafront in Brighton's Kemptown, 2
minutes from Brighton Pier and 5 minutes from the fashionable Lanes shopping
district and famous night life.

Legends offers a variety of quality en-suite rooms, many with stunning sea
views, from standards to stunning suites which are finished to the highest
standards. All rooms are en-suite offering Free fast Wifi, LCD TVs and
Tea/Coffee facilities. With luxury rooms offering many more facilities. The
hotel also features a bar with seafront terrace & basement nightclub open
till late (free access for guests).

Breakfast until 11.30am, 12 Noon Checkout. Lunch available from Midday to
5.00pm (3pm Sundays).

Parents with children should call the hotel before booking. NO STAG OR HEN
PARTIES and no pets, except guide dogs.
Picture of Legends Hotel, BRIGHTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just a Day and Night out
Fabulous location with veranda and views out to sea and Brighton Pier (2 mins walk). Good Food, Bar. Room and bathroom perhaps a little on the small side but for a clean, friendly place to stay for the night, we would book again. Out of the main city centre but within 10 mins walk. With the sun out, the veranda out the front, a great place to watch the morning and have breakfast.

Reviewed by
Ray H

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Clean and pleasant room staff very helpful and hotel is in great location central to everything in Brighton you might wish to see.

Reviewed by
J P

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Filled a need
Pleasant &helpful reception & although I got there early and room was not ready my luggage was well looked after until I could check in. Room was very small as was bathroom but served a need for one night. Room would be a bit claustrophobic for a long stay. It was a Monday night so club was closed but I still found it rather noisy as my room was right by the lift. The view by craning my neck I could just see the Wheel. When I got back about 8 pm my main light was not working, I reported it and the bulb was replaced quickly. The bathroom blind had been damaged and was difficult to close then I couldn't open it. Reception was interested when I reported it on departure. Breakfast was very good. If I needed it for one night I might consider staying again & would only recommend it for short stay. However it is probably more a young persons hotel.

Reviewed by
P Finn

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Party time!
Excellent hotel near to the centre with marvelous staff who are so helpful and friendly. Greet view of the pier and sea front and very easy to walk to the Lanes.

Reviewed by
Michael Cox

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Break
Fantastic service by committed and friendly staff! Heartily recommended if staying in Brighton! Breakfast was amazing. Room was well looked after and furnished!

Reviewed by
Gordon Q

From Airdrie, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

exellent service
good clean rooms. perfect central location. v. good service. helpful staff.

Reviewed by
A Abdulla

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly hotel
Enjoyed our stay here in a very relaxed and welcoming environment. Would definitely book again.

Reviewed by
M O'Neill

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Single Glazed Windows Need to be Reviewed!
I was attending a party for a friend who is immigrating to Canada later this month and needed a reasonably priced room in a central location, a quick search of reviews on Trip Advisor and I decided on Legends in Brighton. All of the reviews I had read where positive and as single female traveller I was confident that I would feel safe at this venue and I was not wrong.
I was allocated a standard single room on the second floor which was at the side of the building but still had a rather impressive partial view of the Pier & Wheel. The room itself was adequate in size with all the things you would expect (ironing board & iron, hair dryer, TV, kettle with a well-stocked tea & coffee supply) but I have to say was a tad bland and lacked any kind of personality for my liking. There were some maintenance issues that were instantly noticeable, stains on the blinds in the bathroom, the wardrobe handle was hanging off, but more importantly the beautiful sash windows (single glazed which would become a problem later on) were absolutely filthy - they were so dirty that they were almost opaque! Living of the South Coast myself I know how difficult it can be keeping windows clean, sea air and seabirds can make short work of even the cleanest window but these windows looked like they had not been cleaned in a long time – I was almost tempted to open them up and have a little clean myself just so I could see the impressive view! All of the above could easily be put right with a bit of TLC.
The shower cubical in the en-suite bathroom was tiny (and I mean tiny), the shower head was in a fixed position so no option to adjust to suit height which resulted in the full water spray full on into my face, and because there was no shelf/ledge in the actual shower I had to keep leaving the cubical just to apply shower gel, shampoo & conditioner. Also the temperature fluctuated between scalding hot and freezing cold without warning.
For any woman getting ready to go out there are two important things required: Firstly, a good mirror, there was no full length mirror, instead there was a small mirror next to the side wash basin (not in front of the basin like you would expect) which meant I had to rather awkwardly lean over the basin in a twisted position in order to apply makeup. Secondly, good lighting, which unfortunately my room did not have either, the room itself had two wall mounted up lighting units both with very low watt light bulbs and the bathroom was not much better. Considering both these factors it is a wonder that I did not go out looking like Coco the Clown!
Having read a lot of reviews on the hotel I did not expect noise to be a problem – how wrong was I!!! I returned to the hotel at about half past midnight (slightly intoxicated) to find a very lively bar, lots of people out on the terrace all having a really good time – nothing wrong with that at all! Three or four hours later however it was another story. The noise levels never decreased at all. Inside the hotel I could clearly hear loud music, there seemed to be a lot of people up & down the stairs and outside my room, as well as loud conversations. Outside the hotel the terrace seemed to be a Mecca to drunken party goers right up to 6am, there was a lot of traffic noise throughout the night and then the inevitable dawn chorus of the seabirds. The single glazed window offered no protection at all. This had got to be the worst night sleep I have ever had in any of the hotels I have ever stayed in. Being slightly intoxicated myself I did not feel in a position to complain about the noise, especially as I would had to do so by going back into the busy bar area to speak to staff, there was no one at reception at that time. In the morning I was so tired that I did not bother with breakfast, I just stayed in bed until checkout time. In retrospect I was naïve not expect high noise levels from a hotel on Brighton Seafront, with a built in bar & nightclub on a Saturday night!
Despite what I have said on this review I do still think that Legends is an amazingly unique venue. The staff were all so friendly and helpful and could not do enough for me. The place had an amazing energy about it, stylish, chic, and equally a real community feel to it. I really did consider leaving out all the ‘negative’ aspects of my stay, everyone was so nice, but this is a review site and the whole point is honesty.

Reviewed by
C Davis

From PORTSMOUTH, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cracking weekend
My husband and I stayed at this hotel . what fun , great staff , very friendly and welcoming
good cooked breakfast
drinks good valve
bed comfy
entertainment brilliant
well done to management you have done a great job picking people friendly staff

Reviewed by
lorraine williams

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't of ask for Better
Legends was just perfect, wish we had found this place sooner when we have visited Brighton Before, staff were so accommodating and the rooms were so clean and we had all the facilities we needed , nothing was too much trouble , breakfast was excellent ...top place to stay.

Reviewed by
L BAKER

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next