No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Church Street Hotel

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
29-31 Camberwell Church Street , London, SE5 8TR
A Spanish-American Boutique hotel, infused with Vibrant Cubano hues, hand painted Mexicasa tile work, Colonialist furniture and iconic art. The Church Street Hotel is situated in Camberwell, offering a real downtown London life experience while still being within easy reach of London's tourist attractions. Energetic local Art scene, effervescent Night life, and wealth of local eateries nearby. London Eye,County Hall/Tate Galley,Royal Festival Hall,Brixton,Vauxhall,Oval venues nearby, while Kings College Hospital, an internationally recognised centre of Excellence is within 10 minutes walking distance.
Just beside the hotel is the Camberwell leisure centre, a newly refurbished state of the art Gym and Swimming pool with day passes available at the hotel reception desk.
Organic Continental breakfast is available at a supplementary £5.00 charge per person/night. Breakfast includes organic housemade bread, cereals, pastries, free-range eggs, jams and the hotel's own hot sauce. Locally sourced ingredients are used, often brought in fresh from Borough Market.

Picture of Church Street Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
Excellent hotel, providing clean, comfortable accommodation.

Reviewed by
Dominic H

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a gem
This little place is marvellous! My room was small and gorgeous, perfect for me alone. I imagine there are larger rooms for couples. The continental breakfast option was only a fiver (unheard of) and was worth much more - organic oats, local honey, large pastries etc. There is a large library of DVDs available to watch in the room and a lovely little bar area to congregate if you want to. Service was personal and considerate. I just want to tell everybody about this place! They even use L'Occitane toiletries and leave Green and Black's choc in your room

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Stevens

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sarah visits London
Truly lovely hotel. Bit of a walk from nearest tube but well worth it. Tapas and marguerita perfect.

Reviewed by
s clarke

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky hotel experience - worth a visit
The hotel looks nothing much from outside but once you enter the Spanish Mexican influence is everywhere. The religious imagery is everywhere from the reception to the communion bar in the basement. Nice cocktails! The stained glass with ancient bible scenes even on the front of the bar are superb. The staff are delightful and helpful. Quite the best hotel breakfast I've had anywhere.
On our stay we were a little unlucky that there were roadworks outside with traffic lights and emergency vehicles had to get through.
Perhaps ask for a room at the back? Air conditioning might have helped as opening the window was noisy.

Reviewed by
Ludovic M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Friday to Tuesday stay at the Church Street Hotel
Reception and catering staff were friendly and helpful. My room was comfortable for me, as a single person. And it was cleaned every day perfectly; and with little treats (a nice little bar of chocolate, plus, in the bathroom, little bottles of lotions) left daily. Mind you, I do understand the need of the hotel to charge £90 a night, which I assume is the same price charged for occupancy by couples. I realise this is necessary to cover costs and make a profit. As I wanted to get out and about I only had one evening meal at the hotel's restaurant (which also seemed popular with non-residents). It was excellent, and the head waiter was splendid and cheerful in introducing me to tapas; and I was glad to splash out a bit of cash on this. As a non-driver I found the 25 or so minute walk to the Oval tube station a reasonable choice for getting me on my way out and about in town.

Reviewed by
J Shaw

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A brilliant stay in London
A stay that cost me £125 for 1 night for a twin room including breakfast and a couple of drinks from the bar.
Worth every penny and more! The care and detail that has been put into the hotel is awesome. The personal touches, (chocolates, a notebook with a welcome message, bottled water) make this hotel one of the best I have stayed in for the price. Faultessly clean- all customer service exceptional- comfortable bed. No AC in room 16 but the fan was more than enough. Bit noisy outside at night, but we just shut the window and voila!
The breakfast in the downstairs restaurant- we had both the continental at £5 and the full english at around £9-10, which was delicious. The full english was one of the best I have ever had in terms of quality and presentation.
Will definitely stay again. Keep it up guys. A gem in the midst of a busy London street.

Reviewed by
Christo A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely find
Super friendly staff. The cocktail bar's an experience worth having but some of the recipes are lethal! The building is worth a visit on its own, wonderful Mexican decoration throughout. Next time, I'll try the breakfast!

Reviewed by
Ewan S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky Church Street
Lovely, quirky hotel. Lounge to use, air con and nice touches in rooms. Very pleasant indeed.

Reviewed by
G Patterson

From Todmorden, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As far removed from a Holiday Inn as you can possibly get...
Slightly weird and wacky but that is deliberate. One whooping ceiling fan away from a small studio flat in downtown Mexico City, but clean and comfortable with nice toiletries and a few thoughtful touches.
If like me you are sick to death of sterile concrete London at £200 a night to die of indifference, boredom and overcooked eggs this could be the place for you although it's on a busy road and parking is a bit challenging when you first arrive

Reviewed by
simon c

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quirky gem off the beaten track
We had a gig booked in Brixton and this was the nearest hotel (c20 minute walk) so we booked it up and were pleasantly surprised.
The hotel is a bit of a maze but is decorated in an unusual Mexican style - Travellodge it is not!
There is a well stocked honesty bar on the first floor.
Breakfast was very tasty in the Angels & Demons ground floor restaurant.
The Communion basement bar was very cool with a live band and the service was good even if the drinks were a little pricey.
The hotel's offsite car parking was handy (£5 per night) at a nearby church, although the staff seemed a little reluctant to tell us about it.
All in all, if we were going to another late night gig in Brixton we would stay here again.

Reviewed by
piers harrison

From Shoreham by Sea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next