No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Church Street Hotel

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
29-31 Camberwell Church Street , London, SE5 8TR
A Spanish-American Boutique hotel, infused with Vibrant Cubano hues, hand painted Mexicasa tile work, Colonialist furniture and iconic art. The Church Street Hotel is situated in Camberwell, offering a real downtown London life experience while still being within easy reach of London's tourist attractions. Energetic local Art scene, effervescent Night life, and wealth of local eateries nearby. London Eye,County Hall/Tate Galley,Royal Festival Hall,Brixton,Vauxhall,Oval venues nearby, while Kings College Hospital, an internationally recognised centre of Excellence is within 10 minutes walking distance.
Just beside the hotel is the Camberwell leisure centre, a newly refurbished state of the art Gym and Swimming pool with day passes available at the hotel reception desk.
Organic Continental breakfast is available at a supplementary £5.00 charge per person/night. Breakfast includes organic housemade bread, cereals, pastries, free-range eggs, jams and the hotel's own hot sauce. Locally sourced ingredients are used, often brought in fresh from Borough Market.

Picture of Church Street Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Church Street Hotel, Camberwells little slice of heaven.
From the road the hotel gives a good first impression,being clean and tidy. Upon entry you are transported to a little part of Mexico and greeted by very friendly helpful staff. After a quick and straight forward check in, you are shown to your room. I booked a twin room which I found to be a nice size and in good decorative order. The twin iron framed beds were very comfortable and had good quality bedding. There was ample solid wood furniture and hanging space for your clothing. After only a few minutes the room felt like home. There was also a LCD TV and DVD player to use if you so wished. The room had a shared toilet and shower, This was not a problem as it was located just outside the room door. The hotel has very good standards of cleanliness and the staff were fantastically friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We really enjoyed our experience at the hotel and would recommend it to anyone. The only suggestion I would make is that if you are of limited mobility you try to book a room on the lower floors, as there were a lot of stairs to our room which could prove tricky to negotiate. That said don't let it put you off staying at this lovely hotel. Many thanks for a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
j symonds

From Falmouth, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice unique stay!
Me and my girlfriend stayed here for two nights over a weekend and thought it was in a great location and the Hotel itself was very unique and comfortable to stay in. Fantastic decoration with good sized rooms/bathrooms. The bar was very cool and the lounge area with an honesty bar was great too and very homely. Very enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
Sam C

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spanish/American style comfort in Camberwell
A welcoming smile and considerate tour and explanation of facilities met us at the Church Street hotel. The room and bathroom were quite snug and for a longer stay we would have upgraded, however for one night it was fine. The room was clean, quiet and warm and the lounge with free tea/coffee and an honesty bar was lovely. The option of parking at £5 a night down the road was also handy. Breakfast staff were really helpful, but we didn't get an opportunity to sample dinner - menu looked good though. Definitely stay again at this interesting Spanish/American style hotel.

Reviewed by
C Smith

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place overall
Shared bathroom. No tea making facility in room. Breakfast nice but weren't any vegan options for continental breakfast. Nice & clean & staff friendly.

Reviewed by
jessica g

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

safe friendly and comfortable
We had a twin room without en suite, however, as we only shared with one other room this was not a problem.
The room was big enough for two girls who just needed somewhere to sleep after a concert. The beds were so comfortable we didn't want to get up! Most importantly though it felt safe for us to be able to come back to in the early hours of the morning.
The free tea, coffee and hot chocolate was lush. No sachets of cheap stuff here!
The staff were so friendly and welcoming
Altogether a good find and very reasonably priced for London. Would definitely come back.

Reviewed by
Jennifer Pittman

From Ramsgate, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, definitely worth the money.
Can't fault the hotel or the staff, everything was clean and everybody I spoke to was helpful and friendly. The only thing that lets the hotel down is the area in which it is situated, which is no fault of the owners and so I didn't factor that into the review. If you intended to stay in the hotel or restaurant during the evening, then definitely ignore my point about the area. However, if you intend to spend some time around London town and expect you'll be arriving back late at night it may be worth getting a taxi or at the very least the night bus, it isn't worth the risk of walking especially if you're travelling alone.

Reviewed by
Daniel W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, friendly, comfortable and quirky. Best night I've had for months. Highly recommend it.

Reviewed by
Steve R

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in Camberwell
Stayed for one night whilst in London to visit the poppies at the tower of london. Hotel was very quirky and had lots of special touches including jar of sweets and a cocktail due to the stay being haloween weekend. Chocolate in room as well as l'occtaine toiletries. Comfortable room with soft fluffy towels. Reception staff friendly and helpful they printed me some conformation sheets I needed for tickets I needed which was a big help. I would stay again if we decide to visit London in the future.

Reviewed by
Angela Fellows

From Bilston, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a chain hotel!
Very different indeed, striking decor in a lovely building inside, good bar and restaurant (Tapas) and very reasonable parking within 3 minutes walk, all 2 miles from Central London - and the best bit of all - the staff.

Reviewed by
Keith F

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
Excellent hotel, providing clean, comfortable accommodation.

Reviewed by
Dominic H

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next