No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Church Street Hotel

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
29-31 Camberwell Church Street , London, SE5 8TR
A Spanish-American Boutique hotel, infused with Vibrant Cubano hues, hand painted Mexicasa tile work, Colonialist furniture and iconic art. The Church Street Hotel is situated in Camberwell, offering a real downtown London life experience while still being within easy reach of London's tourist attractions. Energetic local Art scene, effervescent Night life, and wealth of local eateries nearby. London Eye,County Hall/Tate Galley,Royal Festival Hall,Brixton,Vauxhall,Oval venues nearby, while Kings College Hospital, an internationally recognised centre of Excellence is within 10 minutes walking distance.
Just beside the hotel is the Camberwell leisure centre, a newly refurbished state of the art Gym and Swimming pool with day passes available at the hotel reception desk.
Organic Continental breakfast is available at a supplementary £5.00 charge per person/night. Breakfast includes organic housemade bread, cereals, pastries, free-range eggs, jams and the hotel's own hot sauce. Locally sourced ingredients are used, often brought in fresh from Borough Market.

Picture of Church Street Hotel, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 53 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, definitely worth the money.
Can't fault the hotel or the staff, everything was clean and everybody I spoke to was helpful and friendly. The only thing that lets the hotel down is the area in which it is situated, which is no fault of the owners and so I didn't factor that into the review. If you intended to stay in the hotel or restaurant during the evening, then definitely ignore my point about the area. However, if you intend to spend some time around London town and expect you'll be arriving back late at night it may be worth getting a taxi or at the very least the night bus, it isn't worth the risk of walking especially if you're travelling alone.

Reviewed by
Daniel W

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, friendly, comfortable and quirky. Best night I've had for months. Highly recommend it.

Reviewed by
Steve R

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in Camberwell
Stayed for one night whilst in London to visit the poppies at the tower of london. Hotel was very quirky and had lots of special touches including jar of sweets and a cocktail due to the stay being haloween weekend. Chocolate in room as well as l'occtaine toiletries. Comfortable room with soft fluffy towels. Reception staff friendly and helpful they printed me some conformation sheets I needed for tickets I needed which was a big help. I would stay again if we decide to visit London in the future.

Reviewed by
Angela Fellows

From Bilston, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not a chain hotel!
Very different indeed, striking decor in a lovely building inside, good bar and restaurant (Tapas) and very reasonable parking within 3 minutes walk, all 2 miles from Central London - and the best bit of all - the staff.

Reviewed by
Keith F

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
Excellent hotel, providing clean, comfortable accommodation.

Reviewed by
Dominic H

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a gem
This little place is marvellous! My room was small and gorgeous, perfect for me alone. I imagine there are larger rooms for couples. The continental breakfast option was only a fiver (unheard of) and was worth much more - organic oats, local honey, large pastries etc. There is a large library of DVDs available to watch in the room and a lovely little bar area to congregate if you want to. Service was personal and considerate. I just want to tell everybody about this place! They even use L'Occitane toiletries and leave Green and Black's choc in your room

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Stevens

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sarah visits London
Truly lovely hotel. Bit of a walk from nearest tube but well worth it. Tapas and marguerita perfect.

Reviewed by
s clarke

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky hotel experience - worth a visit
The hotel looks nothing much from outside but once you enter the Spanish Mexican influence is everywhere. The religious imagery is everywhere from the reception to the communion bar in the basement. Nice cocktails! The stained glass with ancient bible scenes even on the front of the bar are superb. The staff are delightful and helpful. Quite the best hotel breakfast I've had anywhere.
On our stay we were a little unlucky that there were roadworks outside with traffic lights and emergency vehicles had to get through.
Perhaps ask for a room at the back? Air conditioning might have helped as opening the window was noisy.

Reviewed by
Ludovic M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Friday to Tuesday stay at the Church Street Hotel
Reception and catering staff were friendly and helpful. My room was comfortable for me, as a single person. And it was cleaned every day perfectly; and with little treats (a nice little bar of chocolate, plus, in the bathroom, little bottles of lotions) left daily. Mind you, I do understand the need of the hotel to charge £90 a night, which I assume is the same price charged for occupancy by couples. I realise this is necessary to cover costs and make a profit. As I wanted to get out and about I only had one evening meal at the hotel's restaurant (which also seemed popular with non-residents). It was excellent, and the head waiter was splendid and cheerful in introducing me to tapas; and I was glad to splash out a bit of cash on this. As a non-driver I found the 25 or so minute walk to the Oval tube station a reasonable choice for getting me on my way out and about in town.

Reviewed by
J Shaw

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A brilliant stay in London
A stay that cost me £125 for 1 night for a twin room including breakfast and a couple of drinks from the bar.
Worth every penny and more! The care and detail that has been put into the hotel is awesome. The personal touches, (chocolates, a notebook with a welcome message, bottled water) make this hotel one of the best I have stayed in for the price. Faultessly clean- all customer service exceptional- comfortable bed. No AC in room 16 but the fan was more than enough. Bit noisy outside at night, but we just shut the window and voila!
The breakfast in the downstairs restaurant- we had both the continental at £5 and the full english at around £9-10, which was delicious. The full english was one of the best I have ever had in terms of quality and presentation.
Will definitely stay again. Keep it up guys. A gem in the midst of a busy London street.

Reviewed by
Christo A

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next