No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Urban House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
20-21 New steine , Brighton, BN2 1PD
Welcome to Urban House.

We are a friendly independent B&B with a small intimate spa and our own bar.

We have a great location in fashionable Kemptown within sight of the sea and pier. We are a short walk Brighton town centre. Here you will find high street fashion, chic designer shops, Brighton's famous Lanes with an inexhaustible choice of bars and restaurants, galleries, exhibitions,theaters, Brighton pier,the unique Brighton Pavilion and much,much more...

Our rooms vary in size and quality and are priced accordingly, but all are ensuite and have flat screen tvs, hair dryers, tea & coffee facilities and there is free wifi.

The spa is ideally suited to couples but we also cater for small groups. We have a steam room, sauna, hydrotherapy bath and relaxation area together with three treatments rooms with fully qualified staff. Please note that there is a charge to use the spa its not included in the room price. (Please note that the spa is temporarily closed for refurbishment)
Picture of Urban House, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I had booked a single room for a 5 night stay. I was told on arrival that breakfast would be 8.30-10 am. As I was on business I would be out of the hotel by 8am at latest. There was no leeway with the times but I was offered a breakfast bag. I did not receive this on Monday morning, neither on tuesday morning. I was then advised that the information was not passed on from person to person. They provided me with a breakfast bag, at 8pm at night for the following morning - come the morning the muffin and croissant was stale, so I couldnt even eat it anyway.
The overall cleanliness was ok and someone cleaned my room every day, although I found it disgusting that they did not change my towels at all throughout the whole 5 night stay. The towels were visibly marked, but the cleaner continued to roll them up and leave them in the room.
As I had booked a single room I was expecting a small room - But a bed-sit is what I found. I was really disappointed with this - after looking at all the pictures on the internet of this hotel, not one did i find of such a small room. They highlight spa facilities - apparently out of action for a while., If you were looking for literally just a bed to get your head down for a couple of hours after a night out then possibly yes - if you are staying for a period of time, I was so uncomfortable after just 2 nights here.
Value for money - yes, but don't expect to get a 5 star room, I wouldn't rate this as a 2 star.. It was noisy, plus when that main outer front door is shut, your locked out - as I learnt one morning - No one at reception, or that answered the bell anyway. I was stuck outside for 30 minutes, luckily somebody needed their early morning nicotine fix.

Reviewed by
A Davies

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

right for our honeymoon
me and my wife stayed there for our honeymoon and well we cannot fault the staff they amazing and friendly and helpful. we had a few probs with our room, just the tv playing up and it being boiling but the manager came and changed them straight away. we just had a lovely time and was perfect for our honeymoon.

Reviewed by
G Serpant-Barrett

From Brandon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shall be returning
my fiancee and i stayed over for 6 night for her birthday and brighton mod weekender
we had the junior suite which was well spacious plenty of room ,and with the free standing bath in the bay window overlooking the sea was well nice..plenty of room for us both...the staff was nice and friendly and helpful...defo returning next yr for the mod weekender again

Reviewed by
andrew bellamy

From Skegness, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for small breaks!
The room was perfect for one night. It was clean and the pillows were very comfortable.
The bed squeaked everytime someone moved on it which made it very hard to sleep. As well as the sound of doors closing which sounded like someone was entering the room in the night!
However the ️b&b was perfect for one night!

Reviewed by
Naomi B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Weekend
This hotel was a pleasure to stay at. It was a 5 min walk to the pier. The room was big enough for two and always had hot water. The door handle could have done with some TLC as they were very loose. I would happly stay there again.

Reviewed by
Luke T

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My husband and my daughter suffered from itching maybe they were allergic to soap powder and that is what has put me off using the guest house again

Reviewed by
wendy boyle

From Jersey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money and the most welcoming
Made to feel very welcome , the host is Leo and his wife , they are beautiful couple and cant do enough for you , décor is a bit poor , however cleanliness and the Hosts attitude towards their guests make up for that , breakfast is lovely considering its included in price of the stay ,every thing from fresh fruit and coffee to cooked , I had a great weekend , and will be going back there without a shadow of a doubt

Reviewed by
john crawford

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheerful staff felt safe brilliant value for money perfect location

Reviewed by
j carr

From Newport Pagnell, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good friendly place to stay with lovely balcony and seafront view

Reviewed by
Jemima C

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unwelcoming and dirty
We booked this hotel as a nice break away from london for the weekend. We were expecting a lovely boutique hotel but this was certainly not the case. When we arrived we were treated as though we were an extreme inconvenience and when arriving in the room things were no better. The shower was broken, there was no wi fi in the room and no hair dryer (all said to be included in the room). Breakfast was ok - but nothing special. Toast and croissant were cold and cutlery, crockery, sugar bowls etc were all extremely dirty. On the plus side the other 2 members of staff we met were really lovely and extremely helpful it was just a shame that the hotel owner/manager was so rude - she obviously didn't enjoy welcoming guests into her hotel!

Reviewed by
Octavia Z

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next