No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Urban House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
20-21 New steine , Brighton, BN2 1PD
Welcome to Urban House.

We are a friendly independent B&B.

We have a great location in fashionable Kemptown within sight of the sea and pier. We are a short walk Brighton town centre. Here you will find high street fashion, chic designer shops, Brighton's famous Lanes with an inexhaustible choice of bars and restaurants, galleries, exhibitions,theaters, Brighton pier,the unique Brighton Pavilion and much,much more...

Our rooms vary in size and quality and are priced accordingly, but all are ensuite and have flat screen tvs, hair dryers, tea & coffee facilities and there is free wifi.

Picture of Urban House, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 75 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

urban house looks ok from the outside but the inside ! well, was very disappointing. The lock on the door to my room was dodgy! and did not look secure! Part of the rotting window frame in the bathroom was missing and unsafe! I tried to shut the window by pulling the handle and had to leave it ! because the rest of the window frame would of fell apart . The carpet it my room was very worn and FILTHY ! The bed matress was very uncomfortable and was covered in FILTHY stains. Paint peeling from walls and ceiling, latch on bedroom window was dodgy. I count myself extremely lucky ! that my stay was just for two nights. Definately would not stay at this accomodation again.

Reviewed by
T MAYDEW

From CREWE, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very low standards
If you consider yourself to hav any standards do not stay at this hotel, we complained about multiple things to the management and the only reply we got was basically you get what you pay for, the sad thing is alot of the issues we brought up where easily rectified but management just have a "don't care" attitude. My advise stay in a travellodge same price, much higher standard of room and facilities, would neither waste my money and stay here not advise anyone else too do so either

Reviewed by
Jodi B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly, the room was spacious, attention to details needed such as light bulbs,+ cleaniness
The accomodation was just basic, the bathroom needs updating, and a good clean. The room was rather dull and dark, needs a good makeover.

Reviewed by
june s

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay

Reviewed by
Les B

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Close to beach and nightlife
Friendly welcome and easy checkin, room small but had all what you needed, ideal location for the beach, shops, restaurants and nightlife.

Reviewed by
Grant H

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay in brighton
Our stay in Brighton was a pleasant one, hotel was comfy and clean. Staff were helpful, only downside is parking in Brighton, their is none unless you are willing to £25 a day!! But there are some web sites that you can rent people's car spaces for a fraction of the cost, well worth doing before you travel

Reviewed by
j orford

From Attleborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

*
*

Reviewed by
Bruce

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stop in New Steine
Good location. Staff pleasant. Breakfast OK.
Room small but OK and had all I needed - including shower cubicle and separate WC. Bed comfy and clean - nice white linen.
However - a few maintenance issues that spoiled it - the frontage of the building shabby and in need of painting - windows in my room rotten. Also bedroom carpet badly stained from spills. Sink in WC cracked.

Reviewed by
helen m

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a great stay
We were given a budget room and we discovered that there was no water running to the bathroom. We called reception and were upgraded with no fuss. Staff were helpful. Great location. Had everything we required. Had a great stay.

Reviewed by
C Brown

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stairs
if have a lift for the top room, will be must better

Reviewed by
In Hay C

From Clochester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next