No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Urban House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
20-21 New steine , Brighton, BN2 1PD
Welcome to Urban House.

We are a friendly independent B&B with a small intimate spa and our own bar.

We have a great location in fashionable Kemptown within sight of the sea and pier. We are a short walk Brighton town centre. Here you will find high street fashion, chic designer shops, Brighton's famous Lanes with an inexhaustible choice of bars and restaurants, galleries, exhibitions,theaters, Brighton pier,the unique Brighton Pavilion and much,much more...

Our rooms vary in size and quality and are priced accordingly, but all are ensuite and have flat screen tvs, hair dryers, tea & coffee facilities and there is free wifi.

The spa is ideally suited to couples but we also cater for small groups. We have a steam room, sauna, hydrotherapy bath and relaxation area together with three treatments rooms with fully qualified staff. Please note that there is a charge to use the spa its not included in the room price. (Please note that the spa is temporarily closed for refurbishment)
Picture of Urban House, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay

Reviewed by
Les B

From Enfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Close to beach and nightlife
Friendly welcome and easy checkin, room small but had all what you needed, ideal location for the beach, shops, restaurants and nightlife.

Reviewed by
Grant H

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay in brighton
Our stay in Brighton was a pleasant one, hotel was comfy and clean. Staff were helpful, only downside is parking in Brighton, their is none unless you are willing to £25 a day!! But there are some web sites that you can rent people's car spaces for a fraction of the cost, well worth doing before you travel

Reviewed by
j orford

From Attleborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

*
*

Reviewed by
Bruce

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stop in New Steine
Good location. Staff pleasant. Breakfast OK.
Room small but OK and had all I needed - including shower cubicle and separate WC. Bed comfy and clean - nice white linen.
However - a few maintenance issues that spoiled it - the frontage of the building shabby and in need of painting - windows in my room rotten. Also bedroom carpet badly stained from spills. Sink in WC cracked.

Reviewed by
helen m

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a great stay
We were given a budget room and we discovered that there was no water running to the bathroom. We called reception and were upgraded with no fuss. Staff were helpful. Great location. Had everything we required. Had a great stay.

Reviewed by
C Brown

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stairs
if have a lift for the top room, will be must better

Reviewed by
In Hay C

From Clochester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money
overall the room had its good and bad points. it is in a very good location and had a comfy bed, the staff were very friendly and after check out time they let us store our bags in the hotel while we went out shopping. however the toilet would not flush properly and there were a lot of flies buzzing around the room which was not very inviting, the boiler made a noise the whole time. Besides all this I would stay again because of the location and the room is good value for money.

Reviewed by
Catherine m

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Try somwhere else next time
The room was old, uncared for and un-maintaned. The shower was sad to say the least. The room had such a slant on the floor my wife kept rolling off the bed in her sleep. The basin plug was not attached to its chain, one of the basin tap tops was missing, the w.c seat was loose, the cistern took forever to fill. The window diddn't shut properly. Somebody entered our room when we weren't there moved the corner of the duvet over the bed and that's it (dont know why they went in there ?) No extra tea, coffee or milk was provided for the second day's stay. Flys in the room due to the amount of rubbish in the garden.

Reviewed by
glen parker

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
Was visiting Brighton to attend a concert and decided it would be better to stay the night, rather than trek back to London in the wee, small hours. Checked in at around 7pm and was greeted by a chap who was very friendly and welcoming. Sadly that's where the good parts ended. He 'upgraded' our ensuite to a larger room, to save us going to the top floor. The room was very basic and not clean. It hasn't seen a lick of paint or an update in several decades, the carpets were filthy and the windows were barely transparent. There was a big hole in the wall where it looked as though something heavy had been thrown at it (or someone had punched it?) and the bedroom smelt of stale smoke.The bed linen was at least clean and, if we hadn't been using the place as anything other than a place to crash for a few hours, I probably would've asked to move to a different room (or even hotel). The bathroom had a permanent, distinct whiff of urine and the shower attachment was broken, meaning you had to hold it to take a shower. We paid £50 for the room, and we didn't want to pay more for somewhere where we would only be for a few hours (having to leave at 6am). I guess you get what you pay for. Next time we'll look at hostel options in similar circumstances as they're far better value for money.

Reviewed by
Gavin H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next