No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Urban House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
20-21 New steine , Brighton, BN2 1PD
Welcome to Urban House.

We are a friendly independent B&B.

We have a great location in fashionable Kemptown within sight of the sea and pier. We are a short walk Brighton town centre. Here you will find high street fashion, chic designer shops, Brighton's famous Lanes with an inexhaustible choice of bars and restaurants, galleries, exhibitions,theaters, Brighton pier,the unique Brighton Pavilion and much,much more...

Our rooms vary in size and quality and are priced accordingly, but all are ensuite and have flat screen tvs, hair dryers, tea & coffee facilities and there is free wifi.

Picture of Urban House, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 59% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My husband and my daughter suffered from itching maybe they were allergic to soap powder and that is what has put me off using the guest house again

Reviewed by
wendy boyle

From Jersey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money and the most welcoming
Made to feel very welcome , the host is Leo and his wife , they are beautiful couple and cant do enough for you , décor is a bit poor , however cleanliness and the Hosts attitude towards their guests make up for that , breakfast is lovely considering its included in price of the stay ,every thing from fresh fruit and coffee to cooked , I had a great weekend , and will be going back there without a shadow of a doubt

Reviewed by
john crawford

From Hove, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheerful staff felt safe brilliant value for money perfect location

Reviewed by
j carr

From Newport Pagnell, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good friendly place to stay with lovely balcony and seafront view

Reviewed by
Jemima C

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unwelcoming and dirty
We booked this hotel as a nice break away from london for the weekend. We were expecting a lovely boutique hotel but this was certainly not the case. When we arrived we were treated as though we were an extreme inconvenience and when arriving in the room things were no better. The shower was broken, there was no wi fi in the room and no hair dryer (all said to be included in the room). Breakfast was ok - but nothing special. Toast and croissant were cold and cutlery, crockery, sugar bowls etc were all extremely dirty. On the plus side the other 2 members of staff we met were really lovely and extremely helpful it was just a shame that the hotel owner/manager was so rude - she obviously didn't enjoy welcoming guests into her hotel!

Reviewed by
Octavia Z

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would not recommend
Stood outside for 15 mins ringing the doorbell and calling reception before I was let in. Told receptionist I was about to go find another hotel, he did not respond or apologise but just wanted to take my payment.
The bathroom had no shower, just a rubbish attachment to the taps, and no shower curtain. There were no mirrors near any plug sockets, I had to take the big mirror off the wall and carry it across the room to do my hair. The wall-mounted TV was facing away from the bed and we couldn't turn it around. When we left in the morning, there was nobody at reception again so we just dropped the key and left.
Was cheap though, so I guess you get what you pay for!!

Reviewed by
E HALL

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good quality accomodation, not a travalodge
The owners were accomodating and allowed us to check in early. Parking is expensive outside but free in Hanover a short walk away. The hotel is wonky as youd expect in an old building. Rooms are well equiped with dvd and tv, hairdryer. Continental breakfast fine but not my cup of tea. Overall good.

Reviewed by
craig andrews

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reminded me of an Eastern Bloc hotel of 30 years ago.
Superb location let down by rooms that havent seen a paintbrush since the war.Cleanliness standards poor.

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was very spacious and a great value for money.

Reviewed by
julie P

From Welling, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming
We have stayed here a number of times and every time we receive a warm welcome,ideal location for shops,bars etc.would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
D TELFORD

From Wickford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next