No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Urban House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
20-21 New steine , Brighton, BN2 1PD
Welcome to Urban House.

We are a friendly independent B&B with a small intimate spa and our own bar.

We have a great location in fashionable Kemptown within sight of the sea and pier. We are a short walk Brighton town centre. Here you will find high street fashion, chic designer shops, Brighton's famous Lanes with an inexhaustible choice of bars and restaurants, galleries, exhibitions,theaters, Brighton pier,the unique Brighton Pavilion and much,much more...

Our rooms vary in size and quality and are priced accordingly, but all are ensuite and have flat screen tvs, hair dryers, tea & coffee facilities and there is free wifi.

The spa is ideally suited to couples but we also cater for small groups. We have a steam room, sauna, hydrotherapy bath and relaxation area together with three treatments rooms with fully qualified staff. Please note that there is a charge to use the spa its not included in the room price. (Please note that the spa is temporarily closed for refurbishment)
Picture of Urban House, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
56% recommended this accommodation to a friend 58% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would not recommend
Stood outside for 15 mins ringing the doorbell and calling reception before I was let in. Told receptionist I was about to go find another hotel, he did not respond or apologise but just wanted to take my payment.
The bathroom had no shower, just a rubbish attachment to the taps, and no shower curtain. There were no mirrors near any plug sockets, I had to take the big mirror off the wall and carry it across the room to do my hair. The wall-mounted TV was facing away from the bed and we couldn't turn it around. When we left in the morning, there was nobody at reception again so we just dropped the key and left.
Was cheap though, so I guess you get what you pay for!!

Reviewed by
E HALL

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good quality accomodation, not a travalodge
The owners were accomodating and allowed us to check in early. Parking is expensive outside but free in Hanover a short walk away. The hotel is wonky as youd expect in an old building. Rooms are well equiped with dvd and tv, hairdryer. Continental breakfast fine but not my cup of tea. Overall good.

Reviewed by
craig andrews

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reminded me of an Eastern Bloc hotel of 30 years ago.
Superb location let down by rooms that havent seen a paintbrush since the war.Cleanliness standards poor.

Reviewed by
Stephen M

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was very spacious and a great value for money.

Reviewed by
julie P

From Welling, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming
We have stayed here a number of times and every time we receive a warm welcome,ideal location for shops,bars etc.would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
D TELFORD

From Wickford, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location, pleasant place to stay
The guest house is on a quiet street and was very comfortable. The room was a bit dated but overall was more than adequate. Breakfast was served late but was properly done and the coffee was excellent.

Reviewed by
J White

From London, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel in great location
Room was big for a single room.

Reviewed by
gal m

From raanana, Israel
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, handy location
The staff were lovely at this BnB - I had a good stay whilst attending a convention. The room was fine and had everything you'd need. The location was handy for the pier and the Lanes. Was nice to be close to the waterfront.

Reviewed by
Emer B

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very friendly and the room was decorated very smartly. Excellent location for Brighton. Breakfast was nice change from a fry up. Bathroom was very small shower only and there was no toiletries which I found quite bizarre at a spa!

Reviewed by
dawn j

From Rye, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City break hotel
Nice and friendly staff, Rooms are decorated in a modern theme, Good value for money if you want a short stay and close to the bars and shops

Reviewed by
G Hill

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next