No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Griffin Guest House

Not Classified  Guest House Ratings explained
14 Madeira Place, Brighton, BN2 1TN
From quiet elegance to a hot night life, you will find the Griffin the ideal setting for a romantic getaway or a fun-filled stay at the UKs top seaside resort. Recently renovated, The Griffin offers clean modern accommodation, lodged in a charming building dating from 1780.
Picture of The Griffin Guest House, Brighton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great!
Lovely friendly guesthouse with great facilities and really nice atmosphere. Breakfast is fantastic!

Reviewed by
C Barbour

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely break...
....our room had been done to a high standard. The customer service was fantastic and very friendly i would definitely come back. THANK YOU!

Reviewed by
Charlie S

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay in Kemp Town
We stopped here for a short-notice night out in Brighton and can't recommend it enough. About 5 minutes after booking we got a call to say there was a slight problem as somehow we'd managed to double book a room, however we got a free upgrade to another double room which was perfect - great customer service! On arrival we were given a warm welcome, a map of the city and a number of recommendations for places to try/check out. We were then shown around the bar, coffee and tea-room, smoking area and helped up to our delightful suite.

Reviewed by
Iain C

From Southam, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome and amazing breakfast!
Very nice owners make the traveller feel at home immediately; and the breakfasts are Griffin-tastic! Room was well stocked with duvets/pillows/towels/shampoo etc. and very clean; a good selection of DVDs to borrow was a bonus. The strange layout of my single room took some getting used to (it is much cheaper than the larger rooms though, so good value for money).

Reviewed by
Antje L

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really comfortable and friendly accommodation
I stayed at the Griffin for 3 days at the beginning of February when attending a training course in Brighton. On arriving Kieran kindly helped me to find nearby parking and provided me with a parking permit for the duration of my stay. He assisted me with my luggage and made me feel very comfortable and welcome. I was given good information about places to eat and a map to find them. I booked the single room which I was informed was small prior to booking. Although a very small room - just big enough for a single bed and shower room, it was very clean and comfortable with a small clothes hanging space ( with iron and ironing board) and wall mounted tv. There was a room to make tea and coffee and complimentary biscuits and fruit, Kieran got some soya milk in especially for me.
Chris's cooked breakfast was excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend the Griffin.

Reviewed by
Amanda Spain

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb little boutique hotel
We stayed at the Griffin for two nights and have to say what a fantastic place in every respect. In work I stay away in hotels half the year and this stands out a mile above most. Stunning room, fantastic personal service and incredibly low rates. Will be staying again next time we're in Brighton.

Reviewed by
Paul G

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What happens.in Brighton
We had a fantastic time but didn't get out much . The room was nice and japaneesy with a view of the sea if you stood in the bay window . Lovely walk in shower and bouncy four poster . Charming and attentive hosts and breakfast to die for . Definitely will return .

Reviewed by
stephen h

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic little B and B!
Very nice place. Staff were very friendly and helpful if we needed anything at all. Rooms were lovely, spacious and extremely comfortable. Breakfasts were very tasty.

Reviewed by
J Warren

From Upminster, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Perfect Night at at Perfect Guest House
From the moment we arrived at the Griffin we loved it - perfect location close to the seafront, but in easy walking distance from the station (or on a convenient bus route) and to the plethora of shops, bars and restaurants that Brighton has to offer. Kieran gave us such a warm welcome at reception and offered us plenty of useful local knowledge. We immediately felt completely at home. Shelves of DVDs and CDs were offered should we feel like using them, although we were blessed with gorgeous weather even in December, so we spent most of the time out and about.
The guest house is clean and bright and beautifully decorated throughout, from the bar/dining area downstairs to the well stocked, communal self-serve tea room (lovely touches like little cakes and fresh fruit to help yourself to) and roof terrace, to our room, (Room 6), which was fantastic. I had booked the room last minute and hadn't really paid too much attention to the details as we just needed a place to stay for the night, but we were absolutely delighted when we walked in. On the front of the building with bay windows, a beautiful wooden floor, extremely comfortable and tasteful 4 poster bed with lovely crisp white linen, the room was huge. In addition to this, our bathroom was a massive shower area complete with magical lighting and a separate toilet. Along with the complimentary toiletries on our big towels was another nice touch, (you'll have to visit to find out what. . .), which set us up for a good day wandering around Brighton.
We came back to the room after sunset to warm up again, and for a cup of tea and a rest before a night out and we were just as thrilled to walk into it the second time. And same story when we came 'home' later that night.
After a great night sleep and a refreshing shower, we were presented with a most delicious and beautifully presented breakfast cooked by Chris, a generous serving to energise us for the day ahead, from a more than ample menu. We were sorry to have to leave at the end of our stay as it really had been perfect!
I can't fault anything about the Griffin and would highly recommend it to anyone! One thing which could possibly bother some people would be traffic noise from St James Street, but we had no problem with it, and again, Chris and Kieran have obviously considered this as complementary ear plugs are available!
Fantastic hosts and service, a beautiful home away from home, great location, and really thoughtful finishing touches. For us it really was a perfect night at a perfect guest house.

Reviewed by
jen l

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

GWM
Lovely kind people, charming place.

Reviewed by
G Maynard

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next