No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Hydro Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Mount Road , Eastbourne, BN20 7HZ
Set in award-winning gardens, Hydro Hotel features an outdoor pool, elegant restaurant and superb sea views across the English Channel. The hotel is a few metres from Eastbourne Seafront, just a 10-minute walk from Eastbourne Pier.

All bedrooms at Hydro have LCD flat screen TV with Freeview, Wi-Fi access and a seating area. All rooms feature tea/coffee facilities, modern ensuite facilities, hairdryer, and trouser press.
The Crystal Restaurant, which is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, serves classic British and French cuisine in the evening. The Conservatory Restaurant, which looks over the gardens and the sea, offers a delicious alternative menu for lunch and light snacks through the day. Guests can also enjoy afternoon tea in the many lounges.

Hydro Hotel has a hair and beauty salon, which offers a range of specialist treatments and therapies. On sunny days, guests can relax on the poolside terrace, which features sun loungers and parasols.

Just a 20-minute walk from Eastbourne centre and Eastbourne Railway Station, Hydro Hotel is a mile from the Arndale Shopping Centre. There is free on-site parking. Please note that our check out time is 10.30am.
Picture of The Hydro Hotel, Eastbourne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 40 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful room with seaview
A delightful single room with huge window overlooking the serene croquet lawn and calm blue grey sea, with the cliffs in the distance. Period feel to the room with high ceilings and classical lamp shades, lovely warm shower. Simple but perfectly judged. I noticed several generations of the same family in the breakfast room - there is something for everyone at The Hydro and it caters well for all age groups - good for large family gatherings as well as singletons.

Reviewed by
A House

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old world style and charm
Old school hotel but well maintained and a very enjoyable experience

Reviewed by
Richard Johnson

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Carolyne Rodgers

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay!!
We went for a few days break and from the moment we arrived until our departure we had a lovely time the service, food and our room we excellent

Reviewed by
C Walsh

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming helpful staff,lovely pool.
On the plus side the staff were very helpful and friendly and it's a lovely old style hotel with a lovely pool,putting and croquet.The breakfast was good and plenty to eat. It has a lovely situation a view and the parking good. I spent most of my time swimming and being near to the pool which I found really recharged the batteries. didn't want to leave!I really enjoyed being there.Minus points,small bedroom with tiny ensuite with a separate bath over the corridor. The curtains and carpet smelt a bit as if a deep clean was needed,there was a noisy wedding on site as it was a Sat night and the wifi automatically logged out every few minutes. These minus' apart from wedding noise would all be easily fixable .

Reviewed by
Helen C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay
Had a very nice stay at the hotel, lots of relaxing areas and conservatory with views of the sea. A good bedroom and comfy bed. Enjoyed the breakfasts however they were not very warm on 3 mornings. We would stay again as the hotel also had a car park

Reviewed by
Jane E

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good, caring Hotel for over 70's
Spotlessly clean, service excellent from most staff. Had the appearance of a high grade retirement home. Small old fashioned lift, comfortable old chairs in lounges etc.,
Jacket and tie expected for Dinner, and an old fashioned menu, so we ate in the conservatory instead. Lovely gardens and small swimming poo, but this was not heated when I tried it on the Saturday afternoon, so came straight out.
Very disappointed in the room we paid £190 per night for. It had a side view of the sea, but looking straight ahead we were facing a high block of flats. In urgent need of modernisation, small double bed, tiny TV, lamp shades, and marked furniture. Have taken many pictures of it.
Car Park was crowded, unable to get out of both sides of car after finding last space. A long way from the pier and seafront facilities. Took us 45 mins, although others say that it only takes 10mins!!! They must have found a short cut.
We liked the old fashioned feel to the Hotel and the way staff treated the older clients. We loved the breakfast, couldn't beat the quality of food or service anywhere.
We understand that many people love this Hotel and spend lots of time there, but it was not for us. Although only a 3*, it pretended to be 5* and the room was far too expensive compared to the many Hotels I have stayed in during my professional role as an external examiner for University courses and for pleasure.

Reviewed by
C McHale

From Sandown, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spacious and genteel
I loved this hotel. Lovely spacious public areas and an atmosphere of gentility.

Reviewed by
Michael Hughes

From Minster, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Calm, quiet and convenient
Situated in a peaceful area of Eastbourne and only a short pleasant walk along the seafront into town this little haven of tranquility was most enjoyable.

Reviewed by
Robert Malcolm Jemison

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

45th Wedding Anniversary.
Customer service would have been excellent except when we asked where the bus stopped for Brighton we were told the wrong place "outside the Grand" but it was at the Pier. Wasted nearly half-hour before we realised.
Good location for the room but it was a bit on the small side.
The food at breakfast was good with a wide choice. Saturday dinner was disappointing - my wife had the beef medallions but it was over-cooked and quite tough; I must admit that I have never seen a large piece of beef folded in half served as medallions before. Perhaps this is a local speciality. My fillet of beef however was excellent and cooked to perfection.

Reviewed by
john m

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next