No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Marlin Apartments - Empire Square

4Self Classified Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
34 Long Lane , LONDON, SE1 4NH
Situated at London Bridge, just minutes from London’s financial heart, this landmark development provides unrivalled access to London’s city centre and it’s most inspiring attractions. These cutting edge apartments fuse London’s cosmopolitan culture with award winning contemporary design, encompassing a vast internal courtyard and private landscaped gardens. Modern furnishings complement the large living space in each apartment, with many offering striking views across London. The emphasis is on light and space, with most apartments boasting large scenic windows and floor-to-ceiling glazing. A 24-hour concierge operates on site and many extra services are available, such as next day dry cleaning, car parking and access to an on-site Soho Gym, Supermarket and Creche. Parking must be secured prior to arrival and costs £15 per night. Twin bedding option available subject to availability at an extra £30.
Picture of Marlin Apartments - Empire Square, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real find!
An apartmant rather than a hotel was a first for us in London and for our 2 day mini-break this venue proved an excellent choice. We especially liked the location close to Borough tube station which was quiet but convenient for easy access to both local places of interest (Borough Market, The Shard, The Clink and the South Bank) and to the wider London offerings by Tube or bus.
The apartment was spacious, spotlessly clean and very light from the large windows which, in our case, looked out onto a well maintained, central green space. The apartment was fully equipped with an open plan living/kitchen area and separate bathroom and bedroom off an entrance lobby. The lift to all floors worked speedliy every time and the concierge service was friendly and efficient. There were numerous eating places of all price ranges close by in Borough High Street and a Tesco Express right next to the apartment building for purchasing any requirements for eating in, which we did for breakfast and one evening meal (a great cost saver if you are on a budget!). The furnishings were of a high quality with a comfortable bed, sofa and easy chair, plenty of storage space and a dining table with chairs as well as lamps and occasional side/coffee tables. The kitchen was fully fitted, above and beyond the standard we needed for a short break and despite that complimentary tea/coffee/milk was provided as well as toileteries. Everything worked except the rather old TV but this was fixed as soon as we asked and we learned in discussion with the concierge that there were plans to replace all the TVs and to introduce sofa beds in the near future. We found it excellent value for money compared to other places we have stayed in and would definitely go there again. A real find!

Reviewed by
Caroline S

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Arrived late, after 10pm but a very friendly and helpful man on the desk who advised we'd been upgraded to a one bed appartment. Check in was relatively simple but be prepared (as advised in advance) that £200 is held in reserve in the event that damages are incurred. The appartment was spotlessly clean and we enjoyed a very quite and comfortable night. Complimentary Tea and Coffee is provided but for anything else there is a Tesco store next door. The nearest pub is about 3 minutes walk as is the closest underground station. All in all a good location and an excellent accomodation.

Reviewed by
J Wells

From Redruth, England
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very spacious accommodation
Would stay again.

Reviewed by
Victoria M

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value
A great apartment in a good location. Well maintained and laid out. Much better than a small London hotel room

Reviewed by
Marion B

From Ulverston, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spacious rooms, well maintained
I loved the apartment. It came with a fully equiped kitchen, with cultlery, pots, pans, cultery, basic tea and coffee (but no tea strainer for the tea pot), dishwasher, washing machine, oven, hob, microwave, a large fridge/freezer and granite worktops. Well presented and clean with a pleasant view onto a courtyard.

Reviewed by
S Wheeler

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impersonal, unfriendly front-line staff, would not return.
Not a happy place.
Front line staff seem unhappy in their jobs. Instead of offering a welcome our greeting on our arrival at Empire Square was to be given a set of rules, and a £200 holding deposit requested in case we caused damage. So, I was surprised to find that the first apartment we were offered had cigarette burns in the carpet and a rather nasty looking stain in the bedroom curtains.
We were offered another, smaller apartment in it's place which, to be fair was comfortable, though I can't imagine anybody being happy if paying full price.
Late check out is charged at £30 for an extra hour and a half.
My experience of Marlin apartments at Empire square was further tainted when trying to pay cash for our late check out. Apparently, they expect credit card payment as they do not hold any change. After some deliberation one of the receptionists went next door to Tesco to ask them to split a £20 note. This was very unprofessional, and we were made to feel 'difficult' for wanting to use cash for the extra payment.
A smile and a welcome costs nothing, but seems too much for the staff here.
On leaving I spoke to a man who was about to check in for business. I said to him how unfriendly the staff were. His response? " I know, they're terrible".

Reviewed by
anne tasker

From Tunbridge Wells, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great
Felt very at home. Would have stayed for longer if I could

Reviewed by
Stuart Parker

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great apartment in the heart of the City
Had a great stay in a lovely apartment, free wifi, great bathroom and bedroom, right next to Borough Market. Morning run from Tower Bridge to Westminster the perfect wake up. Top location.

Reviewed by
Steve S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Modern Apartment Close To Tower Bridge
A truly gorgeous, modern and stylish apartment. Fully equiped with every mod com. We enjoyed our stay here as it was in a convenient location near to the tower. Five star accommodation at a very affordable price. We will definately be staying here again.

Reviewed by
Michelle C

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we needed
Boy working late so appt was great option to spend some time together before work the next morning. Very nice and has all you need

Reviewed by
David W

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next