Reviews - The Riverhill Hotel


19 TALBOT ROAD, Birkenhead, Merseyside, CH43 2HJ

Price From 148.56 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (15)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • N Chestnutt

  • September 2015

The Riverhill Hotel

Close (2-3miles) to the Birkenhead ferry.

Arrived late in evening. Convenient car parking. Hotel & environs well maintained on the small bit that we experienced. Good quality comfortable bed. Very clean bathroom although the extractor fan was not working. Did not take breakfast. Did not really explore the hotel extensively. Staff friendly and attentive.

  • Kirsty P

  • June 2015

Quick stopover

The accommodation was clean and tidy.

The room was pleasant and clean. Unfortunately one of the twin beds had an enormous dip in the mattress which disturbed my daughter's sleep. The breakfast was lovely but expensive. The staff were polite but did not offer any help with my big suitcase, the room was two flights of stairs away at the top of the building in the eves. The room had a selection of snacks and tea /coffee and water which was welcome after a long journey and late arrival.

  • Nick A

  • April 2015

Warm friendly welcoming

The whole experience of staying at this hotel from booking in, liasingwith the staff and the food are second to none, although only a 3star, this gives you a feeling that are staying with family and friends at their own house, a short cab ride into Liverpool town centre is ideal to get away from the hustle and bustle, will definitely stay again next year!

  • Agnieszka W

  • February 2015

Like it!

Great peaceful place.

  • Chris G

  • January 2015

Stayed new years eve and upgraded to bridal suite.

Excellent stay, great room and very comfortable bar and restaurant


  • January 2015

We found the customer service from the reception staff to be excellent.

They dealt with pre-arrival enquiries in a very efficient manner. They were also attentive and helpful during our stay. The size and cleanliness of the room were very good but two light bulbs were not working and we were not able to operate the shower. At breakfast the senior waiter(?)asked about our satisfaction with our room and we mentioned the shower. He insisted on taking our room key to test the shower. He reported back the shower did work and implied it was our inability to master it. Although there were not many guests in the dining room we still felt this to be a public belittling and embarrassing experience. May we suggest a set of instructions in the bathrooms. The breakfast was not of the quality we would have expected. We realise that at the time of our visit the hotel was catering for many Christmas diners and this may have impacted on breakfast service. The breakfast experience has put us off staying again.

  • Anne S

  • November 2014

Lovely people, location but room for improvement

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

Restaurant quite cosy- I could hear everyone's good without being over fussy

The room was lovely, fabulous bathroom which looked very new- may be the reason there was no where to put things in the shower, and no where to hang toilet roll

My room(23) was in the ground floor near the entrance. It was very noisy, from people coming in and out, leaving the bar etc. The room was too warm so I opened the window, I then had to close it as people were standing outside smoking

  • Donna Whitaker

  • November 2014


Great accomodation.

Centrally located. Comfortable bed.

  • Andrew O

  • August 2014

Good room let down slightly by bathroom

Large attractive room but bathroom not as good.

Shower not working, toilet flush temperamental and grout missing from floor tiles. Not a problem getting it sorted. Very good breakfast.

  • Valerie W

  • August 2014

Comfortable hotel with lovely staff

I have stayed here many times when visiting family locally both alone and as part of a couple, and it never disappoints.

Staff are friendly and helpful and when travelling as a lone female, as this time, I always feel completely safe and secure. The beds are very comfortable for a good nights sleep and the freshly cooked breakfast is excellent.