The Heart In Hand

3

The Heart In Hand, 43 High Street, Blunsdon, Swindon, SN26 7AG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (31)

94% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Tyler

  • April 2015

The Heart In Hand

A very nice place to stay clean and very friendly and the food is very good all home cooked.

  • David E

  • November 2014

A little gem!

Bright, cheerful, welcoming; the sort of place that makes you want to eat there.

Spotlessly clean and comfortable throughout with charming decor. Breakfast excellent.

A place to go back to again and again.

  • Robert T

  • November 2014

Pleasant Find

Old Country pub but very comfortable accommodation, good food and drink, a nice atmosphere and friendly hosts/staff.

Closed from 3:30 to 5:30pm so don't try to get in between those hours.

  • Lindsey P

  • November 2014

Good value

Traditional welcoming pub with basic but spotlessly clean accommodation.

Very good cooked breakfast but could do with offering some fresh fruit, yoghurt, muesli etc.. We had home cooked chicken curry for our evening meal which was really substantial, although a little hot for my taste, I think it would be helpful to give an indication of the level of spice on the menu. Just twenty minutes drive from Swindon.

  • Graham Lyon

  • October 2014

Good B & B and very reasonable

  • Jim M

  • October 2014

Very good overnight stay

This must be one of the best places to stay in the area.

Good room, good food and comfortable.

  • Ian M

  • October 2014

The experience was very pleasant.

Landlord was friendly and helpful, bedding crisp, mattress firm and comfortable, facilities very good, all the usual amenities in the room. Bar / breakfast area homely and inviting - evening dinner enjoyable, lovely breakfast and excellent value for money which will draw repeat guest business for sure. Thank you.

  • Michael Hanson

  • September 2014

Great Value for Money

Very simple if you are looking for accomodation in the Swindon area you will not get better for the money you will pay.

Freindly Staff, Good Real Ales, Clean comfortable rooms and very good value for money. What more can you ask for?

  • J H

  • September 2014

Heart in Hand - best stay in Swindon area

I've been working in Swindon nearly a year, staying overnight 1 or 2 days a week.

Used over 20 different hotels / guesthouses / pubs, all good in their own ways, but this one is the best overall I have found. Reasonable price, clean comfortable spacious rooms with ensuite and drink making facilities and TV - what you would expect, but then add to that excellent low priced food, very friendly pub with well kept beer, faultless service, helpful landlord, welcoming atmosphere, not too noisey. Great!!!

  • David S

  • September 2014

Excellent Value for Money

The Heart in Hand is a traditional pub in many ways but that should be seen as a plus.

The decor is very traditional, I suspect the bar has been in place for many decades. Though the room I stayed in was a more modern cottagey feel but it had all you want and need. Comfy bed ,TV, biscuits (lol). It is pub food but much better quality and larger portions than the usual Beefeaters and so on I usually eat at. If you like Real Ale then enjoy three beers all of which were good quality. There is a car park and some on street parking. The pub closes during the afternoon but a quick phone call lets you in the back way. Cons. None that would stop me going back but its fair to say that a little more maintenance and perhaps thought when decorating would help. Examples being the loo roll holder had either been replaced or refitted but the old holes were still on show and the door frame to the en-suite had not been 'knotted' and so now all the knots show through. Also because the rooms are above the bar there will be some noise, the landlord does have a loud voice and likes the sound of it, so if you are sensitive to sound you might like to stay in the bar until closing. Overall this place represents very good value for money and if you like places that have character and atmosphere then stay a night here, there is always the Premier Inn or the Blunsdon House Hotel just up the road if you don't like it.