No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Galway Guest House

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
7 Abbotsbury Road, Weymouth, DT40AD
We are a family run Guest House,10 minutes walk from one of the best sandy beaches in England.Ideal for exploring the Jurassic Coast of Dorset.
We cater for everyone and always give our undivided attention to our customers.
Evelyns big breakfast will see you through the day and we have recently refurbished our Family Rooms with castle-shaped bunk beds.
Dave is always happy to help you out with a bit of local knowledge and if you have no transport we can arrange to pick you up from the station or coach stop.
You can leave the car and within 10 minutes walk you can be sitting on the beach,shopping, or going to restaurants and nightclubs.We are handy for fishing trips,boating and nature walks.
With us you are one of the family and our motto is "If you are not happy then we are not happy"
Picture of Galway Guest House, Weymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

p;re-holiday stay
size of room adequate, needs u-dating, skirting boards dusty! quality of breakfast good, host helpful.

Reviewed by
Jill P

From Llantwit Major, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very small room, bed + 2sqm, very little roof window, a bit smelly.

ManagementResponse

In response to the review, we offered this client a larger room but he wanted to pay the same price. £30 per night is reasonable for a single room in Weymouth and we even found safe storage for his rented bicycle. He would have been hard pressed to find any single room in Weymouth at this time of year. The room in question has been successfully rented out every year for the last 13 years and I suggest that he pay premium prices if he requires a premium room.

Reviewed by
Markus N

From 1140 Vienna, Austria
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay
not a good start to my holiday, place needs updating, host helpful, skirting boards needed painting ,looked dusty good breakfast

Reviewed by
Jill P

From Llantwit Major, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awful
A room so bewildering small. Possibly 6 feet by 7. And a sloping roof. No brekky before 9am. Avoid.

Reviewed by
Ian M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic :)
Friendly and a very warm welcome, very attentive, the room was wonderful, the kids loved the castle bunk beds and the ensuite was an added bonus, I would definitely recommend the Galway Guest House

Reviewed by
C De Blasio

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient location and welcoming owners
We stayed here for one night over the bank holiday weekend, not much availability elsewhere as we booked last minute. On arrival the owners were welcoming and showed us where to park. The accommodation is ideally located for easy access to the town centre. The room was adequate for our stay and kids bunks were cleverly designed.

Reviewed by
Jon S

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly
Nice stay very good food friendly and comfortable.

Reviewed by
A Bush

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Galway Guesthouse
Very welcoming. Dave and Lyn go out of their way to make sure you are happy and settled would definitely look there before staying anywhere else in Weymouth.

Reviewed by
simon m

From keynsham, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great host's
The host's are very accommodating, the breakfast ample. We appreciate that the Galway is also a home, but in our opinion, not suitable as a guest house. We have never had an en-suite before with the shower in a cupboard (separate toilet alongside a locked storage cupboard), this was located between the bedroom door and secondary entrance door. The premises are clean and tidy, but sorry, just not for us and we feel it is also overpriced.

Reviewed by
R Betteridge

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bit of a mixed bag
We stayed here with our 3 children mainly because of the decent looking family room, and proximity to town centre. The best part about the accommodation was the castle-like bunk beds, which our kids loved. The staff we met were friendly too.
On the downsides, the area is quite a rough part of town, on a main road which was noisy. There was also a plumbing problem with the heating system which made a loud noise for approx 15 minutes at around 11pm and woke us up. The ensuite shower was electric and varied from scalding hot to freezing cold with seemingly no logic, not safe for children I wouldn't allow them to use it, and there was no bath.
At £120 per night, I couldn't recommend this hotel unfortunately.

Reviewed by
Justin L

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next