No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Mount Pleasant Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
50 Belle Vue Terrace, , , Great Malvern, WR14 4PZ
The Mount Pleasant Hotel is a family run hotel that provides a relaxed, friendly country house atmosphere yet provides high standards of facilities and service tailored by its staff for its guests. The hotel occupies a beautiful Georgian building right in the centre of Malvern overlooking the Priory Church with direct access to the hills. Many of the public rooms and bedrooms overlook a stunning view of the Malvern Priory and eastwards over the Vale of Evesham towards the Cotswolds. Our 14 individually decorated ensuite bedrooms accommodate 27 guests. Family rooms sleeping 2 adults and 2 children are available as well as double, twin and single rooms. Our bedrooms are spacious and many are furnished with original antique furniture in keeping with the Georgian building. The hotel offers a bar and restaurant plus a restaurant available for private hire and there are also 3 rooms available for meetings, conferences and functions.
Picture of The Mount Pleasant Hotel, Great Malvern at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rip off unbelievable

Reviewed by
Nigel B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unacceptable quality of accommodation
I have never done this before but because of the totally unacceptable quality of the accommodation and lack of concern from staff and management I feel I have no option but to enter my comments. The room was extremely shabby with a chipped wash hand basin, mouldy discoloured sealant around the shower base, unhygienic shower curtain, stain on the carpet and broken chest of drawers propped up with a piece if wood. I spoke to two separate staff members throughout my stay with no response from management, phoned the following week (again with no response from management) and put my complaint in an email. The hotel management have not had the courtesy to respond in any way whatsoever. I feel there is a total lack if concern for customer satisfaction. An absolutely disgusting showing for a hotel listed with three stars.

Reviewed by
Kate Carey

From Edinburgh, Scotland
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A relaxing and friendly hotel with spectacular views
In arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome. The staff were friendly and helpful and we felt at ease straight away. The food was excellent and the views from our room were spectacular. The room was spacious and although a little dated, all faculties were catered for and fitted with the character and charm of the hotel. We would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
D Braiden

From Fairford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not going again!
We arrived at 10pm, I had called ahead to say we would arrive at that time, there was no one at reception, once we found someone who could book us in we were asked to pay up front and shown to a very dated, hot room with broken blinds and a view over some very shanty looking roofs and an old fire escape (at least I hope it was old) that would have killed you had you stepped on it. The room was clean and the bed comfy, the furniture was second rate and shabby. The TV worked after a fashion and then pixelated (due to atmospherics). so we had to resort to our IPADs. Breakfast each morning was a fiasco. with the waiter shouting across the room "Does anyone want toast!" There were no menus the first day, there was never any condiments unless you asked and because the gentleman seldom came to the table he couldn't remember who had ordered what! I am reminded of Fawlty Towers and the only thing lacking was Basil and Sybil showing up. We certainly had a Manuel! Checking out was even funnier as the couple prior to us were being given a refund by someone who couldn't work the card machine without his mate getting involved for a large bar bill they had not had. We gave our key back and couldn't leave fast enough. We won't stay here again.

Reviewed by
Renata Fearns

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surly Manange
Food terrible

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel has good potential and is well-situated in the centre of the town. The decor was extremely shabby, however, and the whole place is in need of a good spruce up. Staff were distracted and inattentive, both on reception when we arrived, when serving breakfast in the morning and also on our departure and this left us feeling not valued as guests. The whole experience could so easily have been better had staff paid a little more attention to the customer care. The breakfast (full English) was served on a dessert plate and was, therefore, smaller in quantity than expected, though the quality was quite good. Less butter was provided than was needed and we were told to ask for more if we needed it and tea and coffee in the room were limited to one sachet per guest. These tiny cost savings on the part of the hotel had a big impact on the experience as a whole as no-one likes to be so restricted when on a holiday or short break. One final disappointment was the fact that the picture we were shown when making the booking was of a wonderful four poster bed with canopy. The bed we slept in was not the bed shown and fell short of our anticipation. I had booked the trip as a surprise for my Wife`s birthday and had informed her we would have a four poster ! I had no opportunity to challenge the situation as we arrived (by prior arrangement) at 10 p.m. after attending Cheltenham races and we were asked to pay for the room immediately we arrived (which I was rather taken aback by), so by the time we realised the bed situation, it was too late to do anything about it. I have commented that we would stay again at the hotel, but there would need to be improvements made to the factors above in order for us to do so and we would want to be afforded the accommodation we had anticipated.

Reviewed by
Paul C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality of bedroom
The location is excellent, sadly the accommodation requires major TLC, especially the bedrooms, although we have been informed this is underway, we will see.

Reviewed by
P Smith

From Gravesend, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pay for what you get
It did it's job, great location, keen and attentive staff, but quite basic accommodation.

Reviewed by
J Hyatt

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Run down and shabby but comfortable, great staff, quiet room at rear of building. Good location in Malvern.

Reviewed by
Barry M

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little bit tired
Some of the rooms have great views across the Severn Valley but the bathrooms could really do with a face-lift.
I have not found anywhere better in the Malvern area.

Reviewed by
David H

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next