Reviews - The Cumberland Hotel


East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth, BH1 3AF

Price From 115.37 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (52)

96% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Tracey M

  • November 2015

Lovely Hotel, Lovely Friendly People

We only stayed one night, to see Paul Weller in concert at the BIC but wish we had had more time at the hotel.

Lovely Hotel with very friendly and accommodating hotel staff, both at reception and in the bar/restaurant. Our room had a balcony overlooking the sea which was great and the room was clean and well decorated.

  • Tim R

  • November 2015

The Cumberland Hotel

Nice big room with a sea view and balcony

  • David R

  • September 2015

conference delegate

Good position on East Cliff with pleasant walk to Conference Centre

  • Gerrard M

  • September 2015

Lovely hotel and room staff very accommodating and friendly

The only thing I would say is I thought the breakfast was a little expensive but otherwise had a good stay and would go again

  • C Corrigan

  • August 2015

The Cumberland Hotel

Lovely guys at reception was a great help with providing us information on where to go for dinner on our night out.

We took his advice and had a lovely meal at turtle bay!

  • T Barratt-mills

  • July 2015

Cumberland stay with my mum

I had stayed at the hotel previously but did not remember it as being quite this good.

We only stayed one night but it absolutely fabulous. The staff were really friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The restaurant and bar were reasonable and I couldn't fault the food or service. I would definitely recommend it and my mum is looking to go back with her friend later in the year.

Thank you

  • Laura W

  • June 2015

Breakfast service

The hotel is located on East Cliff with an amazing view of the water.

However, many rooms are facing inwards towards a yard and into other rooms. You would need to specify a sea or inland view if you wanted one. Rooms are average quality for the price. The quality of food served for the buffet breakfast was good. However, tea is 'served to table' and I didn't get mine until I'd pretty much finished what I was eating. The waitress was focusing on pouring second servings of coffee to people almost finished rather than taking the tea pots on her tray to people who had nothing. Could be resolved with a simple change to process.


  • April 2015

Spring Stay

The hotel was part of Oceana which had two other hotels, which we knew of, next door.

They had a spa and swimming pool. We didn't use the spa, but did use the pool when we were informed that there was a jacuzzi available. However, there wasn't. The only thing we could see was an area which the jacuzzi used to be in. The pool itself was fairly decent, but the area was dilapidated and the water had a layer of something (which we assumed was skin). It made us want out of the pool fairly quickly.

The service was fairly good. They attempted to resolve any issue we had promptly. The general staff were more helpful than the management, though. Our lights kept going out and we were told it was something we were plugging in to the sockets - I didn't know we weren't allowed to use the sockets. One manager was abrupt by telling us they sorted the problem while we were out (which is fair because they probably did), but when we came back, the lights still weren't working. Our WiFi was very sketchy too. It worked fine downstairs in the lobby, but up on the fourth floor was where we struggled to connect. We tried using all the devices we had, but it never seemed to identify the connection. The staff clearly didn't believe us when we told them so, but we were lucky to have our data at hand.

The breakfast was lovely, and the staff were friendly. Bedroom was in a decent state, although it could do with updating in certain areas.

  • Amanda Addo

  • April 2015

This was an excellent value stay as part of a business trip to Bournemouth. Great room and breakfast

What a super find.

Delightful location with views and a fab pool and bar area for that post business moment. Fine customer service and care. Everything you need to enjoy a stay. Excellent hotel would use again!

  • J Stubbs

  • April 2015

Short break

Stayed at the Cumberland for a two night break on 7th April on a bed and breakfast basis.

Great position on the seafront, only a short walk to the town centre. We liked Bournemouth very much the beach and esplanade were lovely. The hotel was good but slightly disappointed with our room it was very bare and impersonal - no character. Reminded me of a Travel Lodge!!. Breakfasts were fine as expected. Might go there again but lots of choice in Bournemouth.