No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cumberland Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
East Overcliff Drive , Bournemouth, BH1 3AF
Located directly on the sea front overlooking Bournemouth bay The Cumberland, Bournemouth is a 3 star delux hotel in Bournemouth. Awarded best value for money, Awarded 'Best Large Hotel' 2013, 2011 and 2009 at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, it is now recognised as one of the South Coasts most fashionable and unique properties after several years of major investments. Situated on the prestigious East Cliff, a dramatic coastal resort that's smart, stunning and full of unique personality - overlooking miles of golden sandy beaches, The Cumberland Bournemouth resembles one of Miami's great Art Deco hotels of Ocean Drive.

The hotel boasts an excellent reputation for outstanding cuisine and offers a number of dining options. The Mirabelle Restaurant serves superb chef driven food with local fresh produce whilst the double AA Rosette awarded Ventana Grand Café provides a more intimate brasserie style dining. Continental and full English buffet breakfast is served daily and breakfast to go for early birds is also available.

Located within the Oceana Resort is the Oceana Day Spa at Cliffeside, an Asian inspired Treatment and Beauty Spa open daily that offers wellbeing and luxury. Also located on site at Suncliff is Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Mini Gym and Squash Courts. Outdoor Pools are also located within resorts along with 4 Restaurants and 4 Bars and a Costa Coffee Shop

During warmer months the large poolside Lido deck is unrivalled for drinks and food al fresco all day and night or should you wish to take a swim the large pool.

Oceana Hotels reserve the right to pre-authorise credit cards prior to arrival. In addition, please note that different terms and conditions apply for groups, it is recommended to contact the hotel direct for further information before booking.
Picture of The Cumberland Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Cumberland Hotel
The only Thing the rooms were very warm and there wasn't a way to turn the heating down but everything else was fine

Reviewed by
SALLY C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cumberland!
Very good customer service from the moment I arrived to I left. Room was good for the money, had a joining door in the room which made other guests seem very loud and I would assume like wise!
Overall great hotel and will defiantly stay again!

Reviewed by
Lewis B

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
Room was a little small and noisy but other than that excellent facilities, very clean and good service. Parking was very tight with not enough spaces.

Reviewed by
G Fielding

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
The hotel was a lovely clean environment and the rooms and were very well kept. Would definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
George T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel, excellent service, excellent staff.

Reviewed by
N Sparrow

From Spain
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really Nice
Overall a good, clean, friendly hotel. Breakfast was plentiful, shame about the weather but cant blame that on the hotel. This place would be lovely in season.. The staff were lovely couldn't of been more helpful. would definitely recommend as there are a lot of terrible hotels in bournemouth and this isn.t one of them!!

Reviewed by
c smith

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend End Dad
Perfect hotel for the weekend Dad. Friendly staff, clean room, good facilities and great location.

Reviewed by
Chris L

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel in excellent location.
Very welcoming staff throughout. 1920's decor well done especially in restaurant and lounge area. Offered a sea view room with terrace at special rate which we accepted. However, after a sleepless first night on a very hard bed, I asked for a mattress topper next morning. The receptionist was extremely helpful and we had a 4" topper on our bed for the second night which did the trick! Ate both nights of our stay in the bistro restaurant because we enjoyed it so much. Lovely quiet location within easy walking distance to Bournemouth and Boscombe. Superb views overlooking the bay.

Reviewed by
Sharon Brattle

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Art Deco Delight
Good value hotel with excellent service and very good food in Ventana. Sister hotels do offer indoor pool and gym but these are small. Outdoor pool very good and we used this in excellent September weather. Extended our stay as we were enjoying the good weather and hotel.

Reviewed by
Geoffrey T

From Rothwell, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at The Cumberland Hotel
Staff in all departments pleasant, helpful and efficient. Room on the small side for a double room, but we enjoyed our stay at The Cumberland very much and would certainly stay there again.

Reviewed by
David T

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next