No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cumberland Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
East Overcliff Drive , Bournemouth, BH1 3AF
Located directly on the sea front overlooking Bournemouth bay The Cumberland, Bournemouth is a 3 star delux hotel in Bournemouth. Awarded best value for money, Awarded 'Best Large Hotel' 2013, 2011 and 2009 at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, it is now recognised as one of the South Coasts most fashionable and unique properties after several years of major investments. Situated on the prestigious East Cliff, a dramatic coastal resort that's smart, stunning and full of unique personality - overlooking miles of golden sandy beaches, The Cumberland Bournemouth resembles one of Miami's great Art Deco hotels of Ocean Drive.

The hotel boasts an excellent reputation for outstanding cuisine and offers a number of dining options. The Mirabelle Restaurant serves superb chef driven food with local fresh produce whilst the double AA Rosette awarded Ventana Grand Café provides a more intimate brasserie style dining. Continental and full English buffet breakfast is served daily and breakfast to go for early birds is also available.

Located within the Oceana Resort is the Oceana Day Spa at Cliffeside, an Asian inspired Treatment and Beauty Spa open daily that offers wellbeing and luxury. Also located on site at Suncliff is Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Mini Gym and Squash Courts. Outdoor Pools are also located within resorts along with 4 Restaurants and 4 Bars and a Costa Coffee Shop

During warmer months the large poolside Lido deck is unrivalled for drinks and food al fresco all day and night or should you wish to take a swim the large pool.

Oceana Hotels reserve the right to pre-authorise credit cards prior to arrival. In addition, please note that different terms and conditions apply for groups, it is recommended to contact the hotel direct for further information before booking.
Picture of The Cumberland Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 69 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent friendly hotel.would stay again.

Reviewed by
C nicholls

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

morning wake up call was not made.
breakfast very good but not as hot as it should be (and was on my last stay)

Reviewed by
gary l

From CH1920 martigny, Switzerland
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value hotel in superb location
Great hotel in lovely setting, service good, food generally very good, although breakfast is not so good.

Reviewed by
D GRAHAM

From Linlithgow, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cumbria hits Bournemouth
On 21st Feb an elderly gentleman knocked a glass of water over the table. The glass broke in many pieces. The waitress calmly moved the couple to a vacant table and checked that they were not injured. She replaced the glass of water and told them it was a complete accident. She replaced the wet tablecloth and removed the broken glass. The incident took place in the Restaurant. I could not read her badge name, but am sure you can trace her. It was one of the best acts of Customer service that I have witnessed for a long time. Well done.

Reviewed by
JOHN P

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel very clean,breakfast good. Shower in room was very poor and parking limited.

Reviewed by
Jane E

From Beckenham, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Look out for Bargain Prices
The staff here are great in all areas of the hotel. I stay here on business at least once per week when the price reductions are good and it is good value at £30 - £50 but I wouldnt be so happy to pay the full prices quoted.On this stay the staff on reception helpfully extended my stay for a further night because of poor weather conditions - & they matched the excellent price for the extra night. Breakfast is a help yourself hot or cold affair & is good & comprehensive.
I ate dinner here on my last visit and a 3 course meal was offered at £20. It was well prepared & very enjoyable. For enthusiasts of architecture the art deco exterior & the public interior areas are worth a look. I like it here.

Reviewed by
alan m

From Langport, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised
I spent one night at the Cumberland Hotel right on the clifftop in east Bournemouth and spent a comfortable night and the breakfast was excellent, good value, would stay again and recommend to friends.

Reviewed by
Jennifer S

From DORSET, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shower
Everything was fine , no problems , but the non-thermostatic shower let the place down

Reviewed by
alan w

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spacious & Warm!
I booked through laterooms and was expecting to move into a single room later on that afternoon. I was very surprised to walk into a massive room, massive king sized bed (two doubles joined) & a large bathroom.
Room amenities were basic but everything was clean and worked.
Some basic things that i would have expected - iphone charger, toiletries set in bathroom.
Other than that the decor in the restaurants is lovely! Breakfast, nice & friendly hosts.

Reviewed by
I Gonzaga

From Australia
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last minute trip
we stayed at the cumberland last christmas and found every thing excellent .would have gone back this year but we had family for christmas so made a last minute booking for new year.Room was very tired and had a few problems,but overall enjoyable trip

Reviewed by
sandra w

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next