No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cumberland Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
East Overcliff Drive , Bournemouth, BH1 3AF
Located directly on the sea front overlooking Bournemouth bay The Cumberland, Bournemouth is a 3 star delux hotel in Bournemouth. Awarded best value for money, Awarded 'Best Large Hotel' 2013, 2011 and 2009 at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, it is now recognised as one of the South Coasts most fashionable and unique properties after several years of major investments. Situated on the prestigious East Cliff, a dramatic coastal resort that's smart, stunning and full of unique personality - overlooking miles of golden sandy beaches, The Cumberland Bournemouth resembles one of Miami's great Art Deco hotels of Ocean Drive.

The hotel boasts an excellent reputation for outstanding cuisine and offers a number of dining options. The Mirabelle Restaurant serves superb chef driven food with local fresh produce whilst the double AA Rosette awarded Ventana Grand Café provides a more intimate brasserie style dining. Continental and full English buffet breakfast is served daily and breakfast to go for early birds is also available.

Located within the Oceana Resort is the Oceana Day Spa at Cliffeside, an Asian inspired Treatment and Beauty Spa open daily that offers wellbeing and luxury. Also located on site at Suncliff is Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Mini Gym and Squash Courts. Outdoor Pools are also located within resorts along with 4 Restaurants and 4 Bars and a Costa Coffee Shop

During warmer months the large poolside Lido deck is unrivalled for drinks and food al fresco all day and night or should you wish to take a swim the large pool.

Oceana Hotels reserve the right to pre-authorise credit cards prior to arrival. In addition, please note that different terms and conditions apply for groups, it is recommended to contact the hotel direct for further information before booking.
Picture of The Cumberland Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not to be missed and certainly to be repeated
Bearing in mind that we are talking laterooms deals this was a fantastic offer.
The hotel has been refurbished although one can find evidence that this did not involve ripping everything out and starting again. Downstairs was lovely and the restaurant was offering 2for1 although they did forget to tell us that it was not applicable fri-sun lunchtimes. And so we had to cancel our table booking and go elsewhere. Just unfortunate that we arrived early on Sunday when the embargo was in place. A strange place to put the swimming pool was between outdoor bar-decking and the main clifftop road. But space is limited although we were lucky enough to find an onsite parking space. Bedroom was adequate and the bathroom was obviously refurbed. We'll try going again in 4 weeks time!

Reviewed by
Janet J

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real Art Deco experience
This stay was booked as a treat for a 40th birthday and it lived up to expectations. The ground floor has been beautifully re-furbished in the true Art Deco style with lots of lovely touches. The reception staff were very polite and helpful and it felt like we were staying somewhere special. The first night we ate at the Ventana Restaurant where the food and service were both excellent. The breakfast was also very good. It feels as if the hotel has not yet get round to fully re-furbishing the bedrooms. It was comfortable and everything worked, but the bathroom looked a little tired and needed some updating (keeping the Deco features). Overall we had a great couple of nights at The Cumberland and would definitely recommend it to others. Thank you.

Reviewed by
H Cook

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class break.
Hard to fault on any counts

Reviewed by
Rod Mattravers

From Stoke Sub Hamdon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
Nikita Milne

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Past time elegance
It was a pleasure to stay in a hotel whose period décor and spirit had been so carefully maintained. It has a stunning location overlooking the sea and is but a short and pleasant walk to the BIC concert hall. The room was exceptionally clean and very comfortable. I had initial reservations about the rather dated shower facility but these were mistaken. While the shower was not state of the art it delivered plenty of water at the right temperature. Customer Service was friendly and helpful but lost points because the promised morning paper was not delivered. As for food, we did not have dinner, but breakfast was disappointing as it seemed to us that the cheapest ingredients were being used. But - at the price we paid the value for money was truly outstanding.

Reviewed by
Michael Edmonds

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cumberland, bournemouth
Accommodation good.
Bar good with two real Ales (in bottles) available.
Evening meal - Fantastic.
Breakfast - Not So Good. Whilst all the ingredients where there with many cold items available, Toast freely available with many spreadons... The cooked element failed to please me. In particular, the Bacon and Sausages. The bacon was wishy washy with no real taste. The sausages - well not sure they originated from a pig, possibly a cardbox box. Flavouress.
I stayed three nights, had one bad breakfast then on second and third mornings, had scrambled eggs with either beans or tomatoes. Very good. The scrambled and fried eggs were good.
Just the 'meaty' elements did not please (me )..
Definitely not enough to stop me from returning.

Reviewed by
Brian C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, great food!
This is the second time we've stayed at the Cumberland, it didn't disappoint. The rooms were clean and modern with a great shower and tv. The food was excellent with a lot of choice and the staff were friendly and always happy to help. The car park was the only issue, with queuing for a space on a Friday evening after 3 hours travelling was not ideal. Everything else was brilliant.

Reviewed by
M Cook

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value
I stay in Bournemouth a couple of times a week. I vary where I stay and have stayed at the Cumberland a good few times. I'd say it's the best 3 star in the town and better than a couple of the supposed 4 stars.

Reviewed by
R Rutherford

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel, Great Price
The hotel exceeded our expectations at the price paid - we asked to have a sea view and paid only £30-00 more for the change. The room was spacious and well furnished.

Reviewed by
R Munden

From Radstock, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Art Deco Elegance in the public areas
The ground floor public areas of this hotel are amazing, although the bedrooms are plain by comparison.
There are different eating options, so make sure you study all the menus before you decide. The A La Carte option I had was quite expensive and the food only average.

Reviewed by
W Hattersley

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next