No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cumberland Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
East Overcliff Drive , Bournemouth, BH1 3AF
Located directly on the sea front overlooking Bournemouth bay The Cumberland, Bournemouth is a 3 star delux hotel in Bournemouth. Awarded best value for money, Awarded 'Best Large Hotel' 2013, 2011 and 2009 at the Bournemouth Tourism Awards, it is now recognised as one of the South Coasts most fashionable and unique properties after several years of major investments. Situated on the prestigious East Cliff, a dramatic coastal resort that's smart, stunning and full of unique personality - overlooking miles of golden sandy beaches, The Cumberland Bournemouth resembles one of Miami's great Art Deco hotels of Ocean Drive.

The hotel boasts an excellent reputation for outstanding cuisine and offers a number of dining options. The Mirabelle Restaurant serves superb chef driven food with local fresh produce whilst the double AA Rosette awarded Ventana Grand Café provides a more intimate brasserie style dining. Continental and full English buffet breakfast is served daily and breakfast to go for early birds is also available.

Located within the Oceana Resort is the Oceana Day Spa at Cliffeside, an Asian inspired Treatment and Beauty Spa open daily that offers wellbeing and luxury. Also located on site at Suncliff is Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, Mini Gym and Squash Courts. Outdoor Pools are also located within resorts along with 4 Restaurants and 4 Bars and a Costa Coffee Shop

During warmer months the large poolside Lido deck is unrivalled for drinks and food al fresco all day and night or should you wish to take a swim the large pool.

Oceana Hotels reserve the right to pre-authorise credit cards prior to arrival. In addition, please note that different terms and conditions apply for groups, it is recommended to contact the hotel direct for further information before booking.
Picture of The Cumberland Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 72 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
79% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we have been before was pleased then and we weren't disappointed this time.

Reviewed by
R Wood

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

decent 3 star hotel
This was suppose to be a 3 star hotel but the first thing I noticed upon arrival was his excellent the customer service was right from the off! I thought at first that this had to be a four star hotel, the food was also better than what I would have thought. Overall me and my girlfriend had a brilliant stay, the only fault I could find was that the room was roasting hot and therefore we found it difficult to sleep though that may have been down to the wonderful weather we had that weekend.

Reviewed by
N Johnson

From Radstock, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
this was fantastic, i booked it on the train on the day and got a room for a very decent price. the room itself was very warm at night, and the windows didnt open fully as i was on a top floor. room service was great, when i arrived the floor was a bit mucky, but aside that, the facilities and staff were great and the breakfast was amazing, a great selection, and a great outside pool. id definatly come back, and for the money its outstanding.

Reviewed by
william m

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Art Deco delight
Loved my stay at the Cumberland an Art Deco hotel in a wonderful position on the east cliff area of Bournemouth. Good value and will definitely return.

Reviewed by
M Walker

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

goodness
very nice staff and very welcoming people. the location is ideal for rest and relax far from city crowds and news headache .
I think a little improvement in rooms and better with more choices of food will push the hotel far to the front .
Great thanks for the lovely people ,staff and administration of the hotel Cumberland.

Reviewed by
ahmed alhasani

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay but fantastic
Only had short stay but fantastic staff,room,food,cleanliness car parking cannot fault stopped at royal bath on last stay but Cumberland puts it to shame,can't wait until I take the family back

Reviewed by
Adrian Loftus

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute getaway
We reached Bournemouth on last minute trip from London. We got there without pre booking hotel. Trivago was easy to use and booked a room in no time. We reached reception desk after 5 minutes of booking and found out they haven't yet received any notification of booking. However, the girl at reception of Cumberland Hotel was extremely helpful. She booked us a room without any fuss and honoured the price we paid whilst booking. A great relief after a hectic trip. Room was small yet clean and we weren't fussed as it was only for a night.

Reviewed by
Muhammad Ali

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not to be missed and certainly to be repeated
Bearing in mind that we are talking laterooms deals this was a fantastic offer.
The hotel has been refurbished although one can find evidence that this did not involve ripping everything out and starting again. Downstairs was lovely and the restaurant was offering 2for1 although they did forget to tell us that it was not applicable fri-sun lunchtimes. And so we had to cancel our table booking and go elsewhere. Just unfortunate that we arrived early on Sunday when the embargo was in place. A strange place to put the swimming pool was between outdoor bar-decking and the main clifftop road. But space is limited although we were lucky enough to find an onsite parking space. Bedroom was adequate and the bathroom was obviously refurbed. We'll try going again in 4 weeks time!

Reviewed by
Janet J

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real Art Deco experience
This stay was booked as a treat for a 40th birthday and it lived up to expectations. The ground floor has been beautifully re-furbished in the true Art Deco style with lots of lovely touches. The reception staff were very polite and helpful and it felt like we were staying somewhere special. The first night we ate at the Ventana Restaurant where the food and service were both excellent. The breakfast was also very good. It feels as if the hotel has not yet get round to fully re-furbishing the bedrooms. It was comfortable and everything worked, but the bathroom looked a little tired and needed some updating (keeping the Deco features). Overall we had a great couple of nights at The Cumberland and would definitely recommend it to others. Thank you.

Reviewed by
H Cook

From Brentwood, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class break.
Hard to fault on any counts

Reviewed by
Rod Mattravers

From Stoke Sub Hamdon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next