No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - NH Carlton Amsterdam

Vijzelstraat 4 , Amsterdam, 1017 HK
Staying at NH Carlton Amsterdam means enjoying the pleasures of refined comfort, in the best of Italian traditions. Its unique style is distinguished by elegant rooms and a high level of attentive, courteous service. Qualities that are fully expressed in the friendly welcome of Bistro "Il Girasole", a prestigious meeting point and place to relax. Situated in the heart of Amsterdam just five minutes from the railway station and twenty five minutes from Schiphol Airport, NH Carlton Amsterdam offers its guests a privileged position for best enjoying the city's numerous attractions: some of the most famous art galleries and museums in the world, such as the Rijksmuseum, and the many small jewellery, fashion, book and antique shops, but especially the fascination of its architecture, best enjoyed on a stroll along the canals. Please note dogs are not allowed at the Hotel.
Picture of NH Carlton Amsterdam, Amsterdam at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 7 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City break hotel
A good hotel with very friendly helpful staff. The room was clean but dated and needed an overhaul. I would recommend this hotel especially for its great location to everything.

Reviewed by
Erol H

From Esher, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location
The location was excellent. Very central - close to many attractions.

Reviewed by
S Morse

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly located hotel!
The location of this hotel is perfect, close to places like Rembrandtsplein, Leidsplein and Vondelpark. Clean and spacious rooms. Polite and professional staff.

Reviewed by
Behnam F

From Sweden
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
Hotel is in a great central location, on the edge of the old town and red light district in one directions, and the art and antiques area, Rijksmuseum, shops and Leidseplein etc in the opposite. Tram stops within 100 metres taking you anywhere you want to go, and canal trips on the Amstel within 200m.
Hotel itself clean, large foyer with seats, bar, free wifi etc. Large hotel so quite busy. Breakfast was hideously expensive, so instead we went to a cafe round the corner. On the last day we had a voucher for free breakfast in the hotel, which offered a nice variety. Bedrooms are small, large TV, not much room round the bed, but clean and tea/coffee/kettle etc and reasonable bathroom. We were on 6th floor and had a balcony which was a nice bonus. Overall, good base for a few days Amsterdam

Reviewed by
r taylor

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money in a good location
It's not the most luxurious hotel I've ever stayed in but perfectly fine for a four star, in a good location and good value for money. The street it is on is not the prettiest but it sits just below the old town and above the museum area so everywhere is easily accessible by foot. We have previously stayed at hotels to the north near Central Station which seem to be better, more centrally located but in fact there is so much to do in the south and west of the old centre that we found this location to be more convenient. We were immediately offered an upgrade which I initially took to be free but transpired to be at a charge. I thought this was odd as most people book the room they want to pay for. The room itself was a good size and beds/pillows comfortable. Toiletries, etc, were fine. Only bad point was the lighting, it was very dimly lit and difficult to see to read on an overcast day. Would I return? Yes, at the price - about £80 a night equivalent for an August booking in a city centre hotel.

Reviewed by
J Donaghy

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel and great staff
Spent 2 nights here with no complaints. In nice area and just around the corner to shopping streets. Short taxi ride to museums etc. Staff extremely friendly and friendly, would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Marie R

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room requirements
We had a lovely time, room was basic and a bit dated but didn't matter as the room was very clean and kept to a high standard, brilliant location for us. Thankyou

Reviewed by
Samuel Page

From Birchington, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.