No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - NH Carlton Amsterdam

Vijzelstraat 4 , Amsterdam, 1017 HK
Staying at NH Carlton Amsterdam means enjoying the pleasures of refined comfort, in the best of Italian traditions. Its unique style is distinguished by elegant rooms and a high level of attentive, courteous service. Qualities that are fully expressed in the friendly welcome of Bistro "Il Girasole", a prestigious meeting point and place to relax. Situated in the heart of Amsterdam just five minutes from the railway station and twenty five minutes from Schiphol Airport, NH Carlton Amsterdam offers its guests a privileged position for best enjoying the city's numerous attractions: some of the most famous art galleries and museums in the world, such as the Rijksmuseum, and the many small jewellery, fashion, book and antique shops, but especially the fascination of its architecture, best enjoyed on a stroll along the canals. Please note dogs are not allowed at the Hotel.
Picture of NH Carlton Amsterdam, Amsterdam at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location but tired and worn rooms.
Hotel is in a great location and it's very easy to walk to the old city centre and museums with trams convenient for other areas. Rooms and public areas in the hotel are tired and worn and it's time they were refurbished. But overall it was OK for the price in this location

Reviewed by
Christine I

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed with late rooms
Arrived at the hotel to find no room available despite well advanced booking and prepayment. We were provided with taxi to sister hotel in location not to our choosing. Then shipped back the day after which signficantly eat into our limited time in Amsterdam. Hotel staff did their best throughout but the bottom line is you book through late rooms to book a hotel of your choice and expect that room to be available. A lot of hassle for what was a short city break. No issue with the sister hotel. The Carlton is an excellent location but be prepared for a lively night no tranquility for sleeping but you are in a city centre. Rooms are a bit dated and tired but staff are good and speak excellent English.

Reviewed by
Andrea D

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dissapointed
This hotel is in need of refurb.

Reviewed by
s mcdonnell

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we were a group of friends and we had an issue in our booking it was quickly solved the staff in the front office were very welcome ..

Reviewed by
abdullrhaman alreshaid

From riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

City break hotel
A good hotel with very friendly helpful staff. The room was clean but dated and needed an overhaul. I would recommend this hotel especially for its great location to everything.

Reviewed by
Erol H

From Esher, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location
The location was excellent. Very central - close to many attractions.

Reviewed by
S Morse

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly located hotel!
The location of this hotel is perfect, close to places like Rembrandtsplein, Leidsplein and Vondelpark. Clean and spacious rooms. Polite and professional staff.

Reviewed by
Behnam F

From Sweden
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location
Hotel is in a great central location, on the edge of the old town and red light district in one directions, and the art and antiques area, Rijksmuseum, shops and Leidseplein etc in the opposite. Tram stops within 100 metres taking you anywhere you want to go, and canal trips on the Amstel within 200m.
Hotel itself clean, large foyer with seats, bar, free wifi etc. Large hotel so quite busy. Breakfast was hideously expensive, so instead we went to a cafe round the corner. On the last day we had a voucher for free breakfast in the hotel, which offered a nice variety. Bedrooms are small, large TV, not much room round the bed, but clean and tea/coffee/kettle etc and reasonable bathroom. We were on 6th floor and had a balcony which was a nice bonus. Overall, good base for a few days Amsterdam

Reviewed by
r taylor

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money in a good location
It's not the most luxurious hotel I've ever stayed in but perfectly fine for a four star, in a good location and good value for money. The street it is on is not the prettiest but it sits just below the old town and above the museum area so everywhere is easily accessible by foot. We have previously stayed at hotels to the north near Central Station which seem to be better, more centrally located but in fact there is so much to do in the south and west of the old centre that we found this location to be more convenient. We were immediately offered an upgrade which I initially took to be free but transpired to be at a charge. I thought this was odd as most people book the room they want to pay for. The room itself was a good size and beds/pillows comfortable. Toiletries, etc, were fine. Only bad point was the lighting, it was very dimly lit and difficult to see to read on an overcast day. Would I return? Yes, at the price - about £80 a night equivalent for an August booking in a city centre hotel.

Reviewed by
J Donaghy

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel and great staff
Spent 2 nights here with no complaints. In nice area and just around the corner to shopping streets. Short taxi ride to museums etc. Staff extremely friendly and friendly, would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Marie R

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next