You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Hallmark Hotel Gloucester

4

Matson Lane, Robinswood Hill, Gloucester, GL4 6EA

Price From 155.44 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (38)

66% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Adam W

  • June 2016

Superb Hotel; slightly lacking restaurant...

Hotel is set next to a suburban housing estate in a nice part of Gloucester with easy access to many tourist areas and points of interest.

The Hotel has a lovely contemporary design that is professionally laid out and well furnished. The Hotel Staff are very attentive, courteous and helpful; arranging a Taxi for us without any quibble or problems.

The Restaurant booking process was easy however upon arriving for a allotted meal time this is where things went a bit down hill. We were greeted by a waiter to be told to "wait here" where he proceeded to mess around with a computer for five minutes before seating us. If he were inputting orders of others guests and he had told us that's why we were waiting then that wouldn't have been a problem but to be left stood for five minutes for seemingly no reason is a bad service. Likewise we were left to look at the Food and Wine menus for 20 minutes, whereby we asked for a bottle of Champagne and ordered our food. Our starters arrived and we had finished them before a waitress asked, "if we would like any drinks" to which we explained about our bottle of Champagne. This happened a further two times with different waitresses asking the whereabouts of our elusive bottle of Champagne. When the bottle arrived it was not what we ordered and no explanation was given.

The food was to a very good standard, very well presented and very tasty. Upon asking for the bill we were charged for the price of the bottle of Champagne we had ordered and not the one we had received. However as the bottle we ordered was a slightly lower price of the bottle we were given this part of the evening was decent service. I don't want to come across as a 'nagging biddy' as I'm pretty sure the restaurant was short staffed the night we dined there. However if that had been explained to us upon arriving then it wouldn't have felt as poor service as it did. Overall a lovely meal but let down by slightly lacking service.

  • A Hargreaves

  • May 2016

Nice break away

The hotel staff where friendly and the room was a good size and clean.

It was however quite hot but the staff provided a fan upon request and extra sheets. We had brought our young daughter with us and the staff brought a travel cot and set it up in our room. Overall a lovely little get away for a couple of days.

  • Rachel S

  • April 2016

Last Minute Spa Break

We were looking for a last minute break - a 4 star hotel with spa, in a central location - not too far to drive and not too expensive and found this hotel via the laterooms site.

On arrival there was no one at reception and we had to wait a few minutes before someone came-she did apologise that we had been left alone. Though we had arrived early she checked and the room was ready and so we could go straight to it. Decent sized room. comfortable bed, good hot shower and plenty of tea/coffee with the added bonus of 2 dunking bars that were replenished every day. Breakfast we self service, ran out of Weetabix on the 2nd day and some of the hot food was luke warm but that is to be expected with that type of breakfast where food is kept in containers. Nice little danish pastries and the toaster worked okay. Did not go to the restaurant apart from breakfast. Had pre-booked the 30 min basic massage as that was the only thing available side-by-side. This was nice with the pleasant surprise of discount for being hotel guests. The pool was tropical heat, no piped music and enough seats - though busier on Saturday. Hot tub was hot. Nice to have towelling robe/slippers included in the price of the room so could just wander down from the room and not have to bother changing. The lockers had keys on chains but had not realised there was no number on it until in the pool so spent a little time trying to remember the number of the locker-felt it would be much better if the locker key had the number on it. On return one night we found our electronic swipes did not work but the lady at reception quickly re-did it and that was fine. Did ask for some fresh milk instead of the UHT but they had run out and said they would get some to us - we never did get that- still the UHT was not bad. Over all it wasn't a bad experience ,and gave us a break and enabled us to visit Gloucester easily.

  • J Burton

  • February 2016

Hotel was excellent !

Only thing that let it down was dinner drinks took 25 mins to arrive at start

  • N JONES

  • November 2015

General experience

Overall a great hotel and location for travelling on the M5 corridor.

Hotel rooms are good quality and the restaurant food is a very high standard. Staff are great and very friendly.

  • Sally M

  • September 2015

What a shame

On arrival there was a large chocolate bag on the floor behind the chair so still within easy view not even hidden away.

The sink drain hole was thick black with grime. The food was ok..... Just ok. We were expecting for the money we paid for it to be lovely but I can certainly see why it's only 3 stars. There was a nasty fight in the hotel which disturbed our stay BUT the staff delt with it immediately when they were informed this with the below par food and the not so clean room. Never again.

  • G Kanth

  • September 2015

value for money

I was not impressed with the room I received when buying the executive room.

When I got there and saw my room I had to go back to reception to enquire as it looked like a standard room, they apologised and said they will put in the extras. The extras included bath robe and slippers, 2 bottles of water and a vanity kit that included 2 cotton buds and 2 cotton pads. To me this is a standard room. We didn't receive no newspaper in the morning and no tea or coffee to take away. The bed didn't even have a throw on it. Very disappointed for what I paid. The hotel itself was lovely and clean but I wouldn't pay for an executive room again.

  • Martin E

  • July 2015

Poor service and food

We arrived early evening and decided to eat at the Brasserie.

We ordered 2 cold sandwiches, ham and mustard, with chips, 45 minutes later we were still waiting. Eventually a member staff came over and said they didn't have ham but they had a hock (of ham). At this point we just wanted food. Breakfast is self service, so long as you do not all of your breakfast in one go, there was an offer a full English breakfast but as the food kept running out you could have bacon and egg, or bacon and toast but NOT a full English breakfast in one go. We asked for tea and coffee, unfortunately this was not supplied after asking four different waiting staff until we poured our own. You are told on entry that coffee and tea will be poured for you. Overall food and service POOR. We would not recommend this hotel for service.

  • c yeoman

  • April 2015

Weekend break

We booked this hotel without reading any customer comments as a last minute get away and I have to say what a fantastic hotel to stay at, the facilities were brilliant and the food in the restaurant was amazing.

  • N TROMANS

  • March 2015

Service good but disturbed night's sleep

Party of people booked out 4 rooms in our corridor and started to party after midnight in the room next to ours.

We asked them to be quiet but nothing happened.mentioned it to reception but no action taken. Eventually we had to move to get a good night's sleep. I think other residents had complained as well. It seems unfair that we had to move. A shame because on many other fronts the hotel was great. I think there ought to be a noise policy after 12.00.