No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lodge at Meyrick Park

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Central Drive, Bournemouth, BH2 6LH

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Relax at The Lodge at Meyrick Park where history meets hospitality. Situated in Meyrick Park golf course, the Lodge has wonderful views over the golf course but is only a 5 minute walk from Bournemouths shops and beaches.Please note children under 16 can only use the pool between 3pm and 6pm Saturday and Sunday. Children under 16 can not use the gym, studio, sauna, steam room or jacuzzi at any time.All bedrooms are non smoking. The Clubhouse and bar are open 6.30am - 10.30pm Mon -Fri and 7.30am - 9.30pm Sat - Sun.
Picture of The Lodge at Meyrick Park, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 93 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than expected
After having booked a room and then reading reviews our expectations were not that high.
However, we were very pleased with our room which was clean and warm and was ideal for our one night stay.

Reviewed by
L Wilks

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Loved the lodge!!
I loved the lodge, it was different to a hotel room!!! I enjoyed the swimming pool, spa etc it was clean.

Reviewed by
Katie Frampton

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely weekend experience in amongst sll the lovely wilderness and wonderful views. amazing.
Wonderful.. Definitely to be experienced very soon..

Reviewed by
l cotton

From portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great find
Basic but clean and modern room.
Friendly staff
A good modern gym with good mixture of equipment
Good sized pool so you can have a proper swim
A short walk in to town so ideally placed.

Reviewed by
Melanie G

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A perfect stop over
Great place and the free Spa and great pulse cafe were just perfect. Room and bed very comfortable.

Reviewed by
Simon F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky but nice place
This is a slightly quirky place - inside Bournemouth and on the edge of a golf course. For the price paid it was really very good value

Reviewed by
T Sims

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
The service at reception and restaurant was great. Staff are very friendly, unfortunately I was only staying for one night but I will be going again, hope to use the spa facilities this time. The bed is very comfortable and the area is very peaceful. Already recommended it to my parent's will recommend it to anyone wanting a weekend or even a week away! Town centre is about 10 minutes walk and the beach and pier is about 15-20!

Reviewed by
Kerry O

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Gem in Bournemouth.............Great Fitness Break
I thought I would book a last minute stay for a couple of nights to use as a mini fitness/weight loss break and very much hoped it lived up to my expectations of before.
Being October there were many great deals at other hotels some of which I had stayed at before, and this one did come in dearer, but when considering what I wanted out of my stay, I chose this place as it offers free use of Studio Classes, Heated Indoor Pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam Room, and Gym. Also the food offered is really good, healthy and good value too, all what I was looking for. Should I have wanted evening entertainment or more ambience of a hotel environment, I wouldn’t have chosen this place.
It is also situated on a Golf Club which is lovely and quiet away from the hub of Bournemouth Central, yet only a 10 minute walk if wanting to go into town centre.
This is my honest personal opinion of how I found my stay at Meyrick Park Lodge.
*Location*
The Lodge is situated in a great location in Bournemouth but away from all the hustle and bustle, amidst a Golf Course and Park. It is a 10 minute walk into Bournemouth Town Centre itself, down some steps and a path, under the Flyover and you come out by the Town Hall, opposite shops, restaurants and a further 5 minute walk to Beach. Please Note: If intending on walking out at night, take a torch with you as the area by the steps/path is unlit. As a solo traveller I would have felt very uneasy going down there by myself though.
*Accommodation*
The Lodge has 17 en-suite bedrooms. I stayed in Bedroom 11 on the ground floor overlooking the 18th hole, which was a lovely large room. There is limited parking directly outside the lodge, otherwise there are two car parks about 30 yards away.
I had a huge bed, which was extremely comfortable. When I arrived though I noted the pillows and duvet were feathers/down, and as I have allergies to this I told the lady on reception, who was very good and immediately arranged for the bedding to be changed to hollowfibre.
In the room there was an open wardrobe with hangers and a soft hanging cupboard to put clothing/shoes in. The bathroom had a bath and shower over, of which the shower was nice and powerful. Towels are provided. There are tea and coffee making facilities provided in the room. There is a flat screen TV wall mounted which showed many channels. A hairdryer is provided too.
I found the room to be very comfortable and I had great nights sleep. However be aware that the walls are thin and you can hear everything in other rooms including the traffic of the flyover. Probably not great if you are a light sleeper.
*Food and Drink*
I stayed on a room only basis, as I only wanted Porridge drizzled with honey and fruit for breakfast and not a full cooked English with Toast etc, although this was available.
Food and Drinks are served in the Pulse Cafe Bar, which is in a separate building from The Lodge a couple of minutes walk.
The food on offer I found to be really good, not only in taste and portion size, but in price too. There were many healthy options which I really liked and in fact was one of my top reasons for staying here.
There is an outdoor terrace, which I was lucky to sit at my second morning to enjoy my breakfast. There are newspapers to read too.
The only downside I could mention was that the bar closed at 10pm and food was served until 9pm.
*Facilities*
First and foremost this is a Golf Club, and I do not play so cannot comment on this or prices etc.
Included in the price of your stay is use of the Swimming Pool, Gym, Sauna, Steam Room, Jacuzzi and Fitness Classes. The swimming pool was lovely and warm, all 1.20metres deep and very relaxing. The Gym was fully equipped and had staff on hand to speak to if needed and a lovely outlook over the woods. There were various different fitness classes in the two Studios that run from 7am until 9pm some days, including Body Pump, Body Balance, Sh’Bam, Yoga, Metafit, Pilates, Spinning, etc. I attended a lot of them, all of which were good fun and great instructors.
The changing rooms were clean and modern and had lockers to put your things in, use of hairdryers and a machine that would take the water out of your swimsuit, all free.
There were also treatment rooms for massages, pedicures which I cannot comment on as I did not have time to use them.
Overall, I had a great stay again, and very much look forward to returning in the near future. I would also like to comment how all the staff I came across were very friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Reviewed by
Corinne B

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

using the gym and spa on site was really good.

Reviewed by
B Sheppard

From Radstock, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Meyrick Park Lodge an oasis in the middle of town
I deal for a few nights away right on the golf course which also had a health spa with a good sized indoor swimming pool. Children were allowed to use it but only at weekends between 3 and 6pm.
The bar serviced excellent food including steaks and curries and plenty of choice of drinks including hot ones.
The room was comfy, clean and the only draw back with room 13 which we were in was light pollution as it had 3 lights outside keeping the walkway lit. Probably a health and safety thing but felt the bulbs could have been a bit dimmer.
10 mins walk to the centre of the town and 15 to the beach.
I deal would use again.

Reviewed by
C Brown

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next