No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN Russell Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
136 Boxley Road, Maidstone, ME14 2AE
BEST WESTERN the Russell Hotel is exceptionally elegant and regally refined, standing as a Victorian building only a mile from Maidstone town centre. Easily accessible from both the M20 or M2 motorways, you'll be in the perfect position to relax and unwind...why not take time out in our beautiful landscaped gardens, lie around on our sun terraces or read a book or two under our Palm trees? If you want to get out and about, Leeds Castle, Kent Life, Historic Dockyard Chatham, Rochester Castle and much, much more will really make your break. If you want to shop 'til you drop, Bluewater is only 20 miles away. And on your return, enjoy the perfect end to the perfect day with a meal in our elegant Garden Restaurant where our Chefs will tempt your tastebuds with the freshest local ingredients - all as delicious as our wonderful surroundings! All residents receive free use of the local David Lloyd Leisure Club, a five minute drive away in Maidstone, and Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, as well as parking for up to 100 cars.
Picture of BEST WESTERN Russell Hotel, Maidstone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Great staff, lovely room and good location!

Reviewed by
Rebecca P

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

customer service
On arrival we were greeted and directed to our room.. it stank of frying fat as it was above the kitchens.. We rang reception, and they immediately moved us to another upgraded room without contestation or hesitation..
The hotel is dated but all the staff were lovely and the breakfast was exceptional..

Reviewed by
david martin

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad
Happy with the room, nice and tidy. Only poor points were the bed, the mattress had definitely seen better days and was the furniture equivalent of quicksand, and the shower was a bit weak. Not bad apart from that, and staff were friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
Thomas Hughes

From Abertawe, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As Expected
I read previous reviews and this stay matched all the positive ones.
I prefer a hotel with character and good service. This I couldn't falter.

Reviewed by
John E

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good, staff, polite and helpful

Reviewed by
Mary G

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel nice staff friendly unfortunately I had a stag party or something on my floor which woke me at

Reviewed by
Mark P

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

More character than the Premier Inn
It will be a shame if the redevelopment plans for this hotel get the go ahead, as it was a refreshing change to stay in this leafy residential area, away from the hubub of Maidstone town centre. The hotel gardens are stunning, but it felt like the hotel had given up, in light of the planning application submitted to demolish it and build housing. Bank holiday weekend should have been busy, but it felt empty. Strategically placed to visit the legendary Flowerpot Inn to sample their many fine ales, and a short walk up the hill to burn the beer calories. Stay here whilst you still can.

Reviewed by
Kirsty M

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I did not like to give full marks for all sections if I did you would not strive to improve

Reviewed by
M Smith

From Chessington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best West in Maidstone?
An enjoyable stay in a well maintained hotel - pity there was no lift, but the surroundings made up for this - almost.

Reviewed by
Kevin S

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous
Lovely clean and friendly hotel. We will be staying there again.

Reviewed by
F Geddes

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next