No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
24 North Road, Retford, DN22 7XG
Step into past perfection and modern convenience at BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel! A superb 18th Century manor house set in over four acres of professionally landscaped gardens, this outstanding accommodation couldn't be comfier! And located in the historic market town of Retford, our traditional 63 bedroom hotel is ideal for exploring via the A1 and M1. With a newly refurbished ballroom dating back to 1851, and patio doors opening on to a large seating area, plus six other meeting rooms this hotel is a charming choice. For evening enjoyment, you can enjoy your favorite drink in the Chatsworth Bar before dining in the luxurious Orangery restaurant, with a menu featuring traditional favorites and exciting new dishes.
Picture of BEST WESTERN PLUS West Retford Hotel, Retford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
Food was excellent in the evening and best breakfast I have had in a hotel for ages.
Would return again and recommend to anybody.

Reviewed by
Gill W

From Shipston on stour, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel punching above its rating.
Lovely buildings in beautiful grounds handy for the motorway systems. Ideal for business meetings and as a base for customer visits.
Staff pleasant and helpful at all times.

Reviewed by
Peter C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant staff and thoughtful
There was a wedding on and the hotel placed me within the Cottage rooms to ensure that i had peace and quiet.

Reviewed by
S W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value for Money
Conveniently located just outside Retford this hotel is based around a main 'original' building and a separate accommodation building. The service was very friendly, the rooms well decorated, clean and a good size. My son, who usually ends up on an uncomfortable fold out sofa, had his own double bed - which was a welcome change from the norm. We didn't manage to get a place in the restaurant as it was fully booked, therefore we ate in the bar. The food was good and served quickly given that there was a coach load of other visitors and a wedding party there at the same time. We had a really good nights sleep as the room was comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of items. The hotel also offers packed lunch which we found to be good quality and good value. We really enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
David B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel

Reviewed by
Hayley S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value
This accommodation was excellent. I think that Best Western have done a great job of providing something different to the the other chains by giving you a large, modern 'very' clean room with a great bathroom but still managing to retain a traditional feel. This hotel could easily be a holiday hotel or a business class hotel in the great value range.

Reviewed by
Justin j

From Malmesbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If the room were a little bigger i would have scored even higher. A very nice short break. Friendly staff, good food and clean surroundings.

Reviewed by
A Roberts

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good service clean and tidy in close proximity to Retford

Reviewed by
Paul N

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good stay
Convenient stay.

Reviewed by
Robert v

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than expected
A little expensive at £125 per night when booked 5 months in advance for a Best Western, but this is one of the nicest Best Westerns I have stayed in. Being a Best Western Plus you do get a larger room, and better quality of food and staff. Check in was very fast and efficient. I did request a morning paper which never arrived but thats a minor problem. The rooms were very large but across the carpark which was a shame, and quite a walk with a baby, but also meant it was quiet and away from a huge Christmas party which was going on in the main building. The rooms need to have fridges. Especially in family rooms where we had nowehre to store baby food or fresh fruit etc. Room service menu is minimal and only one dish (soup) after 9:30 pm. This should be improved. The bar area is small but adequate and well presented. The restaurant is nicely decorated and breakfast was a good fry up (buffet style on Saturday but not Friday). It can get busy so be prepared to eat in the bar area on a sunday.
It would be nice to have skysports in the room as the bar area does not have a TV but good wifi connection meant I could watch skygo in the room on a laptop. The shower was nice a powerful and bathroom was very modern and clean. Overall a good stay and without doubt the best Best Western Experience I have had. Best Western Plus, rather than Best Western standard is the way forward.

Reviewed by
Paul C

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next