No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Stonehouse Court Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Bristol Road , Stonehouse, GL10 3RA
The 17th Century Manor House is set in 6 acres of stunning grounds overlooking the Stroud Water Canal and rolling hills of the Stroud Valley. Attractive gardens and lawns are the perfect place for a peaceful stroll or glass of Pimms and Cream Tea! You can enjoy the fragrances of the flowerbeds, the breathtaking views or take the time to simply unwind. An arched gateway leads from the end of the garden through to the canal from where you can explore the countryside beyond. In the main Manor House you'll find an award winning restaurant, terrace, bar, conference suites, gymnasium and some guest rooms. The Garden Wing comprises further guest rooms and the Caroline Suite offers extensive banqueting and conferencing facilities.

All Bedrooms at this pet friendly hotel are uniquely furnished and designed with special signature features in keeping with different areas of the hotel. With a choice of either the luxurious elegance of the Manor house or the tranquil setting of the Garden Wing, all rooms offer a bright, modern outlook with a variety of decor to suit all tastes. For those extra special occasions the hotel offers sumptuous four poster bedrooms, which include stylish roll top baths and mullion windows. Many rooms also boast calming views over St Cyr's Church and the hotel's quintessentially English gardens.

Enjoy unpretentious fine dining in the Cotswolds. Henry's restaurant at Stonehouse Court Hotel combines the classic charm of the 17th Century Manor with a relaxed, contemporary and informal style. Relax with a pre-dinner cocktail on the terrace or in the lounge before enjoying local, seasonal ingredients, simply cooked to perfection. The menu is Modern European with Eastern influences. An extensive wine list has been carefully chosen to offer the perfect accompaniment to your meal and knowledgeable staff are on hand to offer suggestions.

Whether your idea of leisure is sitting comfortably in front of the fire with the newspaper or taking an energetic hike down the famous Cotswold Way, Stonehouse Court offers something for everyone. Set in the world famous Cotswold countryside, the hotel is an ideal base for exploring the many local attractions or destinations a little further afield. For the energetic and adventurous there are cycle paths and hiking trails leading into the hills directly from the property. If you wish to make a day of it, chef will prepare a hearty packed lunch and the staff we'll look forward to seeing you back at dinner time full of tales of adventure!

If you prefer a more relaxed pace, you can enjoy the gardens, some quiet reading time in the lounge or a tranquil picnic. You can't always rely on the English weather, but rest assured that if the rains do come during your stay, there's always plenty to do including the indoor gymnasium, plenty of board games and of course the bar.
Picture of Stonehouse Court Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Stonehouse at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staying Alone in a Hotel
I really liked the look and feel of the hotel. The staff were welcoming and friendly. My room was probably the farthest away from the reception along corridors and up and down stairs so luckily I did'nt have too much luggage. My room was also a bit dark due to it's location. Afternoon tea was really good. Breakfast was excellent. Evening meal was a bit pricey for the quality. It was a pleasant, quiet place to stay.

Reviewed by
Carol Bond

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant hotel
Lovely 16th century hotel complete with log fire!! The hotel has lovely grounds, which back onto the canal which is a lovely walk.
Food okay, but have had better but the attentive staff made up for that.
Nice and quiet, but near the town where there are plenty of pubs and restaurants.

Reviewed by
Joanne S

From Erith, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice setting shame about the rooms
Rooms were in need of some tlc very worn and not very well cleaned, lovely grounds and main building

Reviewed by
Kevin E

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed with my sister - were put in the modern part as we had 2 nights + one free so still very good value. Bed was great for me but too soft for my sister - one problem was the power shower - or not so powerful at times!!. Plumber came to the door 5 mins after we got to the room to say previous tenants said it was broken - he showed us how to work it and my shower that evening was fine. When I wanted an early morning shower at 8am - there was no pressure - only cold water!! Not good. Loved the area - the canal walk that we did twice and stunning September weather

Reviewed by
Maggie P

From Welling, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful England
Fine modern accommodation behind an attractive old building in a stunning setting.

Reviewed by
J Buchanan

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful location
A beautiful location. The hotel is ideally located; close to the M5 and near enough to walk out and on to the canal path.
Lovely lounge in which you can spend the evening reading the selection of local history books, and make use of the friendly cocktail bar.
I will definitely be back and will recommend to friends traveling in the area.

Reviewed by
Daniel S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2 day break
Nice hotel, pleasant staff and good facilities. My only problems were a) A very long, confusing walk to our room (43) b) no shelf space to put toiletries in the bathroom c) In room 1 on the second night the tea tray was in the TV cupboard and there was nowhere to boil the kettle except on the floor! Not what we expected!

Reviewed by
Josephine D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room 13, must be unlucky.....
Building history, great!! I think they are living on past laurels, bathroom was from the seventies. Serious update required. Service of the some waiting on staff left alot to be desired, "do you have some condiments please? ", reply "yes they're over there". In other words, get them yourself!! Breakfast was very poor, buffet style, can't imagine what it was like by 7.30/8.00, bacon solid. I would advise the owners to check out the standards of service at the Piers land hotel in Troon, and also how they manage the maintenance of the buildings. Alan Williams.

Reviewed by
aLAN w

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bait and Switch
The hotel's website shows a lovely country manor house. But what it does not show is that the vast majority of rooms are in a dingy new wing that gets conveniently clipped out of the pictures. The website also mentions having a Pimm's outside on the terrace, yet the bar could not make a proper Pimm's Cup. They could only make a Pimm's with lemonade. The website also mentions afternoon tea, but when I requested tea anytime between 3:30-4:30pm on a Friday afternoon I was told the chef was too busy catering to a wedding. Finally, the hot breakfast was not put out until 8:15am, making everyone wait around.

Reviewed by
Alan Thomas

From Springfield, USA
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent

Reviewed by
John C

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next