Reviews - Stonehouse Court Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel


Bristol Road, Stonehouse, GL10 3RA

Price From 126.96 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (36)

67% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Robert J

  • July 2015

Memorable wedding anniversary

I booked a luxury double, as a treat for my wife and I.

The hotel carried out my request for a bottle of bubbly on arrival. Not only did they do that, but they gave us a free upgrade to a four poster suite. A special mention to Rita, on reception, making sure we had everything and made us feel welcomed. Top marks to the stone house court.

  • bev cope

  • June 2015

Not bad but could be better.

We stayed in the hotel on a weekend.

First impressions are fantastic,unfortunately our room was in the annex, not made clear on booking, and the rooms were cramped and the bathroom needed updating about 10 years ago. Our shower didn't work so we were given a key to use the shower next door. Was quite inconvenient. After saying that the view of the garden was lovely so it balanced out the disappointment of the room. If stayed again it would be in the main house.

  • william j

  • May 2015

Pleasant stay, underwhelming room

The room was ok though TV rather small, but the bathroom was very basic and shower pressure terrible.

  • Ruth W

  • April 2015

Food lovely - rooms need a makeover !

The hotel is beautiful from the outside, but a bit disappointing inside, to be honest.

The food was lovely (dinner & breakfast) & the dining room & bar quite smart, but the loos were very dated, and the rooms (in the more modern bit at the back) were very tired. Rather pricey given the standard of room and tattiness of bathroom.

  • Leslie Darby

  • April 2015

A hidden gem

We stayed for 2 nights whilst attending a wedding.

The location was excellent, with the river Severn at the back and lovely riverside walks. We had a few problems with our room in that the heating was inadequate and the shower didn't heat up on the first day. However, the staff were very understanding and offered another room to have a shower in (not necessarily convenient) but as it was bank holiday weekend, the maintenance chap was not available. We did get our bill discounted for the inconvenience. The room was clean with lovely white towels and bed linen

  • J Storey

  • March 2015

What a nice place to stay

A very late booking at a very reasonable rate.

Room booked was a single unrefurbished, but the room was a small double with a lovely view, adequate size and above expectations. Check-in & Check-out was very efficient, and The Thursday night was Steak night, which proved to be excellent. The log fire and courteous staff made it very enjoyable.

  • thomas p

  • March 2015

Trip to Slimbridge WWT

Worth every penny for my overnight stop.

nothing negative.

  • Joanne M

  • February 2015

Disappointing room

The hotel looks very impressive, the reception area is beautiful but our room was a huge let down.

We paid 115 pound for a standard double room and it was abysmal. It looked and smelt like a poor standard nursing home. I really did not want to pay that amount of money for this terrible room. I was gutted. However, we were attending a wedding and did not want to spend anytime trying to upgrade. We just decided we would have to put up with the disappointment on this occasion. We could see they are upgrading some rooms but our money is hard earned, we did not experience the luxury standard that we expect. The hotel should not be charging this amount for substandard Rooms. The room was poorly decorated and furnished. Bathroom scruffy and dated. Small television on a table lower than the bed. Corridors smelt foisty. Sorry stonehouse I did not want to be negative. .

  • Susan Aston

  • February 2015

Excellent accomodation beautiful views and walks available from the hotel.

I would recommend to anyone this hotel which is 1st class.

  • K Lees

  • January 2015

Lovely Stay

We had a lovely stay - disappointed that we were not in the main part of hotel, but new building was nice.

excellent breakfast and brilliant service.