No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Goddard Arms

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
1 High Street , Swindon, SN13EG
An old Coaching Inn, blending the traditional with the modern. Contemporary yet cosy en-suite bedrooms, with king size beds, freeview TV, and tea & coffee making facilities. FREE WI-FI is available in the bar. Our breakfast served from 7.30am. We hope you'll be delighted with your stay.

A warm inviting pub with a friendly team providing great food, great service, real ales, wines and cocktails...your 'local away from home', yet a vibrant night out experience when the weekend arrives.

Situated in the heart of the Old Town within easy reach of the M4 from junction 15, and with excellent rail links that are great for business and pleasure with retail outlets close by complimented by the Old Town boutiques and coffee shops.

We respectfully advise our guests that parking is limited, we suggest checking in before 8pm at weekends as the pub does get very busy and some guests have found this difficult. From some rooms road noise and activity from the bar may be heard. Our rooms are on the first floor and we apologize as there is no elevator.
Picture of The Goddard Arms, Swindon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Hotel
easy to get to, nice people, friendly atmosphere.
recommend again and again

Reviewed by
S Martin

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Room, Nice Location..pity about the extractors
Nice room, good Old Town location..staff courteous and helpful..but no good if you can't sleep because the extractor fans in the rooms do not automatically turn off . When combined with kitchen extractors outside this was like sleeping in a wind tunnel..changed room in middle of night ..marginally better..

Reviewed by
G Davies

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good night
When we arrived at the Goddard the hotel bar was very busy. We had to check in at the bar which was a little strange but we were seen to very quickly and the booking in process was quick and easy. Our room was basic but clean and tidy.. We had tea and coffee making facilites. The bed was firm but quite comfortable and the bed linen was of good quality. The only problem we did have was with the shower the screen didn't sit on the bath properly so the water came underneath it and we ended up with a big puddle of water on the bathroom floor which we had to use a towel to mop up.
I was a little conferences that with the bar being so busy that there would be a lot of noise but apart from the usual people coming to and from their rooms we weren't disturbed at all..
All in all it was a pleasnt stay.

Reviewed by
Gillian H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Goddard Arms has changed a great deal since they last time I stayed. Gone is the annex out the back and all the rooms are now in the hotel.
It was very busy when I arrived on a Friday night as the downstairs is now a Gastro-pub I would say. The checkin was at the end of the bar which meant manouvering my suitcase through diners and drinkers, however they were goodnatured. Access to the room was up some stairs, there are no lifts which would be a disadvantage for elderly or disabled guests. Because I did not go down for breakfast (which is not included in room price) the door into the bar/restaurant was locked and I had to take my suitcase down the rear fire escape to leave. Again a disadvantage for elderly or disabled, Although the rooom was at the front overlooking the road, it was not too noisy and the bed was very comfortable. The room had all the appointments you would expect.
I did not eat in the hotel as it was very busy but I did find a very relaxed and welcoming place on the corner of Wood Street and Devizes Road called Ale and Cake. The food was excellent and I felt very comfortable dining there as a female alone. Staff were lovely, great service, Try it out if you go to Swindon - they do breakfasts and scrummy afternoon teas too!
I thought for the money the hotel was great for a base to explore Swindon and the surrounding areas. It is situated in Old Town, which is a lovely part of the town with plenty of bars, restaurants and a walk or bus ride down into the main town. It would be a car or taxi to the Great Western Outlet village.

Reviewed by
c swan

From Plymouth, England
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean accomodation for an overnight business trip
No frills, clean and comfy

Reviewed by
Simon Fisher

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Service
I had a very pleasurable and comfortable stay at Goddard Arms. The staff was courteaus and helped in all manner they could. Even the food was delicious and the service timely. Perfect for my short buisness trip. Definitely worth recommending to others who plan to stay here.

Reviewed by
Kunal Arora

From India
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very comfortable and clean hotel.
As a former resident i knew the history of the hotel and therefore fully understand that its an old building, but it is ideally located for shops in old town or a short walk to the main shops in the town centre. It has been restored very well, it is clean and generally quiet for a busy hotel and bar. It is priced very well to match the larger chains of budget hotels.
The food was excellent and priced to match many similar venues. The drinks prices were steep though!
The staff were freindly and helpful. we will stay again

Reviewed by
David Wheatley

From Torpoint, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Quality Accommodation
Good quality rooms, reasonably priced and ideal for exploring Swindon Old Town.

Reviewed by
Ian P

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Repeat customer
Stayed here a few times recently as working in the town centre. Good location for the old town, usual pub food priced at the higher end and could do with the odd special, bar pleasant after recent refurbishment but rooms could do with a complete revamp especially the bathrooms, have stayed in other hotels in the area that have had just that. Parking is a bonus and staff are fine.

Reviewed by
howard b

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and Tidy
Customer service was very good and the room was clean and tidy. Only strange thing was the breakfast to book online was £5.95 but the price on the menu was £4.95 seemed strange to me.
All in all a pleasant experience and well worth the money spent.
H Bird

Reviewed by
H Bird

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next