Reviews - The Sun Inn

4

Coate , ,, Swindon, SN3 6AA

Price From 108.61 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Excellent

All reviews (79)

97% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • SIMON W

  • August 2015

Sun Inn - Superior Room + Breakfast

The room was excellent, other than the shower tap handle came off.

The down side was the breakfast. One table had 3 Kilner jars half full of muesli, cornflakes and sugared cornflakes. Both the flake jars were manly full of “dust” due spoons being continually plunged into them. Only one jug of milk, so no choice and one jug of orange juiced, with a tray of ½ pint beer glasses. Finally of the table was a plate with some apples and oranges on. Breakfast was ordered, scrambled egg with smoked salmon but the salmon was a cooked piece of salmon, flaked and scattered over the top. It came with some toast but no butter. Also a full English was ordered with several items that had been cooked for a long period before serving, the egg was half raw and no toast, this had to be requested. No preserves or anything extra. Have had better.

  • S Hillier

  • August 2015

First stay

Rooms in a separate annexed behind pub, although heard just a little noise from pub garden, but not at all disruptive.

Rooms were of a very good quality. Only negative was that the small windows had curtains only, nets were needed as people could pass by your room and look in. So I had to close the curtains and put indoor lights on. Breakfast was not memorable. Choice of 3 cereals, orange juice and fruit only. No loose sugar for cereal. I asked for sugar and got sugar lumps. Cooked breakfast of choice, I had scrambled eggs and they were dry. Coffee served in a mug and far, far too strong, despite asking for not a strong one.

  • P Chandler

  • August 2015

Functional, if soulless

Furnishings are plain and functional, let down by non-heating towel rail and no ironing board visible.

Took a while to get the heating up to something comfortable and cold, hard floor somewhat institutional. Comfortable bed.

  • Mary S

  • August 2015

A place worth staying

We have stayed at the Sun Inn before and knew what to expect.

Very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely comfortable, clean large room and excellent breakfast. We like the fact that breakfast is served until 11 at the weekend so you can have a sleep in. When we first stayed here we were slightly worried that the rooms would be noisy, being on a busy road and near the hospital, but in actual fact you cannot hear the road noise as the rooms are in a separate block behind the inn. Will definitely use the Sun Inn again.

  • David D

  • August 2015

A real quality room at a great family pub, friendly staff and owner would recommend and excellent value

  • R Preston

  • July 2015

Breaking long journey

A surprise for pub accomodation.

Spacious room, tastefully decorated, quality fittings, loved the shower.

  • Monica O

  • July 2015

Lovely location

A lovely pub accommadation was quite lovely stunning views over the coate park area and the food in the pub is motor be missed excellent

  • T DIFFER

  • June 2015

Exceptional quality and hospitality 5*****

Well from start to finish I was blown away with my stay.

Thank you

  • Shaun B

  • April 2015

Excellent accommodation

  • David S

  • April 2015

Not Quite Five Stars but Almost

I chose the Sun Inn as I knew it well from being a native Swindonian (now living in Devon) The reviews were good and the pictures of the rooms excellent.

It is well worth staying and is excellent value for money but its not quite the 5 stars some have given in my opinion. The room was spacious extremely well decorated and of excellent quality. The niceties of soaps shampoos teas towels and biscuits well above standard. Bed very comfortable king size and room warm even with the bathroom velux window open. I would expect that in summer it would be easy to have a well ventilated room. The rooms are at the rear of the pub and the road noise is distant, unless you are the lightest of sleepers it should not disturb you. The reason I only gave 4 'stars' are that there were stains on the bed throw, not that obvious but there nonetheless, There were also small marks on the wall and TV screen which looked like something has splatted on the wall. Again very small but as the TV came on as the power to the room did it was noticeable. I really don't know why the underside of the loo seat is not properly cleaned as it had the oft found dark yellow stain, not so noticeable for ladies but gents will see it. The food was of excellent quality and at a very reasonable price. However it was a warm sunny evening and they were busy so the salad buffet was limited and those that ordered after me at 6pm had to wait a very long time. I loved the fact that the pub has retained its original pub atmosphere and serves excellent real ale I have always like Arkells and I thoroughly enjoyed my evening with a few pints. Staff need training in Customer Service. They remind me of McDonalds or other Fast Food chain robots. One example. Because they were busy they closed the kitchen at 7:40 instead of 9 but when people asked for food apology or no reason was offered, leaving many bewildered and clearly miffed. One chap who had been waiting for his food for an hour and a half asked for a refund and left. I will stay again but next time I will eat out and drink in!.