No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Sun Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Coate , , , Swindon, SN3 6AA
The Sun inn has a large garden and inviting playground, we'd like to feel we offer the ideal watering hole for parents with young children, doubly so because we're a stone's throw from Coate Water Country Park, much loved by walkers, boaters and fishermen alike. The Sun Inn is a real family favourite - especially in the summer. Parents can sit back and relax while the children run around on our large lawn, or entertain themselves on the slide and swings. Our thatched summer house is also perfect when the sun's at its brightest and you'd prefer to sit in the shade. Swindon has its origin as a small market town, used mainly for barter trade until the mid-1800s. The original Swindon is now known as Old Town. Take time to wander through its quiet courtyards and alleyways or enjoy a vibrant mix of traditional shops and pubs alongside modern outlets and stylish cafes and bars. Use our website to find out more about tourist information in Swindon. Also situated 3miles from steam and swindon outlet shopping village. Although the new rooms we offer are seperate from the pub they still feel very much a part of it as they sit in our large garden. Built to a very high standard we offer a range of rooms to suit all types including doubles, large luxury with roll top bath and walk in shower, twin or adjoining rooms and 1 room that has wheel chair access and bathroom suited as well. Winter sale with rooms starting at just £40 on Fridays and Sundays Please be aware that the hotel is set in the large family garden of the pub and can be noisy until late at night on a hot day. Breakfast is included in the price and is served from 7-10.30 am Monday - Friday amd 8am-10.30am Saturday and Sunday Now as a guest at The Sun Inn you can use the gym and pool facilities at the Holiday Inn opposite
Picture of The Sun Inn, Swindon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 62 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

over night stay
well worth the money room very comfortable under floor heating so not a problem if you walk around with no shoes on

Reviewed by
S Andre

From Rayleigh, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business traveller.
This is a pub with rooms, adjacent in a cabin style. The room was very well appointed, warm, with a comfortable bed. The food in the pub was reasonable, with a 7:00am start for breakfast. Ample parking and free wifi in room. My TomTom satnav took me to a pub about 400 yards away. The hotel is on the roundabout.

Reviewed by
WILLIAM S

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Far better than I expected , nice big room comfortable bed , nice breakfast , would definately stay again highly recommended .

Reviewed by
Robert Lowrie

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

breakfast to greasy all deep fried
excellent accomodation poor greasy deep fried breakfast

Reviewed by
A Hawkins

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant
What a pleasant surprise, I stay away over 60 nights a year on business in corporate type hotels who service and quality seem to be slowly deteriorating. This was a refreshing change, nice quiet rooms, great staff, a very comfortable place to stay and its dog friendly which to me says a lot about the hotel. Will definitely stay here again when working or visiting friends in this area, either on my own or with my wife and dogs.

Reviewed by
s mayne

From Northallerton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Sun Inn
I do not normally like to stay at inns or pubs as they can be quite noisy but The Sun Inn is the exception. It is situated on a main road near the hospital, so I was expecting some noise but it was very peaceful. Could not hear any noise from adjoining rooms or the road. The accommodation is in a separate block behind the Inn and is of an exceptionally high standard. Breakfast excellent and all the staff very helpful and friendly.

Reviewed by
MARY S

From Neston, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic accommodation with large car park.

Reviewed by
Claire T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay
Stayed here before and there was no question as where to stay again. The staff are excellent, friendly and helpful. The room is spacious and well decorated, the bathroom is massive with a great shower. The food is good with very generous portions.

Reviewed by
Rick D

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We could not fault the Sun in any way. Excellent food, service, accommodation and value for money.

Reviewed by
I Turner

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
The Sun Inn would put some 3 Star hotels to shame. The accommodation is detached from the main building and overlooks the extensive beer garden and car park. Our room was clean and comfortable and during our 4 night stay, with breakfast served between 7 and 9, we enjoyed a substantial breakfast that would satisfy the hungriest of travellers. A good selection of bar meals were available at very competitive prices and can be enjoyed served in the bar rooms, the restaurant or beer garden. Every member of staff we found to be friendly, polite and most helpful and who would do their utmost to make your stay a pleasant one. The Sun Inn is situated convenient to Swindon Town and the M4. making it the ideal base to retire to following busy schedule. With only 10 rooms available and its growing popularity, it is advisable to book well in advance to avoid disappointment. If impaired in any way it is best to request a ground floor room as the way up to the top floor may be rather taxing. We have no hesitation in recommending the Sun Inn to anyone and will certainly be returning there ourselves.

Reviewed by
Jim McKenzie

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next