No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Sun Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Coate , , , Swindon, SN3 6AA
The Sun inn has a large garden and inviting playground, we'd like to feel we offer the ideal watering hole for parents with young children, doubly so because we're a stone's throw from Coate Water Country Park, much loved by walkers, boaters and fishermen alike. The Sun Inn is a real family favourite - especially in the summer. Parents can sit back and relax while the children run around on our large lawn, or entertain themselves on the slide and swings. Our thatched summer house is also perfect when the sun's at its brightest and you'd prefer to sit in the shade. Swindon has its origin as a small market town, used mainly for barter trade until the mid-1800s. The original Swindon is now known as Old Town. Take time to wander through its quiet courtyards and alleyways or enjoy a vibrant mix of traditional shops and pubs alongside modern outlets and stylish cafes and bars. Use our website to find out more about tourist information in Swindon. Also situated 3miles from steam and swindon outlet shopping village. Although the new rooms we offer are seperate from the pub they still feel very much a part of it as they sit in our large garden. Built to a very high standard we offer a range of rooms to suit all types including doubles, large luxury with roll top bath and walk in shower, twin or adjoining rooms and 1 room that has wheel chair access and bathroom suited as well. Please be aware that the hotel is set in the large family garden of the pub and can be noisy until late at night on a hot day. Breakfast is included in the price and is served from 7-10.30 am Monday - Friday amd 8am-10.30am Saturday and Sunday PLEASE BE AWARE OF LIVE MUSIC IN THE GARDEN ON THE 1ST SUNDAY OF EVERY MONTH IN THE SUMMER UNTIL 8.30PM OUTDOOR DISCO IN THE GARDEN ON 24TH AUGUST UNTIL 8PM Now as a guest at The Sun Inn you can use the gym and pool facilities at the Holiday Inn opposite
Picture of The Sun Inn, Swindon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect!
Would highly recommend the Sun inn to anyone looking for accommodation in the area. Good location, plenty of parking, easy to find. Facilities are excellent, beer garden, children's play area and right next to Coate Water park.

Reviewed by
Rick Dower

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic place to stay!!
The staff couldn't do enough to help during are stay. The evening staff and the morning staff tryed their upmost to make sure everything was to a high standard and that we enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was fantastic and would recommend The Sun Inn to anyone!

Reviewed by
J Lewis

From Callington, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great new & quiet
Great cabin annex type chalet rooms ,all modern facilities & u/floor heating, mattress probably inferior (where sleep quality is what you want !)

Reviewed by
MARK RADAFORD

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wish I'd found The Sun earlier
I've been working at a local and nationally renowned Building Society for almost 2 years. When I have had to stop over a night I have generally had to use the major name hotels in the area and frankly haven't been that impressed by them. Now and again, I have tried the smaller independent hotels and inns. I had been to the Sun for drinks and food but had not realised that it also provided rooms. When I was searching for a room, at the last minute, last week, I discovered that the Sun offered rooms. I read the reviews and they were very favourable. I found the rooms to be very comfortable, clean and up-to-date. The full English breakfast was great. The customer service from the manager/proprietor was excellent. And to top it all, the price was very reasonable and great value for money. I would recommend this place to anyone. Great.

Reviewed by
Alan S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sun Inn Review
When we arrived (9.30pm) the pub was in full swing as it was a bank holiday. The accommodation was set back from the pub and although very busy, surprisingly you couldn't hear the noise from the bar. The lady at the bar when we booked in was courteous and helpful. The room was clean and tidy. The only fault with the room was the glass aperture in the door which let the light through. Perhaps a curtain or cover would benefit, so that you are not woken by sunlight filtering into the room at 5.00am. Good value - would stay again if visiting in or near Swindon.

Reviewed by
Graham J

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly great
Lovely room good access to all facilities lovely walk in wet room would recommend

Reviewed by
N Brewer

From Cirencester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room..fab breakfast, well worth the money.
would stop again.

Reviewed by
Neil Legg

From Wallsend, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Experience at The Sun
Perfect, friendly, ticked all the boxes for a stay and a band in the evening for a great unexpected touch!

Reviewed by
neil read

From SWINDON, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay
I only stayed the one night, but for the money, the room was great and breakfast in the morning was lovely too.

Reviewed by
Michael O

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic for overnight or longer stay
The accommodation was new last November and was very clean and elegant. The food was excellent - portion sizes very large and beautifully presented. ALL service very friendly and helpful. Country Park very close by. Close to motorway but away from noise - very peaceful. Will definitely book again!

Reviewed by
Sue D

From Folkestone, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next