No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grey Street Hotel

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
2 10, Grey Street , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE1 6AE
Right in the heart of the city centre, this boutique hotel is understated chic and minimalist, situated in a grade 2 listed building and oozing period charm fused with a contemporary style. Included as standard in all rooms are triple glazed windows, hypnos beds, crisp white cotton bed linen, thick fluffy towels, drench showers, soothing toiletries, laptop safe, plasma or LCD TV, DVD player with library, CD player, cafetiere coffee and herbal teas. Theatre Royal 2 min walk, Eldon Square Shopping Centre 2 min walk, Metro Radio Arena 10 min walk, Centre for Life 5 min walk, Central Railway Station 5 minute walk, Monument Metro 2 minute walk, Newcastle Quayside / Millennium Bridge / The Sage Gateshead / Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art 5 minute walk.
Picture of Grey Street Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
After reading previous comments I was a bit dubious. But it was clean, food was nice, beds were soft, everyone was friendly. Really can't complain we would stay again

Reviewed by
E Penny

From Grays, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff
Great location, excellent sound proofing from the street - given its great location. Huge double room - showing signs of tiredness but stylish enough and great value. Best of all are the staff - no fuss, no formalities, no over-trained brand nonsense, just helpful and accommodating.

Reviewed by
Jon G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable Stay!!
Very friendly & helpful staff upon check in. Rooms were clean and very well equipt. The beds were so comfortable I found it very difficult to get out in time for checking out. All in all, good value for money considering the standard & cost of some of the other hotels in the area. Central location and I would certainly come back and stay again.

Reviewed by
Joanne C

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay! could of been better! but still would recommend!
I stayed her with my partner and we did have a lovely stay the only thing is when we got there it would of been nice to be told about the bar they had or the living room or about breakfast but nothing was mentioned, the information was in the book they had put in the room but would of nice if they had of greeted us with the information.
When we came into the room it was small but all you needed the bed was massive! 6ft bed! Had an excellent night sleep! The next day we came down and asked where we could get a drink of juice and you had to buy a breakfast to get some juice which I thought was stupid as your paying the money to stay there they could at least let you buy a bottle of water but never mind we went for some breakfast that cost 10 pound but it was worth it, you get a continental choice of cereals and fruit and yoghurt and you can help your self to the fruit juices and after you have that you get a choice of a hot breakfast I got eggs benedict it was lovely.
Then as we were leaving there was another person in reception and there friend was lounging around the reception with there legs hanging over the settee and as we walked passed he done this massive loud burp! It was disgusting! Not nice when you have just.finished your breakfast! That annoyed me but other than that it was a lovely stay. We would stay again.

Reviewed by
l usher

From Cramlington, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location
We stayed January 2015, the room was lovely and warm, comfortable and clean, had an excellent view of Grey Street. Nice friendly staff. Ideal location for the bars, restaurants and shopping. Will def. be staying here again. It was ideal.

Reviewed by
Mikala P

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired and a bit grubby
Mostly ok for a work stay over but very tired property and my room bore no resemblance to any of the photos
Incredibly noisy heating / cooling.

Reviewed by
Zoe G

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable and comfy
Perfect position in city centre. Bed very comfy and great facilities. Staff very friendly!

Reviewed by
Livvy P

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable quiet room in city Centre
Stayed two nights midweek. Price was cheaper than I expected from previous stay.
Double room was larger than in a chain hotel. Stylish and comfortable. Bed was very comfy. Lovely squash pillows and cushions. Lighting could be improved. None near mirror.
Double glazing effective against traffic noise - heard nothing even in rush hour. Room was not too hot.
Breakfast served in room. Arrived at requested time- really tasty and well cooked
Convenient location to eat out in evening
Friendly staff at desk.

Reviewed by
alison h

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grey Street Hotel
We only stayed the one night but our room was very clean and comfortable and the central location suited us perfectly. Staff extremely pleasant - particularly restaurant staff at breakfast. Only minor criticism was that the room was very hot and we didn't seem able to turn the heating down. Minor detail though.

Reviewed by
Donna Smith

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overall good stay
great location and friendly staff. only minor comment was that it was quite 'creaky' in the nights which was a little disturbing

Reviewed by
Nicola P

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next