No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Kings Arms Inn

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Kings Arms South Street, Stratton on the Fosse, BA34RA
Freshly renovated we have a selection of rooms available from doubles to family rooms. All rooms are en-suite, with tea and coffee making facilities, and freeview TV.

Located inside a traditional country pub where we serve good food, ales, snacks and range of spirits. We serve traditional pub food as well as some special meals. Our menu also changes weekly so there's always something new! A warm atmosphere awaits and we also offer a carvery every Sunday, which is very popular!

Pets are welcome, we also have a lovely Border Collie of our own who is very friendly!

Close to many attractions, including royal Bath spa, Glastonbury Festival and Bath showgrounds. Also close to Longleat, Monkey World, Bristol Zoo and many seaside resorts.

Close to Bristol Airport.

There is a large car park which is free of charge to use.
Picture of The Kings Arms Inn, Stratton on the Fosse at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

loved it and already planning to return!!
The room was immaculate and very homely. The landlady was very welcoming, bent over backwards to accommodate our needs and the breakfast was mouth watering. The inn had a very homely and welcoming feel but also preserved its beautiful historic features.
I would 100% recommend this inn to everyone!!
We have already planned to return for my Birthday in March!
Value for money, very clean, amazing food, great hospitality and all wrapped up in a beautiful inn. What more do you need.

Reviewed by
Tina Lee

From Merthyr Tydfil, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed
bedroom was small,and cluttered, shower tray grubby round edges, water only aired in shower if you increased heat pressure dropped to poor,shower head kept falling down ,However the pub itself was nice and hosts very friendly

Reviewed by
Richard C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
We stayed here as an overnight stop as part of our recent holiday. We were welcomed by Jill who showed us to our room. We ate downstairs in the bar, fed by the hilarious if a bit bonkers Derek, our food was delicious but we didn't get the chance of a pudding as the quiz was about to start.
This was good fun although being a team of two amongst several large very competitive teams we failed miserably.
The highlight of the evening was Derek pogo'ing behind the bar to the punk version of Nellie the Elephant!!
Breakfast was good,a nice dog freindly welcoming stay.

Reviewed by
Lynn Wray

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Friendly Hosts!
We arrived late (10:30pm) but we're given a very friendly welcome at this lovely pub. The rooms were very beautifully decorated and comfortable. We had a drink before going to bed and was made to feel at home by both our hosts and the locals. We left early the next morning (6:30am), too early for breakfast sadly.

Reviewed by
Felicity Moore

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff giving good service, I found staff very helpful and willing to oblige. I would recommend for a relaxing visit. Reasonable and quite good food, could have a better wine selection.

Reviewed by
Henry B

From Delgany, Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hosts we were made to feel very welcome will return

Reviewed by
P Jaynes

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kings Arms
A comfortable and clean property with a warm welcome. Food was very good and reasonably priced.

Reviewed by
J Paine

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night on the Fosse
We stayed at the King's Arms for one night to attend a function locally. Previous reviewers have commented on the friendliness of the staff and I can only concur with that. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was cheerful, including the locals in the bar. The King's Arms is a village pub with two guest rooms, not a hotel, and so long as you go with that expectation I'm sure you will enjoy your stay. Our room was newly refurbished, with a new en-suite bathroom. However, the toilet was just across the landing (a dressing gown was thoughtfully provided) so the room was not completely en-suite - to be fair the booking did say that . In one or two respects the refurbishment appears to be work in progress.
We ate in the bar in the evening; both this meal and the following morning's breakfast were excellent. The bar had a good range of mostly local real ales. Overall this was a nice night's stay.

Reviewed by
Robert Kippin

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another great stay
Second visit and equally as an enjoyable stay. Friendly staff,great food. A real joy to stay at.

Reviewed by
Simon E

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Accidental Booking !!
I treated my Partner to a 'birthday treat night away' after shopping in Bath yesterday. I will admit that the booking spec was meant to be 0.5 miles from Bath Train Station. It turned out that something went wrong and I booked The Kings Arms in Stratton-on-the-Fosse ( 25 mins from Bath) by accident !!! Well, it was the best mistake ever. I have done Posh, Top Named Hotels etc, but if you like 'REAL' people, then this is the place to chill and enjoy. Its not posh, its just so right and down to earth, Gill and Derek run an establishment fit for the real person. They are so willing to tend to your personal needs/requirements as I personally found when they dealt with my request to provide Champagne on Ice, placed in the room for 5.45pm just before our arrival as a little special treat. After enjoying our Champagne, we went downstairs for our meal. Derek cooked our meal whilst Gill tended the bar. She was so sociable with the customers and it made the atmosphere so friendly and relaxed. The meal was lovely and very well priced. Within 15 minutes of finishing our meal some local people asked if they could share our 5 seater table, to which the reply was 'Yes of course' !! Well, we felt so priveliged to be sat with 3 elder locals that kept us very entertained all evening with their stories of every subject you could think of ( thank you Pete, Pam and John) , we needed plastic surgery to remove the smiles from our faces, haha !!! Gill and Derek were so accomadating that when we asked what time breakfast was served till, Gill was so casual to say ' when ever you want it ' !!! Where would you get a laid back service like that I ask ??? ...... At home, not normally in a hotel. We were not treated as a booking, we were treated like family ! We will return because of the friendliness, service and the 'chilled out' feel that was like being amoungst family and friends. See you again in the near future Gill, Derek and friendly Locals

Reviewed by
lesley massey

From Swindon, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next