No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Bear

Not Classified  Inn Ratings explained
White Bear, Monday Market Street , Devizes, SN10 1DN
The White Bear is reputed to be the oldest pub in Devizes, with a lineage that can be traced back to the first recorded landlord in 1567!

It is set close to the market square in the heart of the town. Close enough to the brewery for our beer be delivered by the last working horse drawn dray in the country.

The traditional bar area features original beams and a wood burning stove, giving a wonderful authentic atmosphere.

Serving a full range of wines, spirits and soft drinks, our real pride is in our real ales, brewed at the Wadworths brewery situated less than a mile from the pub. At local real ales are available at all times and we regularly feature seasonal craft ales.

Picture of The White Bear, Devizes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place
Good rooms.Good Beer.Good Food and Wonderful Hosts.
The only fault I can find is that we did not stay longer!!!

Reviewed by
David M

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and good value for money
We came to Devises for the annual carnival. Before we arrived the owner called to let us know to arrive early to avoid road blocks due to the carnival and gave us information about parking etc. They were very friendly and accommodating on arrival and gave us information on what to do in the area over a night cap. The full English Breakfast made the overall stay good value for money. We would stay again.

Reviewed by
Annette B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old 16th century pub plenty of character (and characters ! ) pleasant and friendly staff and a massive breakfast spot on...............

Reviewed by
ALAN C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly personal welcoming service
What a lovely couple run this traditional pub! Chatty, personable and easy to like, they were keen to do all they could to make us welcome. Lovely traditional English breakfast with local bacon after a night in a comfortable, smart room that has been recently modernised. Would certainly stay again if we were anywhere in the area.

Reviewed by
Joss W

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay
excellent value room basic but clean and comfy...excellent local stout!!

Reviewed by
paul hicks

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very relaxed and helpful. For the price you can't go wrong and the beer is pretty good too.
It was comfortable and considering it was a single reasonably spacious.

Reviewed by
John G

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent, friendly and quaint B&B in Devizes
The inn is almost 500 years old, and while it shows its histroy, it doesn't show its age. The place even has WiFi! The inn is very well-maintained and the rooms are excellent.
The greatest part is the helpful couple who own the inn. They're very friendly and helpful, and were very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was also delicious, as is lunch, though the latter isn't included. I'll definetly be staying here again

Reviewed by
R Azman

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

central old inn in need of some investment
Nice attentive owners let down by lack of investment in olde world inn

Reviewed by
nigel s

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay
Extremely good service. Very friendly staff. Breakfast brilliant.

Reviewed by
J Pledger

From Waltham Abbey, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay

Reviewed by
D Jones

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next