No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Bear

Not Classified  Inn Ratings explained
White Bear, Monday Market Street , Devizes, SN10 1DN
The White Bear is reputed to be the oldest pub in Devizes, with a lineage that can be traced back to the first recorded landlord in 1567!

It is set close to the market square in the heart of the town. Close enough to the brewery for our beer be delivered by the last working horse drawn dray in the country.

The traditional bar area features original beams and a wood burning stove, giving a wonderful authentic atmosphere.

Serving a full range of wines, spirits and soft drinks, our real pride is in our real ales, brewed at the Wadworths brewery situated less than a mile from the pub. At local real ales are available at all times and we regularly feature seasonal craft ales.

Picture of The White Bear, Devizes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 29 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect accommodation for a young family
We had a very friendly personal welcome by Jeff and Fiona, the landlord and landlady. The rooms were clean and very spacious - our double had plenty of room for our daughter's travel cot - and after our night out the room was quiet and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was great too. All in all a lovely BnB, fantastic customer service - we were only sorry we couldn't stay for the amazing looking Sunday lunch!

Reviewed by
Victoria P

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value accommodation with obliging hosts
Good clean accommodation - staff very helpful
Happy to recommend it

Reviewed by
S Curry

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Weekend Away
Booked this early on in the year as not many reasonably price hotels in Devixes and we needed a room that particular weekend. It is in an ideal position for the whole town and surrounding amenities. The landlords were excellent and couldnt do enough for us. We had a delicious full English Breakfast each day and the Sunday Lunch was very good. We had the en suite room and it was clean and quiet with tea and coffee facilities. The bed was one of the most comfortable we have slept in.

Reviewed by
Stephen T

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay in Devizes
Excellent stay in the oldest pub in Devizes. Downstairs the pub is old and quaint upstairs the bedroom was new and spotless.
Was really made welcome by the hosts where nothing was too much bother. Will stay again

Reviewed by
Nigel Jolly

From Didcot, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

white bear
warm clean room cosy would stay again no problem.

Reviewed by
richard green

From Thornton Cleveleys, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place
Good rooms.Good Beer.Good Food and Wonderful Hosts.
The only fault I can find is that we did not stay longer!!!

Reviewed by
David M

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and good value for money
We came to Devises for the annual carnival. Before we arrived the owner called to let us know to arrive early to avoid road blocks due to the carnival and gave us information about parking etc. They were very friendly and accommodating on arrival and gave us information on what to do in the area over a night cap. The full English Breakfast made the overall stay good value for money. We would stay again.

Reviewed by
Annette B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old 16th century pub plenty of character (and characters ! ) pleasant and friendly staff and a massive breakfast spot on...............

Reviewed by
ALAN C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly personal welcoming service
What a lovely couple run this traditional pub! Chatty, personable and easy to like, they were keen to do all they could to make us welcome. Lovely traditional English breakfast with local bacon after a night in a comfortable, smart room that has been recently modernised. Would certainly stay again if we were anywhere in the area.

Reviewed by
Joss W

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 night stay
excellent value room basic but clean and comfy...excellent local stout!!

Reviewed by
paul hicks

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next