No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Golden Cross

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
20 Black Jack Street, , , Cirencester, GL7 2AA
Just a short stroll from the town's historic market place, The Golden Cross offers a warm welcome to all, from those seeking a thirst quenching pint of real ale to discerning diners looking for gourmet British cuisine, and of course to weary travellers looking for a bed for the night. While the pub itself dates from the mid-17th Century, The Golden Cross of today has become well known as a welcoming hostelry offering high levels of service, great contemporary food, good company and comfortable, well-equipped bedrooms and suites, including a short- or long-let apartment with flexible accommodation. The inn's town centre location makes The Golden Cross an ideal base for exploring Cirencester's historic back streets with their boutiques, galleries, coffee shops and more, while the award-winning Corinium Museum is situated just a stone's throw from our front door. The Golden Cross Inn is also renowned for its excellent pub food, with head chef Justin Ashley and his kitchen crew offering some of the best contemporary British and European dining available in the area. Add to this a convivial bar overseen by landlord Mark Lindesay, with a choice of real ales, wide-ranging wine list and a great selection of single malt whiskys, and you have perhaps found the perfect place to stay and enjoy the magic of Cirencester and the Cotswolds.
Picture of The Golden Cross, Cirencester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 66% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cosy little b&b
1st time using late rooms, and just wanted somewhere to sleep for 2 nights. No bells and whistles needed. This place provided me with more than I needed at an almost unbelievable price. Definitely can't knock it! Bed was comfy, shower was hot and the pub downstairs serves lovely food. All in all, just what I was after.

Reviewed by
Jack O

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Avoid at all costs
this place was a pit, dirty, dusty & the fridge is covered in mould. No parking. No customer service. If you like wasting (a lot) of money then book here.

Reviewed by
H Mills

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although we checked in as booked we did NOT stay as both rooms very poor and not up to an acceptable standard - one window could not be opened, bed linen soiled, mould, no chef nor food nor breakfast and proprietor smelled heavily of drink and appeared to be having problems. Sorry but could not recommend

Reviewed by
roger p

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Golden Cross Review
Stayed in small single room, very nice, very clean, very good value. Nice pub / restaurant.

Reviewed by
Philip W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No breakfast
No breakfast i thought i had paid for breakfast in price and on 2 occasions asked for clarification which was ambiguous so i had breakfast and was then given a bill for £10 and it got a bit heated. The tv in the room was rubbish and very few channels all together not good avoid this one

Reviewed by
jason c

From Wimborne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, great location
I booked the compact single room at the Golden Cross and it was exactly as described - a small single room! The Inn has a great location and the room was lovely and clean.

Reviewed by
Y Willis

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice location but shan't return
This pub is in a lovely central location but the room I had was cramped and had obviously not been used for a while. I had to just down the kettle before using it and the kettle had water in it which I daren't think how long it had been sitting there. The room had very poorly maintained sash windows which I struggled to close and lock which was essential as there was a flat roof outside. The bathroom was very much in need of an overhaul and tiny. Until closing time I was serenaded by the music from the pub underneath my room. When I left the side door was open which just added to the insecurity I felt.

Reviewed by
f calder

From Cirencester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little scruffy but clean comfy beds and hot water in showers,good television.friendly pub dog.

Reviewed by
Iris I

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean comfy bed,friendly pub dog.

Reviewed by
Iris I

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop off on way back home booked 30min prior to arrival
Friendly staff.
Comfortable beds and pleasant clean room.
Centrally located for walking around the city.
Very good breakfast!

Reviewed by
David M

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next