No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Forge Bed & Breakfast

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Old Forge, East Kennett, , Avebury, SN8 4EY
The Old Forge is a charming 4 star, Gold Award, bed and breakfast in East Kennett, a small village in the heart of Wiltshire’s prehistoric downland countryside. We are only 1 mile from the world heritage sites of the Avebury Stone circle, Silbury Hill and the West Kennett Long barrow. Crop circles can also be discovered during the summer months. The house is a beautifully restored former smithy which has been extensively renovated to an extremely high standard. It's light, airy and spacious and has a wonderful outlook over the River Kennet. The large bedrooms are stylish and tastefully furnished, with ensuite facilities, TV and Wi-Fi and are equipped to a high standard, they all have wonderful countryside views. Guests are served breakfast in the large open plan kitchen. The award winning breakfast menu features local and home-made produce and offers a wide choice, including vegetarian. Packed lunches and luggage transfer available upon request We are a no smoking property. We welcome pets by prior arrangement. All room rates (apart from the family room) are for 2 guests per night, for any additional guests please contact The Old Forge If you pay your accomodation balance at The Old Forge by credit card, we will add a 5% handling charge .
Picture of The Old Forge Bed & Breakfast, Avebury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent friendly b&b close to Avebury
We found The Old Forge as we were taking part in the Macmillan Stonehenge to Avebury 26 mile trekathon on 2nd August. The b&b was close to the finish which was ideal given how tired we were after completing the trek. As we were starting very early we were kindly given some cereals & bread for toasting & milk in our room. The room itself (en suite with kitchen) was spacious & comfortable & more than adequate for our needs. Equally satisfying was the full English breakfast the next morning.
All in all a lovely friendly b&b ideally situated for anyone looking to explore this wonderful part of the country.

Reviewed by
Stephen B

From Waltham Cross, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Leslie & Laura have a lovely guest house, super breakfast. We will certainly return next near

Reviewed by
ERNEST LAKIN

From Swadlincote, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B
This is a lovely B&B in a lovely location - quiet and tranquil. They even have a garden area with a small stream, along with benches you can sit on to while away the warm day and evening. I stayed in lovely room within the main house, with my own bathroom, but they also have a couple of rooms that have their own entrance from outside on the ground floor, if you would prefer that. Breakfast for all is in the lovely farmhouse kitchen, though if you have an early start, as I did one day, you can have a continental breakfast left in your room the night before, including milk and yogurt in the mini-fridge. Great idea.

Reviewed by
M Biddiss

From Stirling, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Class B&B
What a really nice place - room and breakfast as nice as I've found - would not hesitate to recommend it

Reviewed by
P P

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

recommended
Lovely cosy room, tasteful decor, comfy bed. All very clean.

Reviewed by
Mandy F

From Daventry, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we really liked our stay. service was A1.
Great food, room clean but on the small side.

Reviewed by
David M

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B. We were made very welcome, with loads of information. Our room was well equipped and very clean. The beds were very comfortable and my wife and I had a very comfortable night. Breakfast in the morning was great, cooked by the owners daughter. The B&B is convenient for Avebury and they have some good recommendations for dinner in local pubs.

Reviewed by
Roger Clear

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quite simply, the best B& B I have ever stayed in

Reviewed by
Philip C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old Forge Excelent
A very good B&B. Nice people, lovely room and great breakfast.
Only stayed one night so will return as the location is great, loads to do and see.

Reviewed by
Geoff S

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

10 out of 10 in every aspect
High quality b&b in idyllic countryside location. Excellent customer service and food. The propriorters were very friendly and had a lot of local knowledge which was very helpful. Tastefully decorated and very clean and tidy throughout. The bed was extremely comfortable and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this accommodation to all I know. Is definately the best b&b I have had the pleasure of staying in.

Reviewed by
L Gilder

From Towcester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next