No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Damson Cottage B&B

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Damson Cottage B&B, Reybridge, , Lacock, SN15 2PF
Damson Cottage is a cosy B&B constructed from traditional Wiltshire stone, with the oldest part of the cottage dating back some 250 years. It is situated in the stunning hamlet of Reybridge near Lacock only 8 miles from junction 17 of the M4 & just 20 minutes from Bath.

The house is set in picturesque grounds with paddocks for our horses & chickens. We are surrounded by lovely countryside in a peaceful and idyllic location and so the cottage has views across fields home to grazing cattle & horses. We are just one minute from the river Avon, and have many footpaths close by so you can enjoy relaxing walks, or you can sit outside in our lovely garden and enjoy a glass of wine (weather permitting!)

We have three guest rooms available, all beautifully decorated with flat screen TV’s & DVD players, we are also able to offer free Wi-Fi. Each room has tea & coffee making facilities, with locally sourced biscuits for those of you with a sweet tooth! We also supply complimentary toiletries for all of our guests.

The village of Lacock and the Medieval cloistered Abbey is just a 10 minutes walk away. Lacock is a uniquely preserved 18th century village and has been owned by the National Trust since 1944, little has changed in the past two hundred years. The village boasts 3 pubs and a very good restaurant, all serving food & we would be happy to make a booking for you.

Lacock is also known as the home of photography as William Henry Fox Talbot, the inventor of the negative, lived at the Abbey. Over the past 15 years Lacock & the Abbey have featured in a number of film & TV productions including Harry Potter, Pride and Prejudice & more recently, Cranford.

The Roman City of Bath is an easy 10 mile drive or one stop on the train from Chippenham. There are many other places to visit within half an hour’s drive Dyrham Park, Bradford on Avon, The Courts at Holt, Avebury Stones, Corsham Court. Further a field, within an hour is Stonehenge, Westonbirt Arboretum.
Picture of Damson Cottage B&B, Lacock at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

delightful experience in dorchester
an excellent hotel.

Reviewed by
katherine reynolds

From Meifod, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming cottage
We had a wonderfully warm welcome from Dilly on arrival at the cottage in the rain. We loved the ambience there and the cosy atmosphere. The only slight inconvenience was the shared bathroom with other guests. It was a brief but enjoyable stay in visiting Lacock. The breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Hugh Chaun

From Vancouver, Canada
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming Cottage
Very comfortable accommodation in lovely surroundings. Only a 20 minute walk across lovely countryside to Lacock village. The owners of Damson Cottage were very hospitable, friendly and helpful people. The bed was a kingsize (very unusual) and very comfortable. The orchard is made available for guests to sit which was very pleasant. Breakfast was served in a very nice dining room and the food was very good and well presented.

Reviewed by
Ian Hallworth

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

90
good foods,チッペナムの駅まで迎えにきてくれた。とても助かった。日本にいたことがあり多少の日本語が話せるのは嬉しい。イギリスのカントリーサイドを経験するならとても良い。歴史的建物。朝食も豪華。果物ヨーグルト、フルイングリッシュ、。難を言うなら、室内に水道がないので手を洗ったり洗顔は共同のトイレとバスを使用すること位です。鉄道駅まで送迎してくれます。レイコックまでパブリックパスを歩いて10分程度です。

Reviewed by
HITOMI O

From Japan
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful location and welcoming hosts
We absolutely loved our night at Damson cottage. A really beautiful property, just a pretty 10 minute walk from Lacock. Our hosts were friendly & welcoming. We didn't want to leave!

Reviewed by
Kate W

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Damson Cottage B&B
The place took a little bit of finding, but is nicely situated and extremely convenient if you're visiting Laycock (which we weren't). The room was nice and clean and decently furnished; the bed was fairly comfortable. The lack of en suite was more of an issue for us than for some of your reviewers - padding along the landing during the night and, especially, waiting for other guests to vacate the bathroom in the morning was a bit of a pain. The shower, though, was great and the breakfast was beautifully cooked, and Dilly was very welcoming and helpful. Overall, a good experience.

Reviewed by
David M

From Caerdydd, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dilly made us very welcome and the standard of the accommodation is very high. A lovely B&B.

Reviewed by
J Salloum

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely cottage
A very friendly welcome. Good sized room for a family with a teenager. Breakfast was superb. A little walk into the village of Lacock, but this added to the charm of the cottage. Would definitely recommend staying here.

Reviewed by
SARA H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely country retreat.
Dilly is a lovely lady who wants to make you feel at home. Damson cottage is a beautiful country style cottage set in lovely countryside. Access to Lacock Abbey is a 2 minute drive or 10 minute country walk. I shared a small but comfortable twin room with my daughter. Considering this was a wintery cold weekend, the cottage was really warm. The bath shower room was clean and fresh. In all, a lovely experience. Dilly offers that personal touch you won't find in larger hotel stays.

Reviewed by
I Meares

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.