You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Rivendell Guest House

4

58 Kings Road West, Swanage, BH19 1HR

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (29)

93% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Janet Candlish

  • July 2016

Brilliant

Our stay was excellent, everyone very friendly, the room was lovely and the breakfasts were the best.

Would highly recommend. Don't think there is anything too improve.

  • Jake Sheppard

  • June 2016

Rivendell Guest House

Nice friendly owners, very accomodating helpful.

Food excellant. Close to beach, shops, station easy walk to all. No off road parking but we had no problems on road parking very close to Rivendell. Definately use again.

  • James Harrison

  • June 2016

Rivendell Guest House

Excellent stay, very friendly and helpful staff with local knowledge.

We had a very enjoyable time as the area is lovely and the B&B is very central.

  • Melanie M

  • December 2015

Beautiful Accommodation

Laterooms allowed me to book breakfast but this was not available.

Owner did offer cancellation but I had booked close to date of stay so chose to continue. On arrival I was asked when I was planning to leave as owner was going on the bus Xmas shopping at 10.20am. I left at 10 past to accommodate this. Room was beautiful, excellent facilities. Didn't like the heating going off for the night but cozy in the morning. Would have preferred the bed to be a double, not two singles pushed together. But the bed was comfortable. A lovely room and owners pleasant and helpful. Close to the town centre.

Response from hotel

Thank you for your review. When you arrived we did ask what time you were planning on leaving in the morning as some guests are up and gone extremely early, in which case we would have accessed payment details from the booking information provided. We do however prefer to do the financial transaction direct with our guests and personally check them out. During this chat I did mention we were hoping to leave around 10.20 to go Christmas shopping but you yourself mentioned you would be leaving around 10am to go shopping yourselves… so I am sorry if you felt you had to ‘accommodate’us, as I explained our leaving had no impact on you at all as you were more than welcome to stay in your room until 10.30 and I was happy to access you card details online.

Despite the exceptionally warm weather for this time of year, our central heating is still on from 4pm until 11.30 pm and again at 6.30am and the bed you slept in is a Hotel contract superking size zip and link bed, bolted and secured, it also has a thick mattress topper, not two separate beds pushed together as you state. We Just wanted to clarify those few points as to not to give misinformation out to any future guests reading your review.

  • Vivien D

  • October 2015

Very pleasant guest house, conveniently located to local amenities (we could see the steam trains from our bedroom window).

There is no off street parking but we didn't have much trouble finding a space on the street. The bedroom we had was in the eaves and there were a few occasions when I bumped my head!. This was offset by the luxury of a good sized bath.

  • Andrew U

  • September 2015

Comfortable but small

The room was not as booked the owner suggested booking site was in error.

Clean, comfortable bed and well presented , because it was an attic room the ceilings were slanted and low, kept banging my head!. Bathroom well furnished although with no headroom

the shower couldn't be used as I could only kneel stand down in the bath. A price reduction would be fair for this attic room. Chose not to have breakfast but probably would have if inclusive.

Overall i felt cost was high for this room although in general prices seem to be high in the area.

  • Jo H

  • September 2015

Would go back again

Lovely hosts, great location and fab breakfasts

  • Nick M

  • August 2015

3 day anniversary break

A great B&B.

Breakfast - quality, variety and quantity all fantastic and reflecting their use of produce from local organic farm. Also great homemade cakes that they put in bags to take out for the day - I'm still recovering from the chocolate brownie. Service and care also excellent - having seen anniversary cards in our room, we came down to breakfast the next day to find red hearts scattered across it, a candle and some celebrations. Would definitely return there.

  • a di salvo

  • August 2015

brilliant location, great service very clean, great owners.

  • David M

  • August 2015

Great place to stay

Absolutely loved my stay and will be booking again next time I'm in Swanage.

I was down for a few days fishing and wanted good accommodation close to the sea. This was perfect as it's only a few minutes walk to the sea, shops, pubs and restaurants. Also there's free parking outside the guesthouse which is very handy. Room and breakfast were great and such a friendly welcome from the owners. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.