No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - George Hotel

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
65 Dorchester Road, , , Weymouth, DT4 7JX
We provide a friendly No-Smoking bed and breakfast service for our 6 bedrooms which include single, twin, double and family accommodation. Our large off-road private car park offers Free Parking with space for all of our guests - a distinct advantage at busy times. The Hotel is around 5 minutes' walk from Weymouth's sea front and beach on the beautiful Dorset coast and approximately 15 minutes' walk from the town centre, marina and ferry port. Our comfortable guest rooms and a full English breakfast cater for all who wish to enjoy this popular seaside resort and all the amenities it has to offer - tourists and business clients alike. The George Hotel also has comfortable communal rooms for our guests to use during their stay including our large spacious, light and airy dining room. En-suite family room available upon request with special rates for families.
Picture of George Hotel, Weymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly place, clean and tidy would stay again

Reviewed by
chris p

From Broxbourne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Excellent breakfast, fresh and cooked to order. Great location, 10 mins walk into Weymouth.

Reviewed by
Anne G

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

private and confidental
nice and tidy room.Very quiet area-perfect for relax.
10 minutes walk from sea side.
Food was ok,the owner really nice and helpful.

Reviewed by
M WRONSKA-PANAS

From Mitcham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Place
Lovely and welcoming hosts.
The room was a little on the small side, but that's really all.
Top value. Thanks.

Reviewed by
Michael Pollitt

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An Enjoyable Stay
Like to say thank you for such a nice stay- room was excellent and breakfast very good would recommend .

Reviewed by
I Bolderson

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room excellent size very clean bathroom small in comparison to room food very good

Reviewed by
Lynne G

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good clean bed and breakfast
Friendly, clean, good food, near beach plenty of parking. Great

Reviewed by
D Maybury

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not what i was expecting
When searching for a hotel to stay in weymoutth i found this bed and breakfast which had good reviews and looked good through the pics.. But when we got there it wasn't what i was expecting.
First the whole place, with exception to the bathroom looked tired, Then the bed in our bedroom was broken and we had a pretty bad night sleep because of it (the matress was basically on the floor). On the next morning we complained about it to the owner and she politely apologised and changed the bed.
Another thing was about the bathroom which was shared and i didn't know as it was not specified in the description in the website..
The breakfast was good, but i think there could be some fruits and other options of drinks..

ManagementResponse

Firstly, may we say that all rooms, indeed the whole place, has been recently re-furbished, with new carpets throughout, new modern dining room furniture etc. It is a Victorian building. This room is a 'budget double room with shared bathroom and toilet', as clearly stated on all other websites. However, since we more recently linked with LateRooms via Eviivo, it appears that the full correct description has not been transferred to their website, but simply states 'double room'. It has not previously been a problem with other websites, but we have now taken this up with LateRooms as a matter of urgency for them to clarify that this room only is not en-suite. The bed situation was immediately rectified, as the guest has stated, but this illustrates the importance of telling us of any problems, rather than posting them in a review a week later. We offer the usual 'guest house' range of teas, coffee and juice and there are always fresh bananas, apples etc available.

Reviewed by
Barbara F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not the most comfortable place to stay
Unfortunately unlike most our stay at the George, Weymouth wasn't very good. The bed was dipped, broken and uncomfortable. Also really low to the ground, so not great if you have a bad back!! The electrical's had no signs of being tested (pretty sure that is illegal!).Also presentation of decorating was not fantastic maybe i'm being picking but people pay to stay here!! However it was very clean. We arrived at a time which had been discussed with the owners, however we didn't feel welcomed, as we were moaned at for arriving at a late time! So first impressions were not great! After our first night of feeling unwelcome and bad sleep, We went down for breakfast which was good, however, the unfriendly welcome again disappointed us. We stayed in Room.7 which has a separate bathroom which was not informed to us until arrival. The George seems to be lacking good quality customer service. Overall it was a shocking stay and not worth the money.

ManagementResponse

We are obviously very disappointed to read this review and would like to apologise. However, why, oh why did these guest not tell US all this when they were here, when we would have been in a better position to rectify any complaints. We have no idea why they have made such a comment about the electrics. We had a routine full electrical test carried out only a few weeks ago and have all the certificates to prove it. We really feel that this is a very unfair and ungrounded comment. All our rooms have been recently decorated, so we are sorry it did not meet with their approval. Room 7 is the 'budget' double room and is not advertised as 'en-suite'. We have never before had any misunderstandings on this point. However, we convey our apologies to these guests and we are only sorry that they are not amongst the many guests who are very happy here and rebook to come again.

Reviewed by
Sarah A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had a nice stay,basic room but clean and quiet,james was a great host nothing to much trouble
close to beach as stated lovely walk into town,plenty of car parking space a great bonus didnt use it whole of our stay.
still ongoing projects at the gorge but we had a good stay would stay again.

Reviewed by
isobel c

From street, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next