No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lakes End Country Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Newby Bridge, , , Ulverston, LA12 8ND
Lakes End is a lovely old Westmorland stone country house set within a beautiful terraced garden. We are located at the southern end of Lake Windermere in Newby Bridge, close to popular Lake District and coastal tourist attractions as well as local wedding venues. We cater for a range of guests; couples and families on breaks in the lakes, business people working locally and wedding guests attending events at the popular Swan Hotel and the Newby Bridge Hotel, both of which can be walked to on foot easily within 5 minutes. All of our rooms are individually decorated to a modern style and have refurbished en-suite bath/shower room facilities installed during the last few years. We have double, single, family and twin rooms available, giving us a variety of room options for your party. We serve delicious breakfasts to suit all, from continental to a full English. We are fully licenced to serve drinks in the dining room, gardens or bedrooms. Whilst staying at Lakes End, you can enjoy lovely country walks. Within five minutes you can board the steam railway at Newby Bridge Halt, travelling to Haverthwaite or Lakeside. At Lakeside visit the Aquarium of the Lakes, and then board a steamer to Bowness-on-Windermere and Ambleside. Other popular attractions include, The World of Beatrix Potter, Hill Top House, Blackwell The Arts & Crafts House, Cartmel Priory and Racecourse, Grizedale Forest, Tarn Hows, Holker Hall and Gardens, Fell Foot Park, Hawkshead Village and the market town of Ulverston.
Picture of Lakes End Country Guest House, Ulverston at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

February 2015 Visit
A friendly guest house with very good value rooms and excellent breakfast. Close to restaurants for evening meal. Will definitely stay there again

Reviewed by
Terry Parkin

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Guesthouse accommodation at its very best
Recommended for its location near the southern end of Lake Windermere, the comfortable and clean ensuite room and the excellent breakfast. Parking off road.

Reviewed by
Janet T

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday treat
Value for money guest house. Bed very comfortable and good breakfast. Convenient location ate at the swan hotel which is a short walk away good food, relaxing lounges. Lakes End did state on their web site that they provide an evening meal on request which we did but unfortunately they could not provide one on the night we stayed but luckily we were able to eat at the Swan.

Reviewed by
Susan C

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two couples in the Lakes
Friendly owner, smallish bedroom, but knew that from description. Property clean. Nice breakfast. Reasonable Internet connection. No parking problem. Easy access from main road.

Reviewed by
P Allwood

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Place To Stay
Only stayed one night, room was clean and cosy. Slept like a log, the bed was very comfy and we were asleep within minutes. Frank was very pleasant and we had a lovely breakfast the following morning. Wish we had booked two nights and will definitely stay again when up at the lakes.
Worth every penny.

Reviewed by
p lindon

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gateway to the lakes.
The type of accommodation you feel cosy in. All the normal comforts are there plus a lovely breakfast. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Dave B

From Coulsdon, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay with nice breakfast, will stay again
stayed here for work. the room was comfortable and I enjoyed the breakfast. will stay here again in the future.

Reviewed by
E Tully

From tralee , Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful

Reviewed by
SIMON YORK

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lakes end
Frank very accommodating. Lovely decoration throughout guest house. Free admission into The Swan Hotel across the road's amenities. Fab breakfast. Would recommend

Reviewed by
michelle b

From Colne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A perfect spot for your getaway
We booked this room very last minute ( 2 days before). there wasn't much choice when I was booking and thought this was the best room available and I was right! From the moment we arrived the customer service we received was fantastic very welcoming the room was modern, exceptionally clean and the bed was lovely and comfy. There was a good choice for breakfast and it was beautifully cooked and they had the gluten free toast I requested when I booked which is a first for me. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and we will be visiting again very soon.

Reviewed by
Sarah G

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next