No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lakes End Country Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
Newby Bridge, , , Ulverston, LA12 8ND
Lakes End is a lovely old Westmorland stone country house set within a beautiful terraced garden. We are located at the southern end of Lake Windermere in Newby Bridge, close to popular Lake District and coastal tourist attractions as well as local wedding venues. We cater for a range of guests; couples and families on breaks in the lakes, business people working locally and wedding guests attending events at the popular Swan Hotel and the Newby Bridge Hotel, both of which can be walked to on foot easily within 5 minutes. All of our rooms are individually decorated to a modern style and have refurbished en-suite bath/shower room facilities installed during the last few years. We have double, single, family and twin rooms available, giving us a variety of room options for your party. We serve delicious breakfasts to suit all, from continental to a full English. Evening meals are available on request and we are fully licenced to serve drinks in the dining room, gardens or bedrooms. Free use of local leisure facilities are available, we have two guest passes to the Swan Hotel swimming pool, spa and gym so bring your leisure gear! (Please note we only have two passes so if other guests are using them you will have to wait for their return) Whilst staying at Lakes End, you can enjoy lovely country walks. Within five minutes you can board the steam railway at Newby Bridge Halt, travelling to Haverthwaite or Lakeside. At Lakeside visit the Aquarium of the Lakes, and then board a steamer to Bowness-on-Windermere and Ambleside. Other popular attractions include, The World of Beatrix Potter, Hill Top House, Blackwell The Arts & Crafts House, Cartmel Priory and Racecourse, Grizedale Forest, Tarn Hows, Holker Hall and Gardens, Fell Foot Park, Hawkshead Village and the market town of Ulverston.
Picture of Lakes End Country Guest House, Ulverston at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 10 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay with nice breakfast, will stay again
stayed here for work. the room was comfortable and I enjoyed the breakfast. will stay here again in the future.

Reviewed by
E Tully

From tralee , Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful

Reviewed by
SIMON YORK

From Rugby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lakes end
Frank very accommodating. Lovely decoration throughout guest house. Free admission into The Swan Hotel across the road's amenities. Fab breakfast. Would recommend

Reviewed by
michelle b

From Colne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A perfect spot for your getaway
We booked this room very last minute ( 2 days before). there wasn't much choice when I was booking and thought this was the best room available and I was right! From the moment we arrived the customer service we received was fantastic very welcoming the room was modern, exceptionally clean and the bed was lovely and comfy. There was a good choice for breakfast and it was beautifully cooked and they had the gluten free toast I requested when I booked which is a first for me. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and we will be visiting again very soon.

Reviewed by
Sarah G

From Northwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful country retreat!
A fine old house, quiet even though just off the A road. Friendly hosts. Rooms a good size and well decorated with modern fittings.
The breakfast offered a varied selection, no stinting on the portions and used excellent local produce.
The locale makes for a peaceful retreat, the back roads and A roads mean you can explore South Lakeland easily, lots of hostelries around and a very short drive can get you to the steam train at
Haverthwaite or the Windermere Steamers at Lakeside (or just combine the two!).
A great place to relax.

Reviewed by
Jeremy F

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

newby bridge
Just what I was hoping for, a traditional family run small Lakeland hotel, quiet, comfortable and friendly.

Reviewed by
gareth edwards

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Lovely modern room. It was a bit on the small side, but fine for one night.

Reviewed by
Ilana B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Lovely b&b. Perfect for a country break.
Great location for travelling around the Lakes!

Reviewed by
Thomas A

From INDIANAPOLIS, USA
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful counrtry house.
Beautifully presented accommodation. Superb breakfast.

Reviewed by
Julie J

From Broseley, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

summer 2013
Nice place, really noisy plumbing that was so bad it became unbearable. Lot's of doors slammed during the night by fellow guests kept us awake also.

Reviewed by
David B

From Selkirk, Scotland
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.