No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - High Dalby House

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
High Dalby House Dalby Forest Drive, Dalby, Pickering, YO18 7LP
High Dalby House offers Country House accommodation and the perfect ambience to help you relax and unwind. We cater exclusively for adults in a unique setting with stunning views in the heart of Dalby Forest in the North Yorkshire Moors National Park. We proudly offer the highest standards of housekeeping, accommodation, food and customer care in our 5 luxury guest rooms and 2 self catering cottages. High Dalby House is a truly special place set in over 6 private acres with woodland walks, gardens, trout stream, lake and floodlit tennis court and an abundance of wildlife for our guests to enjoy. If you prefer more strenuous activities we have world class mountain biking and the “Go Ape” high wire tree adventure and Segway Trail on our doorstep. Gentler activity may be experienced on the many waymarked walks throughout the forest. We have secure storage for mountain bikes and drying facilities for cyclists and walkers. If you become over intoxicated by our fresh air and on site facilities then we can also provide the ideal base to explore nearby Pickering, Thornton-le-Dale, the Heritage Coast, York and the rest of North Yorkshire. Free WiFi, free fishing, free tennis.
Picture of High Dalby House, Pickering at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another excellent weekend
This small hotel, for adults only, has beautiful rooms that are tastefully decorated and exceptionally clean. It is situated in the peaceful surroundings of Dalby Forest, with fantastic views over the gardens and lake.
The hosts Sandra and David, are so friendly and efficient, their attention to detail is second to none.
The breakfast is all cooked fresh with locally sourced food and there is a wide choice to suit all tastes.
Anyone looking for a quiet relaxing weekend or week away, would struggle to find better accommodation than this.

Reviewed by
Julie Wood

From Barnsley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

High Dalby House is excellent
Whilst the hotel is a little isolated it is a fabulous place and the owners could not have been more welcoming and attentive. The breakfasts were nothing short of wonderful. Could have stayed for weeks not just a few days

Reviewed by
Robert Stokes

From Ashby de la Zouch, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yorkshire Perfection
We had a wonderful 2 night stay. The location of the house is absolutely fabulous. The views from the back garden are incredible and we were blessed with great weather. I didn't want to leave.The peace of this place is tangible.
The décor of the bedrooms is quite unusual and extremely comfortable.
The breakfasts very very nice- all cooked to order and nothing was too much trouble. The hosts David and Sandra and son James are easy to get on with and hugely welcoming. Thank you to them.

Reviewed by
J Flintoft

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place, great location!
Stayed at high Dalby house for 2 nights and can't think of one bad thing to say about it. Location in Dalby forest is perfect. Stayed in the kingfisher cottage, really nicely decorated, super comfortable with some lovely touches, heated bathroom floor was very nice! Kitchen was had everything we needed. And the grounds are beautiful. Would 100% recommend high Dalby. And David and Sandra were really helpful. Thank you

Reviewed by
Scott Page

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location in a beautiful setting
An excellent location. A beautiful setting. Ideal for walks or just relaxing. We're rarely ones to consider going back... but we soon may. My wife is pregnant and her Chinese mother will come over soon, so we may go there to relax one weekend.

Reviewed by
j liu

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect retreat
My partner and I stayed for two nights with the intention of unwinding and totally chilling out... We couldn't have wished for a better place! Idyllic surroundings and the most perfect self catering cottage to stay. Hosts we're welcoming and friendly informing us of local attractions and walks. Will definitely return again to enjoy the tranquility of Dalby Forest in home from home accommodation :-)

Reviewed by
A Marshall

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The quality of the accommodation was first class. A lot of thought had been given to all aspects, both great and small. The room was bright and airy, beautifully furnished, and the bathroom was to die for!! The setting of the hotel was wonderful, quiet and peaceful with a huge garden and trout pond; a good centre for the surrounding countryside, both for walkers and others. The breakfast was extensive and excellent, well coooked and tasty. The proprietors were both friendly and helpful which helped make our stay enjoyable. We would certainly go again.

Reviewed by
Michael Andrews

From Bingley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay in the forest of north yorkshire
A very warm welcome, even though I didn't arrive until 22:30. Room was fantastic, HD TV, DVD player, good Wi-Fi, Iphone charger/speaker, usual refreshments. Bed was so comfortable and warm, best sleep in a long time! The breakfast is something else so much choice of good quality foods. View from room was great and would love to see it in Spring/Autumn. The location in the middle of the forest and no O2 signal made it so much better for me I look forward to returning in 2013. Real quality place to relax and enjoy!

Reviewed by
Andrew T

From Basingstoke, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.