No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Strand Hotel

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
19 Westby Road, , , Bournemouth, BH5 1HA
The Strand Hotel provides clean and comfortable rooms at reasonable prices. The hotel is ideally situated about 500 metres from Boscombe beach and surf reef, and a pleasant 2km walk along the seafront takes you to the centre of Bournemouth with its many attractions including shops and department stores, nightclubs, restaurants and cafes, parks, aquarium and aviary, crazy golf, and fairground rides on the seafront. The O2 Academy, Bournemouth is a 3 minute walk from the hotel, and AFC Bournemouth football ground is about 1 mile away. Bournemouth (Hurn) Airport just 15 minutes drive. You can book coach trips and boat trips to destinations such as Brownsea Island or Corfe Castle. Our objective is to provide stylish accommodation with a homely feel in a relaxing and stress-free atmosphere. You can enjoy free wireless internet throughout the hotel, SKY TV in the lounge, and ping-pong in the garden. At breakfast, you can choose either to help yourself at a buffet offering cereals (including gluten-free) bread and toast, jams and spreads, fruit, fruit salad and yoghurt, orange juice, milk, tea and coffee, or you can order a cooked English breakfast the night before, served in the breakfast room at a time to suit you. You can make tea and coffee in your room, and checkout is at 11am. There is a variety of types of rooms, from small single to ensuite kingsize, to suit your requirements and budget. Look for our special offers on extended bookings, and business stays (Sunday - Thursday). The O2 Academy Bournemouth is a 3 minute walk from the hotel, and AFC Bournemouth football ground is about 1 mile away. Bournemouth (Hurn) Airport just 15 minutes drive. We look forward to hearing from you, to ensure that your time in Bournemouth is a refreshing and rewarding experience.
Picture of The Strand Hotel, Bournemouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money and close to the beach.
Highly recommended, ease of parking and rooms were clean and tidy, best breakfast I have had a longtime.

Reviewed by
A Cooper

From Budapest, Hungary
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean comfortable accomodation
Accommodation that was welcoming to both myself and my Guide Dog.

Reviewed by
Nikki Allan

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Break away
Very comfortable hotel and well run,would certainly not hesitate to return

Reviewed by
Mike Nurse

From Penryn, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely guest house, nothing is too much trouble been twice and will go back.

Reviewed by
DEENA TOMKINSON

From Brackley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent spotlessly clean friendly hotel
This is the cleanest and most friendly hotel that I have stayed in for a long time. I would highly recommend it.

Reviewed by
Penelope Miller

From Gosport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Same time next year
Once again excellent accommodation , the cooked breakfast was fantastic, will defiantly be back again next year. Thanks Carl

Reviewed by
Diane White

From Wincanton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent !!!
Highly recommended. Roomy, clean, all amenities, very helpful proprietor. Will stay here again when we are in the area.

Reviewed by
Roger Bate

From Tring, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we have stayed here before and it has been very good. The English breakfast is cooked fresh for you and there is so much it sets you up for the day. We will certainly return.

Reviewed by
D Hebbes

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Strand Hotel Bournemouth
I knew before I went that it was a single room and that it was a shared bathroom, and I was happy with that. Everything was very clean, I had no problem getting into the bathroom as I got up early! I never saw a queue there either. The breakfast was excellent. I did not use it but it was good there was a guest lounge and outside seating. I enjoyed my stay and have another night booked for later

Reviewed by
Ruth K

From Sutton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The strand!!!! Great hotel!!!
We stayed at the Strand for two night on visit to Bournemouth sea side.
very friendly welcome from Karl, we felt very comfortable, and the staff!!!! ouaouuu !!
wonderful breakfast

Reviewed by
Aline M

From London, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next