No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Castle Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
48 NEW PARK STREET , DEVIZES, SN10 1DS
The Castle Hotel, in the picturesque Wiltshire town of Devizes, is a privately run 18th Century Hotel, situated near the banks of the Kennet and Avon Canal, famous for the flight of 29 locks over the 230 foot Caen Hill. Visitors from all over the world flock to the Kennet and Avon Canal to watch or participate in the famous Devizes to Westminster Canoes Race. The Hotel is also a perfect location for cyclists to stop off on their journey to London or Bristol. Other areas of natural beauty and historical interest nearby include: Avebury, Stonehenge and Silbury Hill.

The Castle Hotel is just metres away from the historic Wadworth's Brewery offering a number of traditional brewed ales delivered to us by dray horse and cart. (On Thursdays you will find the dray horse and cart at The Castle Hotel where you are welcome to offer the shire horses a small treat.) Devizes is close to many major towns and cities including Bristol, Swindon, Salisbury and Bath, making it an ideal base from which you can explore the surrounding area. The M4 is the nearest motorway, accessible from Hungerford at Junction 18, Chippenham at Junction 17, Swindon at Junction's 15 and 16 or Bath at Junction 14. Major roads include the A4, A303, A342 and the A361.

We pride ourselves on offering great service in a relaxed, friendly environment throughout our bar, hotel and restaurant. All our facilities have recently undergone a refurbishment, which has made our bar and restaurant very popular with the locals. The 19 bedroom Hotel which has always been popular with tourist and business guests alike has had lots of additions to update this traditional Hotel.
Picture of The Castle Hotel, DEVIZES at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely atmosphere!
We stayed just one night as we travelled up from Devon, we were made very welcome and the staff were very friendly too! Our room was very comfortable as was the bed! Will stay again and recommend

Reviewed by
Susan Mckissick

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend visit
Parking appeared difficult. It was limited but worked ok. Not comfortable. Staff were friendly and attentive. Food was just ok. Nothing flash. Egg breakfasts were good but the full English was bland fare. Unsmoked bacon, soggy black pudding, dull beans and a cold hash brown. Not good. Had no need for speed of service but would have irked if we had. Evening meal was acceptable pub grub...what we ordered we got. Beer very good and wine prices reasonable.

Reviewed by
David F

From Chard, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So So
It was ok.
The staff were very helpful but it was a bit overpriced, and we were disappointed that the terrace closed at 9pm and that there was no electricity from midnight to when we checked out. And no one really apologised about this ;0!

Reviewed by
G Roberts

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Hassle at the Castle
Ideal central Hotel. Stayed in a very quiet comfortable room at the rear of the hotel. Front rooms apparently can be noisy. Very good value, would recommend.

Reviewed by
Martin B

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stay for business
nice clean tidy hotel
close to town centre for shops bars ,resturants
parking was the only issue but i did have a large van so this quite often causes issues

Reviewed by
jason milsom

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bells what Bells.
As mentioned by other Reviewers yes you can hear Bells throughout the night. Thats not too say that you wont get a good night's sleep. Bed was very comfortable, the room and en-suit were clean and tidy. Nice decor and oldie worldie fittings. The Staff are very friendly and courteous. Not much parking available at the Hotel, although there was street parking or Pay and Display near.
Please check the UHT Milk and Cream cartons in the rooms..We found 2 that were out of date.
All in all a reasonably priced Hotel that suited Our needs.

Reviewed by
David L

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Like staying with friends
Amazing staff, who always put our needs first!
Would definitely recommend this place.

Reviewed by
Sarah N

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was excellent (scrambled eggs and salmon to die for), and the room was warm and comfortable. Earplugs were available, though I didn't need mine.

Reviewed by
Sally L

From London, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great experience
Let's set the scene. I'm British and like you, us British aren't ones to gush about anything remotely good. When things go wrong, then it's a different story. Then we become the best bloggers, telling everyone how bad the experience has been.
So, for me to even write anything vaguely complimentary is as rare as a politician saying 'sorry'.
The young team who run this place were very eager to ensure we had a comfortable stay.
Room number 3 was spacious. Although facing the High Street, it is double-glazed and we had a peaceful and comfortable night's sleep.
Breakfast was excellent and service was superb. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Mark D

From Whitchurch, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

castle comments
Staff very friendly and welcoming.
Good standard of basic accommodation.
Service at breakfast very slow and not adequately managed although staff very polite

Reviewed by
s bennett

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next