75% would recommend it to a friend
Lovely, hip hotel in a good place in Stockholm
Enjoyed it from we came until we left.
helpful staff at registration, Clean and fresh hotelroom. Bathroom clean, fresh and with a bathtub whick is so unusual nowdays. Quiet room with a tv, Breakfast fresh buffet in a light atmosphere. Newspapers to read. Will absloutely be back!!. Have already recommended it to friends.
Response from hotel
Dear Ulrica B,
Thank you so much for your kind words, and thank you for sharing your experience with your friends and also here at Laterooms.
We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us at Hotel Birger Jarl. And we hope to be able to welcome you back sometime in the near future.
Mixed experience, would not reccomend to a friend
On the positive, breakfast was excellent and Paula at the desk most helpful in all aspects - a definite ambassador for the hotel and good at her job.
One unclear aspect was the money transfer from the VISA card - which I had to produce on three different occasions - initial online booking with all account numbers, on arrival and on leaving. In no other hotel is this the case and I was fearful that I had been charged three times - something I would not like to have to sort out on return from holidays. This could be made very clear from the outset - 3 requests for card will be made, but one overall transaction will result. The room was clean and basic but is not 4* by any means. The room was tiny, there was one sachet of creamer and one thing of coffee - very tight budget for tea making facilities and no extra blanket. Once the heating went off I had to put on a fleece. On arrival there was a blonde receptionist doing check in (young, twenties probably, didn't get her name). She was rude, kept looking over my shoulder out the window, asked me to repeat everything I said twice and when I asked for a wakeup call in the morning she looked at me blankly and I hadn't the energy to repeat again.. unpleasant introduction to any hotel. Went for food and despite there only being 5 people in the restaurant the server was unavailable - doing a few jobs she said (pleasant staff member however) the cook after ringing the bell for her 3 times brought me my dinner himself - food was good. 4* though?. Most certainly not.
Response from hotel
Dear Olga S,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback to us here on Laterooms.
We welcome and pay close attention to all feedback as it helps us improve our standard and service in line with our guests´ expectations.
I am sorry to read that you didn´t enjoy your stay with us as much as we aim for and I apologize for this. We always do our best to provide our guests with a high level of service and a great product.
The credit card details you enter on the website when making the reservation is only for guarantee. Since we have a high security policy regarding credit card handling we will need to have the credit card present upon checking in to make an authorization for the total amount using chip and pin. When checking out we do not usually need the card again (depending on if any additional amounts were added to the bill) we will just use the same reference number given upon authorizing the card to complete the purchase. I hope this makes the procedure more clear to you, since this varies from customer to customer depending on how the reservation was made we are not able to give a specific standard information.
You also have my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay regarding the heating. We have a central heating system that does not switch of but will keep the room in the set temperature which is 21 degrees Celsius during the winter season.
We do have extra heaters to put in the room upon request. Also regarding extra blankets, coffee and tea facilities and bathroom amenities, upon request we will be happy to bring an extra set to the room.
We set pride in providing a high level of personal service and I apologize for this not being the case both when checking in and visiting our restaurant. We coach our colleagues on a daily basis and I will definitely take this forward within my team.
Despite this I hope you enjoyed your stay in Stockholm and thank you for your kind comments regarding Paula, I have forwarded this on to her.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to us in the near future and please contact me direct so I can make sure that your next stay with us will be as pleasant as possible.
Clean hotel, friendly staff, with a few exceptions.
Food was good. Breakfast cutlery: needs real cups and saucers NOT mugs. The BAR needs more variety ( Spirits, wines, beers) and a better bar menu (Snacks and sandwiches) Peanuts at the bar were served in small glass jars that many other guests have had their hands in. ( Risk for infection and urine deposits)Should have peanuts in small sealed packets. I can warmly recommend this hotel to anybody if these changes are made.
Excellent value for money
Close to centre.
Mid-sized rooms. Clean. Excellent breakfast.