Reviews - Smugglers Cottage

577 WIMBORNE ROAD EAST, FERNDOWN, BH22 9NW

Price From 153.61 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (34)

97% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Terence Campion

  • November 2015

Delightful stay

Wonderful surroundings with a quiet & calming atmosphere ideal if your are visiting the surrounding areas of Bournemouth Poole Christchurch etc then wish to retreat from the hustle & bustle of the day

Response from hotel

Dear Mr Campion,

Thank you so much for your very kind review and we are pleased that you also felt the calm and welcoming feel of Smugglers Cottage. We do hope that you will return to Smugglers one day in the not too distant future.

With kind regards,

Victoria

  • Alejandra M

  • September 2015

Amazing little cottage

Very nice and cozy room, clean towels and very comfy bed

Response from hotel

Dear Mrs M,

Thank you for your very kind review and we hope you will come and stay at Smugglers Cottage when you need a further "Rave"

With kind regards,

Victoria

  • Andy H

  • August 2015

Haven away from home

Victoria and Roger made us very welcoming me indeed at their delightful cottage retreat.

They looked after us very well indeed and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with them. Their helpful advice led to good evening meals out and a more pleasant holiday.

Response from hotel

Dear Mr H,

Thank you for your very kind review and we are glad that you enjoyed not only staying at Smugglers but also the evening meals we pointed you to. We do hope that you will come back again.

With kind regards,

Victoria

  • A Kirby

  • August 2015

'Just close your eyes and imagine....'

If you were to close your eyes and begin to imagine what staying under the eaves of a quintessential English thatched cottage would be like then if you are thinking chic modern rooms with modern fixtures and fittings then perhaps you shouldn't think about staying here!.

From the moment you walk through the door you are enveloped in the Olde World charm of a well loved home full of curiosities, exposed beams, creaking floorboards and walls crammed with an eclectic mix of pictures posters and photographs. Your hosts are extremely welcoming and attentive and suit the charm of the cottage perfectly.. Breakfast is served around a large table in the dining room with the other guests and everything is cooked very well to order and presented on plates covered with silver domes to keep the food warm!. Perhaps the rooms are a little old fashioned with sheets and blankets on the bed and deep pile carpet underfoot however this did not spoil our experience in fact it was somewhat refreshing in a nostalgic sort of way..... Thankyou Victoria and Roger for your hospitality and providing us with a unique and very enjoyable stay...

Response from hotel

Dear Mr & Mrs K,

Thank you so much for your very kind review and we so happy that you enjoyed your Smugglers Cottage experience. As you say, we are not for everyone but very few of our guests do not enjoy the old fashioned service that we give at Smugglers Cottage. We do hope that you will come again one day.

With kind regards,

Roger & Victoria

  • Kate Bull

  • August 2015

Blooming lovely!! Such a quaint place covered in hanging baskets.

The landlady of this hotel is so very friendly and absolutely charming.

The room was small, but cozy, and overlooked a beautiful garden. Great place to stay just off the main road. The breakfast well and truly filled us up, and was served in a very unusual, fascinating room. Would recommend Smugglers Cottage to those who like quaint and quirky.

Response from hotel

Dear Mrs Bull,

Thank you for your wonderful review and it was blooming lovely to have you to stay here at Smugglers and we hope that you will come again one day.

With kind regards,

Victoria

  • Melanie P

  • August 2015

Overnight stay

Home from home - made to feel very comfortable and welcome.

Was in the single ensuite room that is on the ground floor overlooking the garden. Lovely clean white cotton bedding towels and bath mats. Fantastic breakfast cooked to order. Remember to unplug the TV though as I had left it on stand by and was awoken by flashing light. Loved the olde world atmosphere- so many interesting things to see. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Response from hotel

Dear Mrs P,

Thank you very much for your very kind review which makes our hard work worthwhile. Will get the 'young boy' trained one day but he has been an apprentice for fourteen years now so don't hold out much hope!!!!!!!!

We look forward to welcoming you to Smugglers again one day in the future.

With kind regards,

Victoria

  • Hilary S

  • July 2015

A little treasure waiting to be found.

We needed to stay for one night and this was a perfect location.

Close to the main road but easy to find. Very friendly owners and we had a a charming stay, with a wonderful breakfast ( cooked to order) in the mornng. A big thank you for making our stay so welcoming and delightful.

Response from hotel

Dear Miss S,

Wow, what can we say but very many thanks for your very kind review, it makes all the hard work worthwhile. We do hope that you will come back to Smugglers again.

With kind regards,

Victoria

  • tracy wilson

  • July 2015

Smugglers Cottage

We had a two night stay at smugglers cottage and really enjoyed our stay there.

The room was clean and bed comfortable, tea and coffee available. Breakfast was cooked to perfection and filled us up for the day ahead. Victoria and Roger were the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them. Would recommend staying there and have had people asking about it after posting pictures on facebook, would definitely go back.

Response from hotel

Dear Miss Wilson,

Thank you so very much for your very kind review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your Smugglers Cottage stay and hope you will come back again one day.

Regards, Victoria

  • Pamela N

  • July 2015

B&B owners great -pity about laterooms

the b & B owners couldn''t have been nicer - unfortunately they had had no notification from laterooms about my booking and no-one was available at laterooms to take their call.

Wouldn't use laterooms again.

Response from hotel

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and thank you for being so understanding. We were very pleased that we could accommodate you and sorry that we had to move you.

We do hope that you will return to Smugglers Cottage in the future.

Regards,

Victoria

  • Susan Harding

  • July 2015

A lovely place to relax and unwind. Wonderful character house and marvellous host.

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our night at Smugglers Cottage.

Victoria was very welcoming and informative about the place and the surrounding area. There was plenty of very hot water, towels, extra pillows and a gorgeously comfy bed. Breakfast was beautifully cooked and served. We couldn't fault our stay.

Response from hotel

Dear Mrs H,

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. That leaves me with only one thing to say which is "When are you coming back?" We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Roger & Victoria