No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smugglers Cottage

Not Classified  Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
577 WIMBORNE ROAD EAST , FERNDOWN, BH22 9NW
Smugglers Cottage, situated in Ferndown, is over 400 years old, and, as its name suggests, was frequently used by smugglers many years ago who had landed at Poole Harbour as a waypoint on their journey to the mainland. Smugglers Cottage at Ferndown was one of many such places along the south coast.

Concealed by woodland, the cottage was the perfect place for smugglers to meet, drink, share and fight without disturbance from others who may be less inclined to agree with their practices.The cottage was featured in the BBC Home & Gardens magazine, and many of the older timbers are aptly from a shipwrecked Spanish galleon, at St Albans Head. After many years in the sea, the wood has absorbed the sea salt and is now as hard as ebony.

Smugglers Cottage has been a bed and breakfast of sorts since the early 1930's and offers comfortable accommodation with freshly cooked breakfast from locally sourced suppliers, free WIFI and car parking facilities.
Picture of Smugglers Cottage, FERNDOWN at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint and friendly
Run by a lovely couple who obviously adore the history of the cottage. There are many ornaments around which make it more difficult to keep the cobwebs and dust down but are an interesting addition. When staying in a 400 year old place you do not expect sound proofing but I would of liked a lock for the door, u could lock it from the inside but not when u went out. Also there was a 3" gap under the door which was novel! We did enjoy though.

Reviewed by
Rebecca D

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

back in time
A beautifull old cottage with a tonn of atmosphere like stepping back 600 years in time straigt into a fairy story My mother aged 90 and a former English and history teacher loved every minute of our stay. Topping up the stay were excelent service from the friendly hotel owners give my best recommendations.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guests, Thank you for your glowing review and we are so glad that we gave your mother (and we hope you) an enjoyable stay. Your mother was delightful to have in our home and we do that you might come back to stay in Smugglers again. Victoria & Roger

Reviewed by
Vivi J

From 0287 Oslo, Norway
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the old old cottage
stayed for one night on august 9 ,warm welcome our room was small but comfortable and the bathroom was very small ,only a shower a bit cramped in it but still a decent shower was had by all ,a front door key was given to us we could come in late without disturbing any one. we had a good nights sleep on the comfortable beds. plenty to eat for breakfast ,fruit , cornflakes, and toast which was done with homemade brown bread , then full English breakfast and tea or coffee ,and fruit juice .lovely stay.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guests, Thank you for your very kind review and we do hope that you will be able to visit us here at Smugglers for a longer stay sometime. Victoria

Reviewed by
tony blackmore

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very quaint cottage nice host very different than staying in bb or hotel but reallly loved it

ManagementResponse

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your first stay at a non commercial bed and breakfast. We do hope that you will visit us again. Regards, Victoria

Reviewed by
keith flynn

From stoke-on-trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Hidden Gem
A wonderful place to stay as a romantic break or travelling with family and or friends. Looks beautiful from the outside like a picture postcard. Wonderfully adorned inside with antiques and unusual objects. Breakfast was very special, cereals and fruits, followed by a full English - and everyone sits around a large dinning room table, which I liked.
Roger and Victoria who run the Smugglers Cottage are very welcoming and helpful.
I was delighted to have found this hidden gem and will be back soon.
Being situated just off the A31 it is in a great location to explore the New Forest/Bournemouth and Poole, or a great place to stay overnight on a long journey down to Cornwall.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guests, Thank you so very much for your wonderful review, my head is so big I can hardly get through the door. Both Roger and I enjoyed your company and do hope that we will see you again in the not too distant future. Best regards, Victoria Garlick P.S. I really think I've finally got how to say your name correctly!!

Reviewed by
sarah f

From Surbiton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday Holiday
All the character the name implies. Our room front right as you approach was clean & comfortable despite the sloping floor and thick rendered walls. The bathroom is dated but not as old as the building and would appreciate a refit. Somewhere to put the cases to unpack would be usefull although the wardrobe was spacious.
Breakfast are good and generous although the single slice of bacon was perhaps a little mean with two eggs tomatoes etc.
The proprietors are friendly and helpful and made us and the other guests very welcome.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Smugglers Cottage. If you found the sloping floor and thick rendered walls unusual it is because the property is very old and to update it would take all of the character out of the cottage. I am surprised that you didn't find the luggage rack located conveniently in the wardrobe out of the way but in sight when the wardrobe was opened, Most of our guests find the full English breakfast quite enough with two sausages, a slice of bacon, a tomato and large flat mushroom and of course an egg of your choice, which altogether fills the plate. If you required more then why did you not ask? With kind regards, Victoria

Reviewed by
Anthony M

From Egham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smugglers Cottage Weekend
Very nice cottage. Excellent breakfast. Good hosts. Good value for money. Well placed for access to Poole, Bournemouth and the New Forest. We stayed in the Quartermasters room - very nice but too warm for us as the boiler / hot water tank is next to the room. Parking for 3+ is difficult - Roger needs to move his car up the driveway to make room for the guests.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guests, Thank you for your kind review and I am sorry it was so warm but with the hot water tanks off the room there is very little we can do. I am not sure what you mean about the parking. There is room for four cars (albeit properly parked) along the back fence of the car park and also room for another car in front of our car and one more space at the front of the property, making, including our car, space for seven cars. If you come again and have problems just ask and we will sort the cars out. Regards, Victoria

Reviewed by
Philip F

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little cottage
Very clean room and friendly hosts.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review and we hope you will stay with us again the the future. Regards, Victoria

Reviewed by
Michael R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed our brief stay, really great old thatched cottage, owners friendly and very helpful!

ManagementResponse

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review and that you enjoyed visiting Smugglers Cottage. We do hope that you will visit us again. Regards, Victoria

Reviewed by
Rob Larkin

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky but nice!
A lovely thatched roofed cottage with a warm welcome, although our room was on the small side it was in character with the very old house. The breakfast was the best we had had for years and served with style. Antiques filled every room adding to the character of the place. The only down side might be that the mattresses needed changing but this will not deter us from staying again if in the area.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guests, Thank you for your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that you will stay again sometime in the future when you are in the area. Regards, Victoria

Reviewed by
M Green

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next